Customer Reviews for Urban Renewal Patterned Sweater Dress

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Urban Outfitters.

Urban Renewal Patterned Sweater Dress

Urban Renewal Patterned Sweater Dress
Average Customer Rating:
1.625 out of 5
1.6
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
2 Based onout of 8(25%) reviewswould recommend to a friend.
Sort By: Customer Reviews for Urban Renewal Patterned Sweater Dress
Review 1 for Urban Renewal Patterned Sweater Dress
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
TawdryyAudreyy
Location: Faber, VA
Age: Under 18
Gender: Female

I can't even...

(April 9, 2013)
"Considering the $1.99 sale price, I couldn't pass this up, even looking at the reviews.
So I bought two.
Man, I sure wish I had listened to everyone else who had bought this.
I knew I wasn't going to get what was pictured, but the two I got were waaaay off.
The two color choices were "brights" and "darks," but the colors on the bags that came with the order say "blues" and "blacks-whites," respectively.
The brights/blues one ended up being darker colors, almost like the one in the original darks picture. It was alright for darks, I guess, but not for brights which is what it was supposed to be for. The pattern wasn't anything too endearing.
The darks/blacks-whites one ended up being black and white-- surprise. I honestly didn't even think about getting something in those two colors. I thought I was going to get dark hues of something multi-color. I actually like the pattern on this one, but I really don't ever wear black and white.
I was considering keeping the black and white one, but after trying it on, it just didn't feel or look good. Maybe it was the blistering spring heat making me feel like it was sticking to me and itchy, but there was no mistaking the weird way it made my boobs look so flat. ...Which is weird since sweaters usually do the opposite.
The "brights" one fit the same way.
I don't plan on keeping either.
Of course, it'd be a waste of my money to return these because shipping doesn't get refunded, and I'd have to pay for shipping back. I'd probably end up spending more in the long run.
Lucky for me, I have an eBay account and plan to sell them there. Hopefully, I make at least what I originally spent on both dresses and shipping together.
Who knows.
I don't know who would want to wear these.
Never buying from Urban Renewal again."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Urban Renewal Patterned Sweater Dress
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Fit
Runs large
Runs small
True to size
Runs large
Kris1092
Location: LV, NV
Age: 18-24
Gender: Female
Body Type: Average

IT'S HUGE!!

(April 3, 2013)
"I ordered the light one in a size medium already knowing not to expect what I see in the picture. I ordered a medium b/c I didn't want to risk buying a dress too short.. esp. on sale (normally I wear a size s). Either way it was a risk but man was I wrong! When I tried on the dress it was huge!! The string in the back is very long, causing the dress to slide off my shoulders so I cut about a third of the string off and sewed it back to make the dress look somewhat better. The bottom of the dress goes down to my mid-thigh and it's also kinda loose. The scoop cut in front and in the back doesn't look professional; looks like an amateur cut it! The only good thing about this dress is the pattern. I recommend wearing this dress with a jean jacket, stockings, and boots, or with any other jacket (esp. if it's too big). I'm just mad I spent $10 at the time I bought it, it's not even worth that!"
My Photos
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Urban Renewal Patterned Sweater Dress
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Fit
Runs large
Runs small
True to size
Runs large
Shaelynn
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Age: 18-24
Gender: Female
Body Type: Slim

All I Could Do Was Laugh

(March 7, 2013)
"Well to start I knew it would not be the print shown in the pic so I knew I was taking a chance. The print really isn't my worst problem, yea it wasn't near as gorgeous as the burgundy one shown in the picture (the one I ordered) but it was not horrible either, it was just OK. It should have been sent to someone who ordered the "Lights" pattern though. Anyways this dress runs HUGE, not just big but huge. Granted a lot of things run big on me (I am a size 0 in dresses and a 00 in jeans) but this thing is massive. The shoulders are so far from where they should be it's hilarious! And the back looks like they did not even measure it, even before I put it on you could tell it was not going to look like it did in the pic, I held it up and the shoulder area was sagging where it met the back. It truly makes me look fat ew. Super long and the bottom band does not fit over my hips and I got the smallest size available. It is just funny to look at, I am not upset about the pattern it's a dissapointment but I take the blame for that, I and we all knew we were taking a chance, but the size is their fault, THAT is what should be depicted in the pictures. They completley fudged the way this dress is. I busted out laughing after putting it on. I can't be mad because I only paid five dollars for it, I just hope it does not come back in stock and other people pay fifty dollars for it, because it is not even worth five bucks. Please do not waste your time with this."
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Urban Renewal Patterned Sweater Dress
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Canadaallie
Age: 18-24
Gender: Female

If you like one of a kind , you'll like this

(March 4, 2013)
"It's definitley not as fitted on top as shown on the model, but the bottom is fitted and cute. If you like eclectic looking clothing, you'll probably like it, if you're looking for something cozy and fitted you won't. Overall it's cute and original, the brights pattern is lovely as well."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Urban Renewal Patterned Sweater Dress
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fit
True to size
Runs small
True to size
Runs large
AKAbarbie
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
Body Type: Average

I loved mine.

(January 7, 2013)
"Even tho I seen all the bad reviews, I ordered any way but when I got mine (Light one) it wasnt the same as the picture bit it was still cute and the colors were about the same but a different pattern. im 5'4 so the back out was long but not bad just right. it does kinda hang off the shoulders a but but mine came with a strip across the back, I dont know if I was suppose to cut that but it wasnt a big deal. still a cut dress and warm :)"
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Urban Renewal Patterned Sweater Dress
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Fit
Runs a little large
Runs small
True to size
Runs large
unhappy00000
Location: Andover, MN
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female

NOT the dress I ordered !!

(December 19, 2012)
"I ordered the dark red/maroon color patterned dress, I was really excited as I had been looking for a different look of sweater dress and this was perfect... the dress I recieved was not the dress I ordered, it wasnt even one of the color options they show online. it was a small checkered black and tan pattern in a wierd feeling material and looks nothing like the dress I had thought I was getting. It is wrong to advertise a dress, have the consumer pick the pattern they want, then send them a completly different dress! I'll make do with the dress simply because I dont want the hassle of trying to exchange/return, but I would have liked more to have the dress i ordered!! It appears from previous comments that this seems to be a recurring theme with ordering online from this company. As my first purchase from urban outfitters I am very dissapointed and this will be my last purchase."
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Urban Renewal Patterned Sweater Dress
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
LindsayNicole84
Location: Chicago, IL
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
Body Type: Slim

Completely different colors & falls off shoulders

(December 3, 2012)
"Same as previous review - I ordered the multi-colored sweater dress with reds, blues, greens, yellow, etc., & it showed up all & only mustard color yellow & navy blue. I was bummed - I pictured this to be a cool / trendy sweater dress with high socks & boots, but I am returning it now. Also, the sleeves fall off the shoulders & do not stay in place."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Urban Renewal Patterned Sweater Dress
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Fit
Runs a little small
Runs small
True to size
Runs large
Ebucks
Location: New York, NY
Age: 18-24
Gender: Female

This is heinous

(November 27, 2012)
"I bought this dress expecting a low back sexy sweater dress to wear to Christmas parties at my school. I purchased the "Brights" Color. I am aware that Urban Renewal colors and shades tend to alter from the picture but the dress I received was completely different than the one advertised. It was bright, mustard color yellow and it was cable-knit. Additionally, it was extremely short (I'm 5'10", 36D, and 30 Waist) and the back only came down to slightly below my bra line. I DO NOT recommend purchasing this unless you like complete surprises. Urban Outfitters should not advertise a patterned dress and send something completely different. I am a loyal customer, usually your clothes fit great, but this was a huge let down."
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.