Customer Reviews for BDG East/West Canvas Tote Bag

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Urban Outfitters.

BDG East/West Canvas Tote Bag

BDG East/West Canvas Tote Bag
Average Customer Rating:
4.2 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
14 Based onout of 15(93%) reviewswould recommend to a friend.
Sort By: Customer Reviews for BDG East/West Canvas Tote Bag
Review 1 for BDG East/West Canvas Tote Bag
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MommaP
Location: St Louis

Stylish and extremely durable bag

(April 18, 2013)
"I bought this bag in neutral for my daughter to use during her junior year of high school. She has used this bag to carry her iPad as well as other school supplies every day and the bag is holding up wonderfully. She also uses the bag as an overnight bag since its so roomy. I wish I would have ordered one for myself. You will be thrilled with its durability and stylish features!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for BDG East/West Canvas Tote Bag
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Synchroselle

Good

(March 14, 2013)
"I got this bag to use for school, because my other bag from urban outfitters would not be able to hand how much i carry to and from school. I do carry so much in it, 2 big text books, my laptop, 5 notebooks, and the other stuff you need. From the first day it got a little rip under the right top buckle, but it hasent ripped any further, and after about half a year of use its starting to fray at the sholder strap. But other then that it is really nice, and i do love it. It can hold so much!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for BDG East/West Canvas Tote Bag
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Emmyxo
Location: Canada
Age: Under 18
Gender: Female

Great bag for school!

(March 8, 2013)
"I bought the bag in dark gray on sale, and it is basically what I expected. The colour is exactly as pictured, as well as the structure of the bag and the placement/length of the straps. I'm 5'4" and the bag is pretty big against my body; there's definitely enough room for a binder, a textbook, and a laptop, maybe even more.
It's a fantastic, casual bag for school but I wouldn't recommend it for fancy occasions or as a purse if that's what you're looking to buy."
My Photos
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for BDG East/West Canvas Tote Bag
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
CoalaBabie
Age: Under 18
Gender: Female

Ummm,,,

(February 28, 2013)
"I dont know if im going to recommend it to my friend, since i was disappointed after got it. I ordered it online. The product itself has a darker color than on the picture. Also, it's big and heavy. I was expecting a leisure purse which I could walk around with all day but..... I guess I'll just use this for school . umhuhuh. it's just the pictures dont show the reality that much. I dont hate it so, I 'll just use it as a normal bag. But i did expect a pretty purse at first"
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for BDG East/West Canvas Tote Bag
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SeeSeeCasey
Location: Texas
Age: 18-24
Gender: Female

Totes perf.

(January 4, 2013)
"This bag is perfect. I bought the black one in store and couldn't be more satisfied. I love the BDG brand and this bag met all of my expectations.
The bag itself is a very dark grey color. The zipper pulls and straps are black. The outter part of the bag is a really thick material and it's really well lined. The zippers and other hardware are really sturdy too and I expect that it will last me for a long time.
It's also the perfect size and I really like the fact that it has the arm straps and also the longer removable body strap. The only thing not so great is some of the zippers are a little hard to zip. I went through a couple before I picked the one I purchased because of that."
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for BDG East/West Canvas Tote Bag
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
jessicagangsta
Location: Orange County, CA
Age: Under 18
Gender: Female

Great for school!!!

(November 21, 2012)
"I get a lot of compliments and its good for school (: The only problem is that the handle straps are stretching cause my bag is usually heavy and the bag looks funny when you use the long strap /: other than that I recommend to be careful with how heavy you make the bag."
My Photos
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for BDG East/West Canvas Tote Bag
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
melany
Location: ny, ny
Age: 25-34

loved it but it broke!

(November 20, 2012)
"i really like this bag--it's big enough for my school books or laptop. however, after only 3 weeks of using it, the zipper broke! i can't believe it. i'm writing this review because i can't recommend this product. spend a little more and get a bag that will last!"
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for BDG East/West Canvas Tote Bag
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
crys
Location: San Diego, CA
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female

Great bag!

(October 18, 2012)
"I love this bag, it's great for everyday use, it is pretty large though. The picture online doesn't really do it much justice. I've received a lot of compliments. It has a classic design and seems pretty sturdy. I love it in the tan color. The longer shoulder strap comes in handy. The small side pocket is also useful to store your phone and other things you need quick access to. Highly recommend!"
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for BDG East/West Canvas Tote Bag
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
UOmeesh
Age: 18-24
Gender: Female

PERFECT

(October 18, 2012)
"I picked up this bag on sale in store. I wish UO's sales were the same online as they are in stores, but i understand needing to clear out inventory. This bag is perfect for school, but the quality of it is not worth the full price tag. It is trendy and functional and matches everything I wear! (i bought the grey and black)"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for BDG East/West Canvas Tote Bag
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
scharkz
Age: 18-24
Gender: Female

new favorite bag

(October 6, 2012)
"i don't normally like to carry a big bag, but this one is subtle enough that i can use it for all occasions. love it and use it every day"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for BDG East/West Canvas Tote Bag
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Julestar101
Age: Under 18
Gender: Female

Love it, one rather large flaw

(October 5, 2012)
"I absolutely love this bag. It is extremely durable and structured enough from the canvas to protect my stuff from rain. I can carry everything in it and still has plenty of room to zipper up!
However, I am extremely disappointed because after using the bag for roughly 2 months as my backpack, the stitching on the seam of the canvas is ripping. I don't really understand why because it is not where the buckles are sewn on. Instead, the layer of canvas on top of the bag is coming undone. I was hoping that it was just my bag but a friend of mine got the EXACT same bag from UO and it is ripping in the same exact spot. I am hoping to get a refund tomorrow or at least a new bag."
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for BDG East/West Canvas Tote Bag
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
surrenderdorthy
Location: tampa, fl
Age: 18-24
Gender: Female

perfect for students

(October 4, 2012)
"i purchased this bag in the tan. it fits my 17"+ laptop perfectly with room for my regular purse contents. it is sturdy and i plan to use this all through school. doubtful to go out of style because of how classic this bag is. i recommend this bag, but understand it is on the larger side."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for BDG East/West Canvas Tote Bag
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
anmendoza
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Age: 18-24
Gender: Female

Great bag!

(September 9, 2012)
"I bought this bag in the grey color and completely fell in love! It is a PERFECT size for taking to school. It is not too big and not too small. I also love the color and it looks really nice. Also, it is super sturdy to handle all my books."
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for BDG East/West Canvas Tote Bag
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Steph15

Perfect For School

(August 30, 2012)
"I bought this bag in the black color and I absolutely love it. I plan on using it for school. It is super sturdy, which is great because the handles on my bags always seem to break, but the ones on this bag seem like they can hold a lot. Perfect for school when carrying 10 pound text books all over the place. Has a couple of mini zipper compartments, which is perfect for holding any pens, and other school stuff. It is a little bigger than I expected but other than that I love it. So excited to walk into school with it."
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for BDG East/West Canvas Tote Bag
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
indieminx
Gender: Female

Extremely Happy with this Purchase

(August 14, 2012)
"I bought this bag in the brown color for school. It is made of a thick, durable fabric with good straps, lots of zipper pockets, and is spacious enough to fit all the folders and binders I will be carrying. I've already used this bag a few times and can't wait to show up with it on the first day of junior year. I would highly recommend this bag, especially for school!"
+20points
20of 20voted this as helpful.