Customer Reviews for Draper Media Console

Draper Media Console

Draper Media Console
Average Customer Rating:
3.5 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
13 Based onout of 18(72%) reviewswould recommend to a friend.
Sort By: Customer Reviews for Draper Media Console
Review 1 for Draper Media Console
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
1Ashley
Location: San Jose, CA
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female

TERRIBLE Sizing

(November 19, 2014)
"This console is adorable and in theory, amazing. However, my standard record player was too big to fit! That to me makes no sense that a normal record player cannot fit in a record player console. The look is cute, a little cheap, but cute. I'm just so disappointed that a NORMAL record player won't fit."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Draper Media Console
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
erinoscope

Arrived Defective Twice

(October 20, 2014)
"This piece is pure particle board so any nick chips the veneer right off and turns it into sawdust. I received the piece twice and each time there was damage while the box appeared to be in decent shape. I love the look of the piece and putting it together was really easy, but I found big chunks taken out in several places so I decided to return it again and will not be reordering it. Customer service has been great with the returns."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Draper Media Console
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
smmm
Location: toronto,on
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female

love it

(September 15, 2014)
"easy to assemble and looks amazing. i get compliments all the time."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Draper Media Console
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
jwood
Location: petaluma, CA
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female

doesn't actually fit a record player

(August 28, 2014)
"The piece is quite heavy, which would indicate it is well made. However, after assembling the unit I noticed the sliding door sticks and is hard to open and close. Also, good luck trying to fit an average sized record player into the appropriate slot. My husband will have to modify the unit. Not worth the hassle!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Draper Media Console
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Tahoola
Location: New York, NY
Age: 18-24
Gender: Female

Can I give this product 0 stars?

(May 25, 2014)
"I received this item with splits in the wood and the net part of the cabinet was ripped. I tried to put it together, but the directions were the most confusing thing ever. I ended up returning it. Not worth the frustration."
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Draper Media Console
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
KaitieCakes
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female

Stunning Statement Piece

(May 8, 2014)
"When this arrived I was surprised at how heavy the box was (be prepared to recruit a friend if you live solo like moi). Assembly was a cinch- much easier than anything from Ikea that I've purchased. My only disappointments, were- having to pop the hinge mechanism into it's appropriate position- it took me an hour to figure out how to do this AND when I screwed it on wrong, the surface wood slightly separated from the particleboard underneath. Thankfully this small blemish is not visible.
Other than that I am in love with this console. It draws the eye as soon as you step into the room. I can't wait to purchase more UO furniture."
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Draper Media Console
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
CJLozano
Location: Texas
Age: 35-44
Gender: Male

Just the Right Size!

(February 1, 2014)
"Really liked this console. Great size. I wanted something compact but still had room to fit by turntable and stereo components. My turntable just fit, so make sure you verify that your turntable will fit in the shelf. I added another shelf to the right section and had to drill a hole in the back to pass the stereo interconnects, but that was easy. Really recommend if you are looking for something stylish and compact."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Draper Media Console
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
jessymade
Location: san jose, ca
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female

Love!

(January 25, 2014)
"So, this is a great piece of furniture for the price. High quality wood, looks like a real mid-century modern piece. Sturdy, and the perfect size for a small space. it took me about an hour and a half to put it together by myself.
A few things that weren't ideal:
-the packaging was pretty bad. box came totally damaged in multiple places--thankfully everything in side was spared. and disintegrating styrofoam all over my yard and apartment.
-the assembly instructions are worse than ikea's...
-the piece that allows the top door to open and close is actually meant for the right side (not the left side, like it's pictured here).
-the wire dividers poke through the bottom of the piece, which looks silly
-and lastly, there were holes missing that i had to carve out myself
otherwise, this piece rules."
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Draper Media Console
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
RyanBalt
Location: Baltimore
Age: 25-34
Gender: Male

Looks Great. Love it as a TV stand

(January 21, 2014)
"I'll start by saying we're totally pumped with how this ended up looking. It's relatively good quality, and does not appear as cheap. It even looks vintage!
However, here are my complaints.
1) The packing styrofoam literally disintegrated and turned my house into a toxic snowstorm.
2) A couple corners were smashed (yet not deal-breakers) from the weight & delivery.
3) I had to bore out a wider channel for the sliding door to slide. It was so tight on the top rail, that it wouldn't move.
4) As the other reviews suggest, there are no wire holes for any electronics on the top shelves. In the pics they show a record player on the top...but there is no way to plug it in from there.
Again, none of these issues are deal-breakers, and I would recommend this for anyone looking for a decent priced vintage piece."
My Photos
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Draper Media Console
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dizalot
Location: Chapel Hill NC
Age: 45-54
Gender: Male

A well built Well Styled Mid Century Classic

(November 18, 2013)
"I bought this to replace an actual console stereo form the 60's. It was easy to build and really well made. Overall I am very happy with this. Two things surprised me. One, there is only one door. I missed this before ordering it, but its not a problem. Second there are no holes between the sides to route cables through. I had to drill one to connect my turntable to my amp. But as I said this is an amazing product otherwise."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Draper Media Console
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
WorldGirl
Location: Washington, DC
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female

What a disappointment!

(October 15, 2013)
"I ordered this as a gift for my SIL. It arrived quickly. Something seemed odd at the outset, but we spent many hours trying to put it together only to confirm that it was defectively constructed. There appears to be no quality control. Now we have to figure out how to send this junk back. I won't be ordering any large, heavy items online from here again."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Draper Media Console
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
kellcc
Location: las vegas, nevada
Age: 18-24
Gender: Female

great storage and nice quality

(July 30, 2013)
"This console was somewhat of a surprise to me when I initially received it because I did not expect it to be as tall as it is (or really as big for that matter), but that was not an issue whatsoever. When buying this I intended to use it primarily to hold books, and it works very well for this (probably holding about sixty pounds of books total). However, if you are using this for a record player you might face some problems depending on how large your record player is, and further there are no holes in the back to string cords through (though this would be an easy fix). I've had this console for about a year now and have yet to experience any issues with it, so I would definitely recommend it to someone who was on the verge of whether or not to buy it, chances are you won't regret it."
My Photos
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Draper Media Console
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
delsannio

Great piece, not quite a console

(July 25, 2013)
"Overall I really like this piece. I agree with the reviewer who said it's not quite meant to be a console. My turntable was too big to fit inside -- it stuck out the front when I put it in, thus precluding the sliding door from...sliding. And the back piece has no real thoroughfares in it for wires, cables, etc., which is confounding given that it was built to be a modern console.
It seems that the "console" portion was mostly cosmetic (I'm not even a hard-core audiophile, but I feel comfortable saying that). In its defense, though, cosmetically it really succeeds. It is very good-looking, taller than it looks in photos, and while it did not hold all of my records, it held A LOT more than I expected. (Side note to UO: the top shelf within is totally cosmetic as it stands. It holds, like, tchochkes. If you built these just a little taller, i.e., enough to hold TWO shelves' worth of records, I would buy four of these. Why did you not make it this way?!? ADJUST.) Most of all, it's just really well made for the price. Decent quality wood, well-considered design, impressive details like grooves in the shelves for the shelf pins, click hinges for the front door, etc. Also pretty much a breeze to put together, especially compared to some lower-quality chain furniture I have nearly committed myself over while constructing. It really is a great piece -- just make sure it fits your audio needs!"
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Draper Media Console
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
samsimon
Location: brooklyn

Good looking, not well designed

(May 5, 2013)
"Ok, first off, it's just as good looking as the photos make it look. It's quite handsome for the price. However, it just doesn't seem like it was designed to be a media console. For one it is VERY shallow inside. My Technics record player was too deep (that one in the photo must be TINY), so I had to cut out the back panel to allow the front panel to close, and I had to cut a cable access hole on the other side as well for the receiver. All fixable issues, but if you're not handy, measure carefully and keep cable management in mind. It came with numerous parts dinged up and broken. UO was great about sending me replacements, but those too were dinged up. I just chose to fix it up myself, and the ding luckily was in the back, but still, kind of lame. The build quality seems great, a step above IKEA I'd say. All metal hardware and it doesn't feel rickety. So...definitely recommended for its looks if you are comfy with a possibly doing a touch of work to make it suit your needs."
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Draper Media Console
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
borgie
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female

Excellent media console with mid century feel

(January 2, 2013)
"This console is wonderful. It is just big enough to fit our oversize receiver on top, all of our records inside with room for our record player, cable box, playstation apple tv....I am so impressed!
We looked for YEARS for something that had the proper depth for our records and our enormous receiver that wouldn't overpower our room. While this is completely full and we had to use the top of it, we've received tons of compliments and it works wonderfully with our mix of vintage and contemporary furniture.
I was really surprised by the quality. I expected Ikea, but it is far superior. The only thing we had to adjust was we put a piece of cardboard on the inside of the fabric door so it was fully opaque. Perfect!"
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Draper Media Console
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
pillowjungle
Location: Portland, OR
Age: 25-34
Gender: Male

Nice Design, Average Quality

(December 3, 2012)
"While the design is lovely, the quality leaves a bit to be desired, which was expected with this price. I purchased two and placed them side by side for a mid-century TV stand. It holds a 47' TV with no issues and leaves space for other items."
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Draper Media Console
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
naturally
Location: Alabama
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female

Awesome as a tv Console too!!

(November 6, 2012)
"I wanted a tv console that was unique and inexpensive. And came across many retro or mid-century consoles. But they were either expensive or not the look I wanted. So, when I saw this I was in AWE! My problem was I needed something that would accompany my 48" flat screen tv. So, I said to myself, "why not buy two?! Put them together..." And I thought why not? Who says I can't. If anything, I can return it for something else. So I did. And it's awesome. I worried at first, but after a few days, I hardly noticed it was 2. One came with a scratch on the corner, but a little paint and that's cool.
As for using it as a record media stand, I don't have one. But, if I wanted one in the future I'll just buy something different. With two, it holds everything and more. With one, I'm sure I'll get my cable box and 2 game consoles in provided I drilled a hole for the top shelf. Easy to install, too. BTW, be careful when dusting. I notice just a little paint rubbing off when I used a dust cleaner. I personally will use a damp cloth. No regrets!!
"
My Photos
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+13points
15of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Draper Media Console
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mariss36
Location: New York NY
Age: 18-24
Gender: Female

Vinyl Lovers Dream

(October 2, 2012)
"I have been searching for quite a while now for a versatile piece of furniture that not only looks good, but holds my record player. THIS IS IT! I love the sliding door that can hide your records and the player. The top also opens up so it is easily accessible. I loveee this piece, it is so vintage mod and looks great in my music room. I would def recommend this product to anyone who values their vinyls.
The only downside is that you have to put it together which took a while but i did it all by myself, you just need a philips screw driver.
"
My Photos
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+16points
16of 16voted this as helpful.