Customer Reviews for BDG Sleeveless Hooded Surplus Vest

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Urban Outfitters.

BDG Sleeveless Hooded Surplus Vest

BDG Sleeveless Hooded Surplus Vest
Average Customer Rating:
4.65 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
20 Based onout of 20(100%) reviewswould recommend to a friend.
Sort By: Customer Reviews for BDG Sleeveless Hooded Surplus Vest
Review 1 for BDG Sleeveless Hooded Surplus Vest
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
CessVB
Location: Orange County, CA
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female

Love it!

(July 13, 2013)
"Everyone kept saying to size up, but like the other gal, I took a chance and bought my usual size S. It fit perfectly!! Plenty of room even for long sleeved shirts- and I'm 5 feet 0'fun and 112 lbs. I only gave 4 stars because when you tuck in the hood, the collar is a bit bulky. Overall, cute and fun vest! The material's so soft and faux leather detail gives it a little umph."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for BDG Sleeveless Hooded Surplus Vest
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
happyboat

Stick with your original size!

(July 11, 2013)
"I read the previous reviews before ordering this item and decided to go a size up, but it ended up being TOO BIG!! The overall look is cute, so I am exchanging it for a smaller size."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for BDG Sleeveless Hooded Surplus Vest
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
CarolineQ
Age: 18-24
Gender: Female

Cute

(July 5, 2013)
"This vest is really cute and pretty nice quality (besides the pleather) but I'm confused about why all the other reviewers said to size up. Pretty much everyone said to size up so I went ahead and got a medium instead of my usual small, but I feel that the vest is too big. I'm keeping it anyways because its still really cute and I don't want to go through the hassle of exchanging it, but I wish I had got my usual size because it really just looks too big and boxy, and I even prefer my clothes on the loose side. Anyways, the vest is still really cute and I would recommend it."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for BDG Sleeveless Hooded Surplus Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
alaiasp
Location: Singapore
Age: 18-24
Gender: Female

Endless compliments

(June 28, 2013)
"I'm 5'2 and 120 lb. I'm usually a small in outerwear/blazers but I decided to size up to a medium for this. (Note: I bought it online). It wasn't too big or too small on me, and the hood can be stuffed into the collar. The color is just a bit darker than it's portrayed in the photo It matches with a lot of my tops and a lot of my friends complimented on the vest when I wore it out!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for BDG Sleeveless Hooded Surplus Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
urbanolover122
Location: Bay Area, California
Age: 18-24
Gender: Female

OMG

(May 29, 2013)
"wow wow wow. I found this vest at my local UO and fell in love before I even tried it on. They only had a M and I'm usually a S, but thank god cuz the MEDIUM looks perfect! For reference I am 5'9 125lbs with a 34C bust. The medium is the perfect fit! Looks just like the model. I love the adjustable sides so you can take it in like an inch if you want. The inside is well made too. I went ahead and ordered the other BDG one that just came out because im officially obsessed with this vest! GET IT BEFORE ITS GONE."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for BDG Sleeveless Hooded Surplus Vest
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
selenaaaa

love it

(May 25, 2013)
"besides the fact the leather detailing is really poor quality, Im in love with this vest and think it is a great addition to any wardrobe. size up if you plan to wear sweaters underneath for fall since its not very warm. also love the many pockets and zip pocket."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for BDG Sleeveless Hooded Surplus Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Killwater
Location: San Diego, CA
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female

A great purchase!

(April 20, 2013)
"What can I say? This vest is amazing! I ordered a size Small and it fits just right, not too tight but not oversized either. I am able to wear a flannel underneath or wear it over a summery dress with it looking like a proper fit. For reference, I am 5'6", 115lbs, 27" waist, 32D. The faux leather detailing really sets this vest apart from most surplus vests I've seen. Great quality garment and an instant favorite of mine. I've gotten many compliments on it already."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for BDG Sleeveless Hooded Surplus Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Alya
Location: Duncan
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female

Great Vest!

(March 22, 2013)
"I ordered this online, normally I'm always a small, but went with the reviews and sized up to a medium, something I never do. It fits perfectly. There's room for heavier stuff underneath, yet it's not at all baggy looking. Be aware it's a thin vest, it's not meant for warmth, more for layering. I love the leather detailing, the pockets, it's just an all around cool vest."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for BDG Sleeveless Hooded Surplus Vest
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
jkat
Location: PA
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female

Cute but...

(March 11, 2013)
"I really thought I would like this vest - but I ended up sending it back. It is soft and cute, but when I had it on I couldn't talk myself out of the fact that it looked like I was wearing one of those vests that fisherman wear. Like I should have lures hanging off it and other fishing gear stuffed in the pockets.. :) I have a jacket that is basically identical to this vest, only it has black faux leather sleeves - and I love that jacket and dont feel it looks at all fisherman-like. Anyway - for reference I am 5'9 34C and the large fit well."
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for BDG Sleeveless Hooded Surplus Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TheUrbanJunkie
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Age: 18-24
Gender: Female

LOVE It!

(March 10, 2013)
"honestly I was a bit skeptical about getting this vest because I had my eye set on the one with the leather sleeves but after trying it on I INSTANTLY fell in love. It's very versatile and you can wear it wit just about anything you can think of. Definitely worth getting. You won't regret it!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for BDG Sleeveless Hooded Surplus Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
themodernfaze
Location: Chicago, IL
Age: Under 18
Gender: Female

perfect

(February 20, 2013)
"I've had my eye on this for a while and I finally convinced myself to get it and I'm so glad I did. It's super versatile and the leather detailing is subtle but adds a certain refinement. I've already worn it a ton this winter and plan on this vest becoming a year round staple for me. I followed the reviews and ordered a size up which I would definitely recommend."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for BDG Sleeveless Hooded Surplus Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female

Love at first sight

(February 18, 2013)
"I saw this vest yesterday on display in the store and I had to have it! I normally wouldn't pay this much for a vest but the leather details was screaming at me. Luckily, the one on display was a size small and fits me perfectly although I am usually an xs. Plus, this vest looks better a bit loose. You can actually roll up the hoodie and zip it up to hide and there are extra buttons on the side to loosen or to tighten the width."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for BDG Sleeveless Hooded Surplus Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
brunch
Location: philadelphia, pa
Age: 18-24

awesome

(February 16, 2013)
"picked this up in the store today in a size medium. i'm 5'6", 125 lbs, 34DD and it fits perfectly. The medium is the only one I tried on and it's that slightly over-sized look i was going for, but not baggy. it hits right at my hip. not very warm but it's really cute. i love it!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for BDG Sleeveless Hooded Surplus Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
kerm
Location: new york
Age: Under 18
Gender: Female

SO CUTE

(February 10, 2013)
"i've been eyeing this vest for a while and i finally decided to splurge. its absolutely adorable and so worth it, i think i'll be able to wear this for a long period of time. and its so versatile! i also got it with a muscle tee and the pair is perfect! it seems pretty true to size as well."
 
My Product Recommendations
 
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for BDG Sleeveless Hooded Surplus Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
livinginthedoghouse
Location: small town Alabama
Gender: Female

Great black leather detail!

(January 29, 2013)
"I thought I would like this vest, but after getting it today, I love it.....It is very soft and good quality....the black leather around the pockets and on the shoulders really sets it off. I followed other reviewers and ordered a size up....worked out perfectly....."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for BDG Sleeveless Hooded Surplus Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
Location: New York, NY
Age: 18-24
Gender: Female

love it

(January 4, 2013)
"This vest is so awesome! it's very soft, very good fabric. I saw it online and didn't pay attention to it, but when I saw it in the store totally fell in love with it. Usually i'm a XS but I had to get this in S, so i'd recommend to size up."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for BDG Sleeveless Hooded Surplus Vest
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
photosbyjaana
Location: california
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female

Cute and comfy, great for all seasons

(January 3, 2013)
"When I saw this vest I had to have it. I ordered a Large, but the arm holes were too big. So I exchanged for the Medium. It gets a lot of play in my wardrobe"
My Photos
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
-3points
1of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for BDG Sleeveless Hooded Surplus Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Caden562

cute & comfy!

(November 26, 2012)
"I just got this vest and I fell in love with it! I suggest sizing one up than normal so you can layer up underneath and still have enough room for your underarms! its cute, yet keeps you comfy and warm for the fall/winter days."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for BDG Sleeveless Hooded Surplus Vest
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
urrrrrca
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female

Size up if you plan to layer

(October 18, 2012)
"I am pretty consistently an XS at Urban but had to exchange this vest for a Small. Like the previous reviewer, I also found that the vest runs a little on the short side. In addition, if you plan to wear more than one layer (or a more loose-fitting layer) underneath the vest, you may want to size up to give yourself some more room under your arms.
Good quality. Looks great."
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for BDG Sleeveless Hooded Surplus Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dee0411

just got it

(October 17, 2012)
"i loveeeeeeee this vest.. the material is great and i love the little leather accents it has on the shoulders, sides and on the zipper of the pocket. its shorter than i expected but i think it looks better this way."
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.