Customer Reviews for Sparkle & Fade Pleat Front Trouser

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Urban Outfitters.

Sparkle & Fade Pleat Front Trouser

Sparkle & Fade Pleat Front Trouser
Average Customer Rating:
3.154 out of 5
3.2
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
7 Based onout of 13(54%) reviewswould recommend to a friend.
Sort By: Customer Reviews for Sparkle & Fade Pleat Front Trouser
Review 1 for Sparkle & Fade Pleat Front Trouser
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Vnross
Location: Gilbert, AZ
Age: 18-24
Gender: Female

Unusual

(March 12, 2013)
"I got these at the original price. I'm 5'10 135lbs and size 26. I like them :) I have them in red and can dress them up or down. So cute"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Sparkle & Fade Pleat Front Trouser
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
eegyecats
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female

Unflattering draping/shape: best for long legs

(March 7, 2013)
"Like most of the other reviewers, I loved the deep red wine color and how sleek these pants looked on the model. I never have expectations of looking exactly like the photograph, but these were just laughable when I tried them on. I am 5'5, 130 lbs - usually wear a 28/32 in BDG pants. The size 4 fit me in the waist, but the hip section just ballooned out so ridiculously that I spent a few minutes parading around the house making people laugh until I finally took them off. They were also long (for me) so I would absolutely have to have them hemmed if I were to keep them.
I would say that it would be a cute look for the long-legged shoppers out there with a slim frame."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Sparkle & Fade Pleat Front Trouser
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Zeah
Location: Colorado
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female

Great pants for work

(February 28, 2013)
"Loved the pleats, loved the length, loved the pockets. These pants fit great. I am curvy and they hug all the right places"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Sparkle & Fade Pleat Front Trouser
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
MissMe
Location: Washington, DC
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female

On the fence

(February 13, 2013)
"I think the saving grace of these pants is the color and length. I purchased them in the deep red color and it is GORGEOUS. I'm also 5'8" and they hit just at the ankles.
I usually wear 27 in jeans and I don't have a lot of hips. I like that the pleats give me a shape, even if the shape is a bit pear-like. I ordered to 2 and they fit great at the waist and loose elsewhere like the picture. They are unlined which makes them feel a bit cheap. I think for the price, I'm not overly impressed."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Sparkle & Fade Pleat Front Trouser
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
wumppie
Location: Burlington, VT
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female

no

(February 9, 2013)
"behold: the pants cut to look weird on 85% of the population. also, see under: cameltoe (esp. when walking).
a 2nd star bc the red color is actually really lovely, and darn if I didn't have normal girl-sized hips, would have loved the design!!! but in case it wasn't obvious, will def be returning thanks."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Sparkle & Fade Pleat Front Trouser
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
CallMeIshmael
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female

odd

(December 6, 2012)
"i'm a pretty slender gal, but these ridic pants made my hips look huge! the pleats are weird. they're also way too long. i wanted to like them so badly, but alas, they're going straight back.
don't even bother, seriously."
+2points
6of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Sparkle & Fade Pleat Front Trouser
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Anonymous
Location: Novato, CA
Age: 18-24
Gender: Female

Cute but depends on the person

(October 11, 2012)
"I love the pleated look and got a pair of these in the beautiful wine color. They came today in the mail and I was very disappointed in the material. It feels cheap and weird. I am 5'11 and also hard to find pants long enough and I thought these would be a cute cut but they were a awkward length being too long. Also you also have to be fairly skinny to pull off this look, I have curves and don't recommend them to girls who do too. But otherwise they would have been really awesome."
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Sparkle & Fade Pleat Front Trouser
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ccelizabeth
Location: NY NY
Age: 18-24
Gender: Female

Great business casual wear

(October 10, 2012)
"I bought these pants to wear to work and I love how unique they are, and very comfortable too! I'm 5'5 and 128lbs; I bought the black and red in a size 6. The waist is a little loose so I have to wear them with a belt, and they're definitely long on me. I don't mind though because I like how they look rolled up a little bit, especially over heels. If you're under 5'7, they will be a little long--not ankle length like in the picture! Overall I'm happy :)"
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Sparkle & Fade Pleat Front Trouser
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
imsocool1
Location: San Diego, CA
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female

polyester but Id still wear them

(October 4, 2012)
"I dont like how they are polyesterday, i wish they were of a thicker material. But i couldnt pass up these cool slacks cause i like how i could be "work appropriate" or "dressed up" while still looking funky. They are not boring slacks. I bought these so that I could be "work professionally outfitted". bought a size 8 and I am 5 ft tall 150 lbs."
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Sparkle & Fade Pleat Front Trouser
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
riceswtee
Location: Ann Arbor
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female

I love these pants..

(October 2, 2012)
"Contrary to the other reviews.. I love these pants, and so does everyone else that's seen me in them. I've received lot sof compliments and inquiries about where I got them. (Yes, I bought one in black and one in tan). I'm almost 5'6'' and 118lbs. I wear a belt with these and they're perfect for my business/business casual look. Just want to throw some positivity out there.. to do the pants a little justice in case you're thinking of purchasing them."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Sparkle & Fade Pleat Front Trouser
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
TeriWill
Location: WV
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female

DEF NOT WHAT I EXPECTED...

(September 8, 2012)
"I adored these pants in the picture and I believe they look the same on me.. In spite of this I was just a lil shoked when I got them. 1st of all, I didn't take the time to read (usually I don't care) the details and thought I was getting some sort of cotton blend, however.. they are made of a, dress fabric which is a rough rayon'ey' wrinkle-free fabric. I ordered the red (which is a beautiful color). Secondly, I am 5'10" and 130lbs and the fit was good.. however.. they were a lil short and are hard to find something to wear with. I was dissappointed.. A little backround.. I have never returned anything to this store before and I buy stuff all the time. so, I am not one of those ppl who complain about everything. These are going back tho.
Futhermore, There was just something about these pants I can't put my finger on. They look good, but something is missing.If you buy them u will understand what I mean. Granting all this, these pants are for a very specific body type and for a set and certain occasion.. they would be good office pants!!... I would NOT recommend them for anyone who has a curvy body shape. I totally understand what the other reviewers are saying. You need to be slim and not taller than 5'8'' for these,
~ALSO, be aware these are a DRESS PANT and not casual. ~
No flats with these.. you must wear a heel to make them look right and not masculine. One more thing.. Make sure you have a shirt to wear these with.. they are very hard to find something to go with.
I would give these a C minus, for they will either be spectacular or a horrible flop. I give them a low garde based on the fact they cant be worn with many things, and you must have a certain body shape to wear them!
I bought the shirt pictured in a differ color to go with the pants.. althought I like the 2 pieces separately.. together they were very androgenous looking. I wore wingtips.. which prob didn't help! I'm just too tall for heels, most of the time, and you can't walk all day at class and work in them.. its extremly impratical.
OK.. Hope this Helps ppl decide!"
 
My Product Recommendations
Cooperative Striped Mesh Top Sweater
4.6 out of 5(5)
 
 
 
 
 
-2points
3of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Sparkle & Fade Pleat Front Trouser
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fit
Runs a little small
Runs small
True to size
Runs large
Ilsa
Location: VA
Age: 25-34
Body Type: Average

Disappointed

(September 5, 2012)
"You have to be skinny and at least 5'7 for those pants to be flattering on you. I ordered size 0 in red and size 2 in black. Both are too long. Size 2 is wide in the waist and size 0 is tight on the legs. They are going back."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Sparkle & Fade Pleat Front Trouser
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fit
Runs a little small
Runs small
True to size
Runs large
amycee
Age: 25-34
Body Type: Athletic

Odd fitting pants...

(August 16, 2012)
"These pants I wanted to like and keep so badly! I bought the red color and it is such a beautiful red. It is a deep, kind of wine-ish red, think red with a touch of burgundy. I tend to stray away from reds, but this red shade is money. The fabric is ok, just your standard poly trouser fabric, the kind of slinky, silky polyester. I bought a size 6 (normally I am a size 6 in any brand of pants from UO), but boy, was it too small for my liking. I am 5'3'' and my measurements are 30'' waist, 38'' hips, 22'' thighs (each thigh that is), & 14'' calves. These are all measurements at my fullest part. To start, the pants were too tight buttoning and definitely too tight around my thighs to the point where the front pleating puckered so far out that I looked like I had balloons hidden in my pants. The one thing that drew me to the pants besides the color, was the pleating in the front, so chic looking! Alas, it was not for me, and I have a feeling it would lay a lot better on someone that is way thinner and with skinny, skinny thighs. The pants also ran tight in the calves for me, they kind of tapered off to the feet like skinny jeans. They also hit me right at the top of my ankles, which is a length that I like.
However, with all that in mind, I think if I sized up to maybe a 10, the pleating issue and tightness would be resolved. I thought about an 8, but I think the slack would make the pants look a lot better, since on the models they are a little slackish which lends to the chicness.
I hope someone else reviews this! I'd like to see how these pants worked with others."
+18points
18of 18voted this as helpful.
Response from Urban Outfitters:By UO BuyerNovember 14, 2012
Thanks for your review! We love hearing what you have to say about our products, both good and bad. Based on your feedback, we’ve updated the fit of the Sparkle & Fade Pleat Front Trouser. We’ve increased the leg width, leg opening, inseam and outseam to create a better look and fit. Please check the Product Details for the new measurements.