Customer Reviews for Ava Velvet Tufted Sleeper Sofa

Ava Velvet Tufted Sleeper Sofa

Ava Velvet Tufted Sleeper Sofa
Average Customer Rating:
4.259 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(58 Reviews) 58
48 Based onout of 58(83%) reviewswould recommend to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 3 Answers
Sort By: Customer Reviews for Ava Velvet Tufted Sleeper Sofa
Review 1 for Ava Velvet Tufted Sleeper Sofa
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JJAW
Location: Georgia
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female

Beautiful couch!

(October 17, 2011)
"This couch is even prettier in person. The color is brilliant and unique. I don't see couches in this fabric and color often. It is a harder couch, but I don't mind."
+39points
46of 53voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Ava Velvet Tufted Sleeper Sofa
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
unravelingsky
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Age: 18-24
Gender: Female

Beautiful couch!

(September 24, 2011)
"This couch looks exactly like it's pictured! The green color is perfect and the texture of the fabric feels nice! It's definitely a firm couch but I love it that way! I read reviews on all the couches UO had to offer and many people were complaining about their butt's being imprinted on other furniture, this is firm enough not to have that happen. I also love the diamond pattern without the worry of buttons falling out! The couch comes with the arms/legs zipped up under/inside it! Really cool! Assembly was only a 10 minute ordeal. So simple! Would definitely buy again."
+87points
91of 95voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Ava Velvet Tufted Sleeper Sofa
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Yriza
Location: Miami,FL
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female

Poor quality

(September 2, 2014)
"I have waited 6 months to write a review. I wanted to see how the sofa would hold up over time and let me tell you it has not held up well at all. First thing, the legs are crooked and neither my husband and I are handy so they have been crooked the whole time. Also the sofa is very wobbly. My husband , 15 year old son and I use it every day. It feels like it's going to collapse any day now. We weigh 140 to 180 each. We aren't rail thin but we aren't obese either. The seat cushion is becoming non existant. We can feel the wood frame protuding in some areas. But I must say the fabric has held up quite well. This sofa should be used to fill an empty space with something that looks pretty. Not to actually be used. We are already looking for a new sofa. It sure looks pretty though."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Ava Velvet Tufted Sleeper Sofa
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
chelsijayne
Location: houston,tx
Age: 18-24
Gender: Female

In love.

(August 26, 2014)
"I am dying over this couch. The color is to die for & some people say it's uncomfy but I totally disagree. I'd recommend this couch in a second."
My Photos
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Ava Velvet Tufted Sleeper Sofa
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Instyle
Location: Columbia, SC
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female

Beautiful and Comfortably

(August 10, 2014)
"I absolutely love this sofa! It looks exactly like the picture online. I was a little skeptical because of some of the reviews but I was pleasantly surprise at how comfortably it felt when I sat down on it, I never expected it to feel like a couch with extremely large cushions because it was more of a structured sofa. I just did not want a hard sofa and it wasn't. The color is so beautiful and rich. Two of my friend who saw it and sat on it have decided to purchase it for their home."
My Photos
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Ava Velvet Tufted Sleeper Sofa
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
randiiann
Location: North Dakota
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female

BEWARE - spend your money elsewhere

(August 4, 2014)
"I am SO SO sad about this couch. It's everything in every way that i wanted, color, material, tufting, sleeper bed, with a decent price. BUT, it is the most cheaply made piece of junk i've ever owned! Yes it's a tad uncomfortable at first. But within 2 months of getting it, one of the legs broke. It ended up completely snapping off eventually and a short time afterward the other one broke too, I've had it a year & a half and have boxes underneath it to keep it propped up. Also the way they make the arms to attach is the stupidest idea i've seen. They quickly start to push outward, and the entire piece is a wonky shape now. Such a waste of $$. NEVER ever buy this!! Spend a couple hundred $$ more and get something that will last!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Ava Velvet Tufted Sleeper Sofa
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Chiffon
Location: Clovis, NM
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female

So happy with my purchases!

(March 9, 2014)
"If you think the sofa is great on it's own, try pairing it with the Antoinette fainting sofa!"
My Photos
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+12points
13of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Ava Velvet Tufted Sleeper Sofa
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bridg9759
Location: Chicago, IL
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female

Beautiful Couch!

(February 20, 2014)
"I absolutely love this couch. It is extremely easy to put together, I am 5'5", and put the whole thing together by myself (granted the box is quite long, but I'm determined). I bought it in Sable, which is so beautiful, and it doesn't change TOO much.
It is firm, European style couch per my Polish friend. I just prop a pillow behind me, and I actually think it is helping my posture. It is easy to keep clean (get a lint roller), and the material is amazing. Even those that don't like "Peach" couches won't mind this. People did comment that they didn't like the open back, well it is a futon so what do you expect? I just put a large trunk in the back and it isn't noticeable (see picture)
You won't be disappointed!"
My Photos
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+14points
15of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Ava Velvet Tufted Sleeper Sofa
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ihatebabies
Location: Chatt
Age: 18-24
Gender: Female

Pretty, but you get what you pay for.

(January 21, 2014)
"Having recently gotten my first place, I quickly discovered that couches are pretty expensive, even at outlet places, and even worse if they're not ugly as sin. I'd been eyeing this couch for literally years, so I decided to purchase it after having no real luck at any local furniture shops.
I ordered the swatches first, which was really helpful. You'll see that the fabrics all drastically change color depending on the lighting of the room and the angle that you view them. For example, charcoal can look almost black at one angle, but then light cloud grey at another.
Unfortunately, I did pick charcoal, and then had to move to an apartment with different lighting. In one apartment, the swatch was a very dark grey, while in my new apartment, it the couch looks steel blue. I'm not a fan of blue. I should have gone for sable, which is brownish tan in some lights, and pink-ish with a gold hint in others.
Despite the color, I love the look of the couch itself. The tufted look without the buttons is pretty nice, and the fabric is much easier to keep clean than I anticipated. I have a cream colored cat, so of course his fur gets all over the couch with its faux velvet fabric, but it's fairly easy to rub his fur out of the fabric and it doesn't seem to damage it. It looks like a more expensive piece than it actually is.
In terms of comfort, it's true what all the other reviews say- it's pretty stiff. I'm personally not bothered by this at all, and I've had no problems lounging around all day in it while it's unfolded into a bed. The folding mechanism felt a bit flimsy to me at first; that's probably because the couch is very light weight. I've had no problems with it, but I wish it felt a bit more secure. I would suggest not slamming the couch or abusing it when folding it up and down though. Common sense.
I think my main complaint is the arms of the couch. They don't come attached to the body, and you have to slide them into place. It's really flimsy. You can literally wiggle the arms. It will hold up fine as long as you aren't leaning up against them every time you sit in the couch. My question is who wants to have to be conscious about not leaning into the side of the couch every time they sit down? Continually put stress on the sides and I can promise you they will eventually break off. I guess if you're handy you might be able to figure out how to more securely attach the arms. My solution has been to push the couch up against a wall on one side, and I'm currently looking for a heavy trunk to double for supporting the other arm and acting as storage for pillows and throw blankets. It's an easy solution, but one I feel like I shouldn't have had to make."
+37points
37of 37voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Ava Velvet Tufted Sleeper Sofa
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
hipsternot

Nice to look at - horrible to sit on

(November 24, 2013)
"This couch is pretty. Very pretty. But it is hard as a rock, I am embarassed to have guests sit on it because it's so rediciously firm. Seriously - when you try to sit on it, you basically bounce off. Probably good to sleep on if you like a very firm mattress, but it's not a couch you can't sit on for too long. Very disappointing since we bought this as our only couch in our living room. I tried to put pillows on it, but that's limited since the seat isn't very deep. Probably good for a room you don't use, but not a good apartment sofa if you need all the space you can get."
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Ava Velvet Tufted Sleeper Sofa
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Carly33
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female

Pretty Couch!

(October 29, 2013)
"Overall, I really love this couch. The color (sable) is beautiful and exactly what I was picturing. It's sort of a mushroom color ... gray but in a warm hue that compliments my coral walls wonderfully. The fabric feels soft and the couch is definitely firm. I have only one complaint ... the arms. They are easy to attach to the couch, but seem a bit flimsy (like I don't want to lean all my weight against them when lounging). I'm very happy with the purchasing experience, delivery and pretty couch! Thanks UO!"
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Ava Velvet Tufted Sleeper Sofa
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
mereee
Location: north jersey, nj
Age: 18-24
Gender: Female

ugh

(October 22, 2013)
"LOved this couch when I bought it! I got the green and it was so pretty in person and exactly what I was looking for. Unfortunately, after having it for about a year, the legs started to break and an entire one broke off. I now have to look for a replacement but I know I won't find one as pretty as this was! I wish the quality matched up to its look."
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Ava Velvet Tufted Sleeper Sofa
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AndyMH
Location: Cambridge, MA
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female

My Apartment Just Leveled Up

(September 20, 2013)
"Before I ordered the couch, I saw one as part of a display in a store, so I had a chance to sit on it and look at color swatches and convince myself that yes, this was going to work. Somehow I still managed to be pleasantly surprised.
I was nervous about reviews that said these couches seem to change color depending on the light. The couch sits in an area with a lot of natural light, but so far I haven't noticed my royal blue couch be anything other than royal blue. In my more paranoid moments, I was also concerned that the velvet might show every touch and smudge, but it's been very forgiving on that front too.
Other reviewers have pointed out that the arms are noticeably separate from the rest of piece. Maybe because the color's darker and the corners are more in shadow, that wasn't a problem for me either. (Speaking of putting the arms on, assembly is a no tools required operation. Having learned to put furniture together at the Ikea School of Pain, this was comically simple.)
TL;DR: It's lovely, functional, and the logistics were simpler than they had any right to be."
My Photos
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+18points
18of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Ava Velvet Tufted Sleeper Sofa
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MishaMac
Location: Sarasota, Fl
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female

Truly Fabulous Sofa

(September 14, 2013)
"This couch is absolutely stunning, looks and feels even better in person, more like $2000 couch, REALLY!!!
Very well made too!
Came in a huge box but the delivery guys put it together!
It's a great couch for small spaces too, not as bulky as others, so elegant, LOVE IT !!!
Fast & free delivery too, wow!
"
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Ava Velvet Tufted Sleeper Sofa
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
christinebot
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female

love.

(September 5, 2013)
"i've had this couch for about a year. i love the style. it looks just like the picture. i have the green color. it is a bit hard but not uncomfortable."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Ava Velvet Tufted Sleeper Sofa
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ohkayt
Location: New York, NY
Age: 18-24
Gender: Female

Love love love

(August 25, 2013)
"Even prettier in person and seems like it is made very well. It was also packaged nicely and very easy to put together for my roommate and I. Shipping was faster than expected. Overall amazing purchase. Makes my apt look so chic!!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Ava Velvet Tufted Sleeper Sofa
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
ABG9

Beautiful but poor quality

(August 13, 2013)
"We first ordered this couch last October I was super happy to find this online. I loved the color and look. We got it and ir had a hole. They were great sent us a new one in December, no worries things were fixed and I was fine. But now 8 months later the arms of this couch wobble, unsteady, and show a visible gap between the arm and rest of the sofa. This just makes me sick because I was so excited about this and it hasn't even lasted a year. Its a beautiful couch but I would not count on this for a long term solution. I am super sad about it."
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Ava Velvet Tufted Sleeper Sofa
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Phamarama
Location: Las Vegas
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female

Not the worst thing I could buy...

(August 5, 2013)
"Bought this couch in "Charcoal" for my apartment 3 months ago. It's more of a Slate Blue than anything. I was a little disappointed because I had an image in mind and the color did not live up to it. Be sure to request a color swatch to be sure if you want the couch in this style.
As for the structure: it's pretty firm, definitely needs throw pillows. Great to sleep on because it's firm, but not for lounging around. I feel like the arms of the sofa are flimsy almost. One of the arm sticks out from the couch, so you can tell that it's a separate piece assembled at home. I'm hesitant to lean against that arm if I'm propping myself up to read a book or play on my laptop.
The assembly itself way very easy. I did it all myself in about 30 minutes. Changing the couch from sofa to bed is very smooth. It's just one "click" away."
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Ava Velvet Tufted Sleeper Sofa
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ovanpat
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female

It's a GEM!

(July 9, 2013)
"I received the sofa in "moss green" yesterday. The delivery was smooth, they called and scheduled an app and were only 15 minutes late. I unpacked the sofa and set it up in 20 min (I am 5.5 and 110 just for reference). It was soooo easy to do! The color is marvelous...sometimes moss other times more avocado but it is brilliant! I don't have anything negative to say at this point. It is firm but comfortable (you don't lounge on it and read a book kind of comfortable though). Otherwise, top notch!"
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Ava Velvet Tufted Sleeper Sofa
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Naythin
Location: Orange County, CA
Age: 18-24
Gender: Male

Well... It looks cool

(April 22, 2013)
"Bought a couple for the coffee shop. Color is spot on (charcoal) . Easy to put together. And it's definitely sturdy, because I think it's made of solid stone.. I think I would sleep better on pure diamond than this thing. I sat on it and got the wind knocked out of me. So to say it is a "tad firm" is like saying the sun is a "tad warm" . I've had it for a couple weeks so hopefully it breaks in a little bit so people don't shatter their tail bones."
+17points
17of 17voted this as helpful.
123next>>