Customer Reviews for UO Hair Chalk Rainbow Set

UO Hair Chalk Rainbow Set

UO Hair Chalk Rainbow Set
Average Customer Rating:
3.422 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(45 Reviews) 45
33 Based onout of 45(73%) reviewswould recommend to a friend.
Sort By: Customer Reviews for UO Hair Chalk Rainbow Set
Review 1 for UO Hair Chalk Rainbow Set
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
kittykula
Location: brooklyn
Age: 18-24
Gender: Female

YAY.

(December 6, 2013)
"My hair is light blonde and I also wear extensions. I used the hair chalk on my extensions so the color will last longer and stay vibrant. Be sure to wet both your hair and the chalk. It really worked well. Only downfall is that the chalk is pretty small. Overall, awesome product in my opinion."
My Photos
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for UO Hair Chalk Rainbow Set
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
WhatchaSay
Location: Columbus, OH
Age: Under 18
Gender: Female

Curly Hair Beware

(December 3, 2013)
"I'm black and I have really curly hair so I was sketchy at first to see how the chalk would work with my hair and I wouldn't recommend this product to anyone. It left my hair feeling dry and the only color that showed up in my hair was red and it faded after a couple of hours. I really don't recommend this product to people with really curly hair."
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for UO Hair Chalk Rainbow Set
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
hobotaco
Location: Australia
Age: Under 18
Gender: Female

So I just have to dye my hair now?

(October 25, 2013)
"I brought this product knowing it would probably not work on my dark brown hair. I tried it once by wetting my hair and then using the chalk because using the chalk on dry hair doesn't work.
The aftermath left my hair feeling like straw, very dry and not pleasant at all. The chalk doesn't stick or even dry into the hair so this leaves residue on your hands and also clothes, not to mention if you sleep with it in, might be on your pillow and bed sheets too! It is easy to wash off your hands and your hair, I'm not sure if it stains clothes, but I doubt it. So be mindful that this will not work if you have dark hair. Also just causes too much of a mess."
+6points
9of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for UO Hair Chalk Rainbow Set
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
NormalSizedHands
Location: Toronto
Age: 18-24
Gender: Female

Dark haired girls beware...

(September 27, 2013)
"This will only work properly if you have light hair and it's in an updo. The chalk does not stick on dark hair (I'm brunette), even if you wet the chalk or your hair, you end up with a huge mess, your hair feels like hay, and it comes off on your clothes AND skin within a few hours. Too bad, really disappointed..."
+14points
18of 22voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for UO Hair Chalk Rainbow Set
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
jenn334

small!!

(September 24, 2013)
"I haven't even used them yet, I have no doubt they will work great, but wow, I cannot believe how small they are!! they already look small in the picture, but whoa, like half your pinky small. kind of ridiculous."
+7points
9of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for UO Hair Chalk Rainbow Set
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
GiuliaR
Location: Brazil
Gender: Female

Good effects

(September 22, 2013)
"I bought the set and decided to try it right away.I washed my hair,that is very light blonde,and decided to use the pink chalk.The next morning my hair looked like a broom,I was desperate.
After washing my hair again and using a lot of argan oil to try to recover it from the damage it looked amazing.I really liked the results.
BUT...now after four washes I'm getting sort of tired and wanting my old color back.
So,the aftermath is that you can get very good results but be careful because this product is very messy and can last much more than you expected.
"
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for UO Hair Chalk Rainbow Set
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
FoxInStockings
Location: Houston, Texas
Age: Under 18
Gender: Female

Lots Of Fun

(August 12, 2013)
"I like that this kit offers a lot of different colors and how convenient it is. It can be a bit messy but it's so much fun. It's perfect for festivals and school and the color actually lasts a couple washes in my experience so plan accordingly."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for UO Hair Chalk Rainbow Set
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Aliyahh3
Age: 18-24
Gender: Female

LOVE

(August 11, 2013)
"I am in love with hair chalk! I got it from the store a couple months ago and I use it all the time. Works much better when hair is wet but that's not a problem!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for UO Hair Chalk Rainbow Set
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Vanadium
Age: 18-24
Gender: Female

So Much Fun!

(July 25, 2013)
"I absolutely love this hair chalk! I have blonde hair, but I have used it with friends who have black hair, and while it takes a bit more color, it shows very well. While the chalk says you can apply it dry or wet, it only really works if you get the hair you are coloring damp before rubbing the color in. I recommend you let your hair dry after coloring it before you try and brush it, or some one the color may brush out. It only lasts 1 or 2 washes. I take it with me to parties and special events and everyone thinks its so much fun! On the 4th of July I ran out of all my shades of red and blue because everyone wanted some, haha :)"
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for UO Hair Chalk Rainbow Set
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Jemm
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Age: 18-24
Gender: Female

Chalk it up

(June 17, 2013)
"I actually do like this hair chalk set and the range of colors is pretty awesome. I don't have extremely light hair but it's still considered light brown hair and it colors my hair perfectly. I do recommend it. This doesn't come with instructions so it was slightly difficult at first considering I've never used hair chalk before. So I had to try different methods. The best and only method that worked for me was to wet the chalk itself and then color my hair downward. The chalk did not work otherwise. The biggest con of this is the chalks are very little so you wont get a huge amount of use out of the colors you like."
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for UO Hair Chalk Rainbow Set
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
lovesinger
Location: Kailua Hawaii
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female

Hair Chalk

(May 29, 2013)
"I'm sure it's a cool product for someone who knows what to do with it. But to send this with to a customer with ABSOLUTELY NO instructions is crazy. The one color I tried made my hair really dull looking with the residue, but I don't know if I applied it wrong or if it just sucks!"
-3points
1of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for UO Hair Chalk Rainbow Set
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nancy56

It Really Works!

(May 22, 2013)
"I have dirty blonde hair, and this looks great on it. There are a lot of fun colors to use, and it provides a very unique look. I love it!"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for UO Hair Chalk Rainbow Set
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
heather123
Location: New Jersey
Age: 18-24
Gender: Female

Solid Hair Chalk Sampler

(May 20, 2013)
"This is a great starter set if you want to experiment with hair chalk. The pieces are tiny so you go through them pretty quickly if you are trying to cover a lot of your hair. I found it best to do little strips all over my head instead of the whole thing. The blue shades looked more vibrant on my blonde hair. Overall, good for the price!"
My Photos
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for UO Hair Chalk Rainbow Set
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Anonymous
Location: LaCrosse, WI
Age: 18-24
Gender: Female

Works well on dark hair, but sticks are too small

(May 5, 2013)
"I have dark brunette hair, and was surprised when these worked great! HOWEVER, I am disappointed by the size of the sticks. I have long and thick hair and barely got one use out of them. I definitely recommend for short or thin hair, but for hair like mine, definitely NOT NOT NOT worth the money!!!!"
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for UO Hair Chalk Rainbow Set
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
rnackenzie
Location: Ohio
Age: 18-24
Gender: Female

So pretty!

(May 1, 2013)
"These colors are really beautiful and fun but they really do make your hair feel really gross, like sea salt spray x10000. As long as you're not someone who will obsess over the way your hair feels, these colors are beautiful and so much fun to use."
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for UO Hair Chalk Rainbow Set
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Melanie12
Location: CT
Age: Under 18
Gender: Female

Messy and works well even on dark hair

(April 28, 2013)
"It has a good variety of colors, and works well on the dark brown hair that I have. For me, it only lasted for about 24 hours, but it might be different depending on what color hair you have. It gets a bit messy, but it easily washes off your hands with soap and water."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for UO Hair Chalk Rainbow Set
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
mycatforprez
Location: vegas

dirty chalk

(April 24, 2013)
"I luv the spectrum of colors - getting pinks & blues & neutral tones all in one set - however I would have preferred they left out the dreary olive, brown & black ones because when I opened the package those colors had smeared all over the lighter ones & I had to wipe them off so that the pastels & brights showed true."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for UO Hair Chalk Rainbow Set
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Kata8725474835743
Location: Arizona
Age: 18-24
Gender: Female

Really Fun

(April 22, 2013)
"I could never be bothered to put the effort or money into dyeing my hair, and I also did not want to damage it. But I have always wanted to experiment. So when I saw these for so cheap I had to try it out! I recently cut my hair into a pixie cut, and it's a light blonde, so it did not take much as all for it to look wonderful. I am so pleased I can finally get the dyed hair look without the effort. I don't think it would work near as well on hair much darker than mine, though."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for UO Hair Chalk Rainbow Set
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
srhprchs
Location: Timmins ON
Age: 18-24
Gender: Female

Hair Dust...

(April 17, 2013)
"I have dark brown hair, and I tried the blue and all it did was turn my hair a light dusty grey. Not only that, it made my hair feel disgusting, and as soon as I ran my fingers through my hair, it was gone. I tried the pink, and it was the exact same thing. The colour was brighter, but the texture was horrible and it just came right out after straightening and/or touching. I would never attempt to hair chalk again, it's a waste of time and money. It might not damage your hair, but it doesn't do anything nice to it either."
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for UO Hair Chalk Rainbow Set
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous
Location: State College, PA
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female

The color goes on my dark hair, but......

(April 15, 2013)
"I was excited to try these out. I have Asian black hair. I was a bit worried that the color wont go on my hair. I tried after I just got out of the shower. The color slides on easily on my hair when its wet, but just like the other reviewer, wet colored hair will stain on my neck, and my arms too while I was trying to dry it. Although I put the color on with gloves, it ended up leaving a mess on my face, neck, and arms that I have to rub them of after I dried my hair. The thing is. After I curled my hair with curling iron, the color still comes off when ever you touch the colored area. and when it's dried, it is VERY VERY hard to brush your hair open.....your hair will turn out very dry with the chalk."
+10points
11of 12voted this as helpful.
123next>>