Customer Reviews for Ecote Carved Out Maxi Dress

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Urban Outfitters.

Ecote Carved Out Maxi Dress

Ecote Carved Out Maxi Dress
Average Customer Rating:
3.667 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
10 Based onout of 15(67%) reviewswould recommend to a friend.
Sort By: Customer Reviews for Ecote Carved Out Maxi Dress
Review 1 for Ecote Carved Out Maxi Dress
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sugirly
Location: Hawaii
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female

Perfect!

(July 23, 2013)
"I love this dress! I am 5'2" 100 lbs 32B and the XS fit me perfectly. I do need to wear heels or else it will be too long. But it looks amazing! I wear it with the square part in front. However it is very revealing on top so will need to wear something underneath. I just pair it with a lacy bandeau bra and it looks great!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Ecote Carved Out Maxi Dress
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Annabella7
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female

LOVE THIS DRESS!

(July 2, 2013)
"Super soft fabric, totally bohemian chic design, comfortable and easy to slip on. Only thing is the deep v-neck is a little too deep and loose, so you have to wear some kind of bra that matches or looks part of the dress otherwise, you'll be flashing!! Love it enough to not care about that!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Ecote Carved Out Maxi Dress
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
LaurenHaha
Location: Miami
Age: 18-24
Gender: Female
Body Type: Slim

Cute!

(April 21, 2013)
"I'm 5'6", 128 lbs, bought a XS, and I have small boobs so I bought this with the mindset that I wouldn't need a bra with it (you kinda can't wear one without it showing) so I'm not sure this would be good for people who need to wear one. It's a little tighter around the hips than the top - it definitely shows off curves. There's no way I could wear it with the low-V side in the front unless I wanted to give the world a show. It also shows a little side-boob for me, so I'm going to be selective as to where I wear this one, but overall I'm glad I bought it!!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Ecote Carved Out Maxi Dress
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
babyJ
Location: Fresno, CA
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
Body Type: Slim

Love this dress!

(March 23, 2013)
"I was a little skeptical about this dress, but I am so glad I purchased it! I love the fact that it's reversible, meaning you can wear the low side to the front or back. It is a little long for me, but that's an easy fix. I am 5' and weigh 101 lbs. and I ordered the XS. I purchased the brown color and couldn't be happier, I think the embellishments stand out so much more. I think the fabric is perfect, it's soft and hangs nicely. Can't wait for the weather to warm up so I can throw this on!"
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Ecote Carved Out Maxi Dress
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Fit
Runs a little small
Runs small
True to size
Runs large
islandwahine808
Location: Honolulu, HI
Age: 18-24
Gender: Female
Body Type: Slim

Cute, but fits oddly.

(March 15, 2013)
"I was really excited to receive this dress in the mail today (blue & white), and upon trying it on, I was super disappointed. I read the reviews people wrote, and saw someone stated they were 5'6 125 ordered a size small, and it fit well. I am 5'7 127lbs, and it is not flattering on me (ordered a small also). If you have hips, this dress does not fit properly. Very clingy in the stomach and hips area. I don't think buying a larger size would make a difference, it is the material that seems to be the issue."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Ecote Carved Out Maxi Dress
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fit
Runs a little large
Runs small
True to size
Runs large
Danielle1
Location: Atlanta
Gender: Female

Its pretty but ...

(March 14, 2013)
"the top runs a size larger? I want to return it but thinking its not a dress you can where anywhere. By the pool yes on the beach yes so maybe a cover sun dress is how it fits...people telling me to keep it and where it like that very open but i dont know..its very pretty"
-4points
2of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Ecote Carved Out Maxi Dress
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Fit
Runs large
Runs small
True to size
Runs large
barefootwonders

Big disappointment

(March 10, 2013)
"I LOVE maxi dresses, so was very excited to find such a cute one- but I was not happy when it came in the mail. I ordered an extra small, and it did not fit whatsoever. You could see my chest (parts not for anyone to see) with it on, and it was not flattering. Don't waste your time with this one."
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Ecote Carved Out Maxi Dress
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rileyyyyyyy
Location: Colorado
Age: Under 18
Gender: Female
Body Type: Average

Lovvveee

(March 9, 2013)
"I'm very pleased with this dress. I'm 5'6 and about 125 pounds and I bought a small. The dress is so slimming and soft. The straps do tend to slip off the shoulder a little bit. While it is a tad revealing with the cut outs on the side, that's nothing a cute bandeau top can't fix. Overall, I love this dress. I can't wait to wear it when it gets a little warmer outside!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Ecote Carved Out Maxi Dress
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Kamara
Location: Atlanta, GA
Age: 18-24
Gender: Female
Body Type: Curvy

Meh

(March 3, 2013)
"Saw this dress online and I knew that I wanted it instantly. I ordered this in my regular size, Medium, but as I have hips and a butt, I definitely should have gone with a Large. I still love the details of the mirrors on the straps and the softness of the material, so I will be exchanging at my local Urban Outfitters. The straps are a little bit loose, but I figure that's how they're supposed to be? (Looking at model in blue dress) Also, I am 5'8 and this dress skims my ankles. Good dress to wear with sandals. I would definitely recommend all those interested to try this on instore before purchasing online."
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Ecote Carved Out Maxi Dress
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
lexi4
Age: 18-24
Gender: Female

Disappointed...

(March 2, 2013)
"I tried the black/brown in a large due to my 36DDD chest. It was great, and nice and flowy----the only problem was that the straps were WAY too long. I wore it like the model in the blue dress has it......unless you're completely flat that's the only way it'll work......... (For reference I'm 5'4 and 135)
I returned the large to try a medium. Big mistake. The medium was extremely tight across my belly and hips. You could see the outline of my hips which I do not think is cute. Also, the straps on the medium were still WAYYYY too long.
I think I'm going to go back to the large and get the straps altered because it is a great dress but I was still pretty disappointed with the strange proportions of this one.
BTW I'm normally a medium in most dresses, but I would order this a size up if you want a more flowy look, rather than a tight fit."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Ecote Carved Out Maxi Dress
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Fit
Runs a little small
Runs small
True to size
Runs large
audrey123
Location: sc
Age: 18-24
Gender: Female
Body Type: Athletic

ehhh

(February 22, 2013)
"Im not in love with this dress. Its not as flowy as I was hoping it would be, instead its super stretchy and sticks to you. Also the top is kind of awkward and super low cut. If you carry any weight in your stomach, this dress will show it."
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Ecote Carved Out Maxi Dress
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
freedomfighter212
Location: New York, New York
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female

super cute!

(February 21, 2013)
"I'm mostly very happy with this dress. As another reviewer commented, the straps are long. They are intentionally that way, I think, to get the low cut you see in the picture. Unfortunately for me, the straps wouldn't stay up on my shoulders. The rest of the dress fits well and I loved it so I clipped the straps together in the back, and now the dress fits perfectly. It also has a little more coverage that way. For reference, I am 5'8, 130lbs, 32/34 B and I ordered a size small. Length is perfect for flat sandals, not heels. I like the fabric, it's soft and light. I think I will get a lot of use out of this dress this summer!"
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Ecote Carved Out Maxi Dress
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Fit
Runs a little large
Runs small
True to size
Runs large
Frida12
Location: Austin, Texas
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
Body Type: Average

Straps are weird

(February 7, 2013)
"This dress has potential but the fabric is the kind where you can tell you have cellulite underneath. The fabric almost adheres to the skin. Also the straps are really long and awkward. For the price, I would purchase a different dress"
+6points
9of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Ecote Carved Out Maxi Dress
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bethva
Location: Virginia
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
Body Type: Curvy

so cute

(February 7, 2013)
"cute can be worn either way with the v in front or back, the sides are open so get double sided tape or bandeau bra, im 5'2'' and its grazes the floor probably not long enough to wear wedges however"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Ecote Carved Out Maxi Dress
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AshleyMBd
Location: toronto
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female

Wow, beautiful!

(February 4, 2013)
"I really liked the look of this maxi dress on the website, but I preferred the black pattern. It was a bit confusing because the front of the black is different than the front of the blue, but it's actually reversible (personally I like the side shown on the bue model). So I got it today in the mail and it's beautiful! The black pattern is consistent with the picture, however there is a very very little bit of blue hues between the black and cream (probably due to the dying process), but I think this adds to the dress. The spagetti straps are unique with how they show your sides and are nicely positioned, not too wide and not too narrow. Also, those aren't buttons (this is what I thought they were), they are little mirrors with a coloured rim made of thread. Very cute and neat, I'm actually glad they aren't buttons now. The fabric is very nice too, doesn't wrinkle, has a good weight to it, and is soft. The fit around the hips is also perfect, doesn't hug too tight and lays just right. Good length, and for reference I am 5'7" and 125 lbs, I bought a small and I am a B/C cup. With a bathing suit this dress will be easy and fun. Otherwise yes you are going to need either a bando, or tape for the sides of the dress because it will gape at the sides when moving. Overall, it's unique, beautiful, and fun for the summer."
+12points
13of 14voted this as helpful.