Customer Reviews for Staring at Stars Sherpa Parka

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Urban Outfitters.

Staring at Stars Sherpa Parka

Staring at Stars Sherpa Parka
Average Customer Rating:
4.21 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
15 Based onout of 19(79%) reviewswould recommend to a friend.
Sort By: Customer Reviews for Staring at Stars Sherpa Parka
Review 1 for Staring at Stars Sherpa Parka
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
Location: Minneapolis, MN

It's love

(February 21, 2013)
"When this went on sale, I added it and unadded it to my bag about three times, reread all the reviews, called up my sister and asked her opinion...everything. Finally, I took the plunge. Sooooooo glad I did, since my size then went out of stock.
Thoughts. It IS furry, but in a soft, woolly kind of way that doesn't look cheap...just woodsy. I'm in MN and haven't tested it against our -30 yet, but today it's just right...warm without being cumbersome. The hood is huge and amazing against the wind. I hate it when coats' sleeves are too short and bunch up, but these sleeves are perfect. I can pull them over my gloves and they hit about the middle of the back of my hand.
I'm about 5'5 and the length hits me midhip, and I DO think it probably runs a little big, because I sized down to an XS to be on the safe side and I think it fits me just right. (For reference, I'm a size 2, 114 lbs).
It's unique, feminine without really trying, and FLATTERING. I don't get where someone said that it makes you look fat. I think the shape and length is slimming and looks great with leggings and lace-up boots.
There's only one con for me (so far), and it's kind of a given. The static cling with your hair will be CRAZY. I looked like Hermione Granger in no time flat."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Staring at Stars Sherpa Parka
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Imogenn
Location: Sydney
Age: Under 18
Gender: Female

WINTER MUST HAVE

(February 9, 2013)
"So I got this for my birthday from my mum and could not be more happy with it! This is honestly the best winter coat I have ever owned. It's still summer here but I'm counting down the days till winter so I can finally wear it! This coat is just amazing in every aspect, it comes just as pictured though the picture doesn't really show the material of the plaid very well. It's kind of furry/fluffy but not to the extent of a fur coat, it's just super soft and warm. It's true to size, I bought the xs, I'm 105lbs, 5'8 (tall/slim build) and it fits great with a little extra room to wear sweaters and whatnot underneath. The material seems really sturdy, so I'm counting on it lasting me a very long while. It super cute and I say to everyone that you simply must have this for winter, it's entirely incredible!"
My Photos
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Staring at Stars Sherpa Parka
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Phassy
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female

I wear it every day :)

(January 20, 2013)
"It is warm (I'm in Michigan!), comfortable, and the quality is great! It does get hairballs and some of the buttons came loos after a while but nothing unexpected. I love it :)"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Staring at Stars Sherpa Parka
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
gyspyrose7

Warm and classy

(January 16, 2013)
"I was in desperate need of a new winter coat and as soon as I tried this one on I fell in love. Not only was this coat warm but I also felt like I was making a fashion statement. The hood is huge and perfect for anything, and it has deep pockets. I absolutely love it."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Staring at Stars Sherpa Parka
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
thisjellylols
Location: L.A.,CA
Age: 18-24
Gender: Female

Eh

(January 15, 2013)
"I ordered the gray in a Small and was so excited to get it in thr mail. I'm going to return it for a couple reasons:
Too snug on my shoulders/waist.
Too furry( it looks unappealing)
Awkward string hangong in the back.
Fur on the cuffs/hood is not soft.
It isn't worth the price. But it is warm inside, just the fuzzyness is annoying and doesn't look stable."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Staring at Stars Sherpa Parka
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bellamia
Location: Bellingham WA

Gift from my mum

(January 5, 2013)
"My mum sent me this for Xmas and i love it. At first I wasn't sure about it when I saw it in the package and even before I tried it on. It is not a jacket I would pick for myself but once I put it on I was really happy with the look and be nice and warm this winter:) she got me the red check one, I saw the grey in the shop and don't think it's as nice because of the way the fabric is."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Staring at Stars Sherpa Parka
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AshleyMBd
Location: toronto
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female

Cozy and classy!

(January 1, 2013)
"Just got the grey coat in store for 50% off and I love it! The hood is huge in a luxurious sort of way, eliminates the need for a hat. I LOVE the super deep pockets, you can even fit the sleeves of the coat into them. The way it buttons up is also nice an unique. There is an inner zipper too so it fits snuggly. Also on the inside is a draw string so you can indent the coat around your waist a little. The fuzziness is adorable and it definitely kept me warm while out on a cold Canadian winter night. It is a little thin on the arms but with a sweater it is perfect. I am normally a small so that's what a bought and a sweater still fits comfortably underneath."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Staring at Stars Sherpa Parka
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Fit
Runs a little large
Runs small
True to size
Runs large
NickyNicht
Location: Seattle, WA
Age: 18-24
Gender: Female
Body Type: Slim

Beautiful, but starts to fall apart pretty quickly

(December 30, 2012)
"I saw this jacket in the December holiday catalogue, and knew pretty much immediately that I had to have it. I loved the colors of the orange version, and the fit on the model, and thought it’d be perfect for chilly Seattle days. And I wasn’t wrong.
I made the better decision to try this jacket on in store before I bought it. The jacket does run fairly large. I don’t think I’ve ever owned a winter coat that wasn’t at least a medium (I’m 5’6” and about 110lbs.), but even the small ran a little big for my taste. If you choose to buy this jacket, make sure to size down. But with the correct size, it looks amazing. The colors are vibrant and I feel like I’m complimented constantly on it. It’s also very warm. If I have any complaints at all, it’s about the texture of the coat.
It sheds. A couple of days after I purchased it, I began to notice little balls of hair appearing on my carpet. It also knots. I’m disappointed, because it really only took a few days and a couple of wears for this to start happening, and I feel like this $150 jacket is starting to look a lot cheaper. I don’t know if I should start lint rolling the heck out of it or take in somewhere to see if the problem could be remedied, but I’m pretty let down by the look and feel of the jacket after such a short period of time.
It is a gorgeous and warm coat, but don’t pay full price for it if you can avoid it. I think the jacket is only $100 in store right now anyway,"
My Photos
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Staring at Stars Sherpa Parka
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
knack
Location: USA
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female

Love Love Love!!!

(December 27, 2012)
"Oh how I love this coat! I bought the red motif in an xs and this is the best coat ever. It is surprisingly warm because it is not a heavy coat but the cold air does not penetrate it easily. Someone else mentioned the odd string hanging in the back...I just tied mine into a bow and it adds a little something extra to this already great coat. I have nothing bad to say about it. I am so glad I got this coat...no regrets! : )"
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Staring at Stars Sherpa Parka
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
seattebridges
Location: Chicago, IL
Age: 18-24
Gender: Female

cute!

(December 17, 2012)
"I got the grey coat, in my usual size (s). It's maybe a bit big, but perfect because I imagine that I'll be putting tons of layers underneath as the winter progresses. It's warm, and also "unique..." I get compliments every time I wear it!"
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Staring at Stars Sherpa Parka
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MicelleP
Location: Canada
Age: 18-24

Great Coat

(December 6, 2012)
"You can tell in the photos that it's a "hairy" coat so it shouldn't come as a surprise.I got it in the red as I thought the fuzziness was less noticeable, and as my other jacket is grey anyways. I think it's a great coat, haven't worn it out yet but was happy to find it lined and it feels as though it'll be warm in the cold winters.
I got an xs as I'm petite (5"2, 105lbs) and it fits good, the back goes down to a few inches above the back of my knees. The sleeves are a couple inches too long (goes down past my knuckles)but I just might see if a tailer can fix that. The strings in the back are a little weird but I plan on just pinning them up in the jacket. The waist cinch is a nice bonus to help make the coat look more fitted."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Staring at Stars Sherpa Parka
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Gina1213
Location: Philadelphia
Age: 18-24
Gender: Female

love!!

(November 28, 2012)
"i needed a winter coat so i got this one and I'm glad i choose this. I love the pattern it is so unique. the only thing i don't like is the material, its a little rough but that only the outside. the inside is warm and comfortable. i haven't had any problem with the material shedding as of now but I'm sure if it does i will just use a lint brush. Make sure you size down, i usually am a small and i got an extra small. i am 5'2'' and 120 pounds and the extra small is perfect and it is a great length too even though I'm on the shorter side. if your looking for a winter coat, this is the one!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Staring at Stars Sherpa Parka
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
blube
Age: Under 18

L-O-V-E

(November 16, 2012)
"this jacket is awesome im 5'5 and 115lbs and this fit perfect the pockets are huge wich is a plus and its overall a great jacket!"
-7points
0of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Staring at Stars Sherpa Parka
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit
Runs a little large
Runs small
True to size
Runs large
principessa
Location: Philly
Age: 18-24
Gender: Female
Body Type: Slim

Besttt

(November 15, 2012)
"After scoping this coat out for weeks online and trying it on in a shop, I bought it in-store in red. I've had it for 2 weeks now and absolutely love it. It is hairy, but it's not like it sheds like a dog or cat or anything.. you just might have a couple fuzz balls on your fingers but that's about it. As for it making you look fat...it's a winter coat, what do you want? If I got a coat that was so form-fitting I couldn't wear a sweater under it, I'd be ticked. I can wear multiple layers under this coat easily, and no it does not make me look fat. Plus there's an inside waist cinch that you can tighten if you really feel the need.
It's super warm, the sleeves are nice and long, and the hood is removable, which is great. It's also really long, just like on the model. For reference I'm almost 5'10" (115lbs) and got an S and it fits really well. After owning it for a couple weeks it seems to be pretty well-made, which was my main concern with it and also the reason I held off on writing a review until now, but I'm very impressed.
"
 
My Product Recommendations
UO Double Cable Knit Eternity Scarf
3.8 out of 5(12)
 
 
 
 
 
My Photos
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+12points
13of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Staring at Stars Sherpa Parka
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit
Runs a little large
Runs small
True to size
Runs large
Lana11
Location: NY
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
Body Type: Average

Great winter coat

(November 14, 2012)
"I got this in the red and I'm in love. It is definitely a hairy jacket but it is super warm and looks great on. For reference I'm 5'3 115lbs 34C and the extra small fit perfectly."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Staring at Stars Sherpa Parka
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AlexxR
Location: Edmond, Oklahoma
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
Body Type: Slim

Warm, winter coat

(November 8, 2012)
"I bought an extra small in the grey version and I thought it fit perfectly. I am 5'3" and on the petite side and the extra small was just right. It looks exactly like what it does in the picture with the model. I looked at the fabric up close before ordering this and it was exactly what I thought it was going to be. It is a furry coat but not in a bad way. It's adorable, unique and warm and I'd recommend it for anyone. If you are short get the extra small. I have no complaints. If you don't like furry don't get it. LOVE!!!!"
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Staring at Stars Sherpa Parka
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Mikkie
Location: Kansas
Age: 18-24
Gender: Female
Body Type: Slim

Look fat

(November 5, 2012)
"I bought this online the one in grey. Looks cute on the picture but not on me. There's a awkward string hanging behind the coat. Also it is super hairy and makes u look fat."
-2points
2of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Staring at Stars Sherpa Parka
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Fit
Runs a little large
Runs small
True to size
Runs large
Urbanisawesome
Location: Notsogreat
Age: 18-24
Gender: Female
Body Type: Average

Ehhh

(November 5, 2012)
"Got it in the mail (grey) and it was definitely a different fabric then I thought it would be. It was HUGE on me! I usually wear mediums but this made me look like I was drowning. Sadly, I returned it."
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Staring at Stars Sherpa Parka
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Fit
Runs a little large
Runs small
True to size
Runs large
lindsf5
Location: Seattle, WA
Age: 18-24
Gender: Female
Body Type: Average

Hairy Coat

(November 2, 2012)
"I bought this online in the grey color. When I got it in the mail though it wasn't what I expected. The grey material has this really strange texture to it. It's kind of hairy....lots of little hairs on the coat make it look like some sort of animal. That being said, I really liked the cut and weight of the coat. And I loved that it had a hood! But I still returned it."
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.