Customer Reviews for Sparkle & Fade Surplice Sleeveless Dress

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Urban Outfitters.

Sparkle & Fade Surplice Sleeveless Dress

Sparkle & Fade Surplice Sleeveless Dress
Average Customer Rating:
4.278 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
14 Based onout of 18(78%) reviewswould recommend to a friend.
Sort By: Customer Reviews for Sparkle & Fade Surplice Sleeveless Dress
Review 1 for Sparkle & Fade Surplice Sleeveless Dress
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
chelshd
Location: New York
Age: 18-24
Gender: Female

Cute but cheap quality

(June 12, 2013)
"This dress is really cute and showed off my large boobies in a sophisticated way. It was not national geographic but a little peek, which is what I am for when it concerns deep neck lines.
I have a small frame with a large bum and chest and this dress seemed to flatter my figure perfectly although the dress was a thin, cheap quality. I wore it to my sister's college graduation and was comfortable but at some point during the day I noticed that the dress tore along my waist. Not sure if I made an odd movement but I was a little disappointed. Thankfully, I brought a back up pair of clothes that I changed into.
Not sure if I'll end up replacing this dress with a new one. I think I'll just let this one go.
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Sparkle & Fade Surplice Sleeveless Dress
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sandii
Location: NYC
Age: 18-24
Gender: Female

Really cute dress!

(May 7, 2013)
"I bought both the black and teal color dress. The dress is very flattering and a perfect length! Can definitely be dressed up or down. Love it!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Sparkle & Fade Surplice Sleeveless Dress
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit
Runs a little small
Runs small
True to size
Runs large
Ashee23
Location: Rochester, NY
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
Body Type: Athletic

Love this dress

(April 10, 2013)
"I love the material and the fit on this. I got it in black and cannot want to wear it!"
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Sparkle & Fade Surplice Sleeveless Dress
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
nikky23
Location: New York City
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
Body Type: Slim

Love it!

(March 19, 2013)
"I got the teal color and black (haven't received black yet) the fit is really great, very simple and easy to wear. I am 5'3" and love it bc so many dresses I get are too long, I like when dresses hit me mid thigh. It's short but comfortably so. I have read comments about being too tight in butt, not for me, it fits well in that area but then my butt is on the smaller side (wish it were bigger :)"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Sparkle & Fade Surplice Sleeveless Dress
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Fit
Runs small
Runs small
True to size
Runs large
HeyItsKatie
Location: Brooklyn
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
Body Type: Average

No-Stretch Synthetic Fabric

(March 19, 2013)
"Didn't love this dress. I'm a size 8/9 and the Large was too tight on my bum. I usually wear a M or L in urban dresses with no problem. Zero stretch to this cheap-feeling fabric- I can't understand how anyone would comment on the fabric being nice! They have obviously never had a natural fiber blend on their body! I like the cut of the top, but the synthetic fabric definitely makes it look super cheap.
Maybe would work on a petite frame w/ model measurements- this dress does not work with curves of any means! Returned it even at the sale price."
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Sparkle & Fade Surplice Sleeveless Dress
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Greta
Age: 18-24
Gender: Female

Sexy Dress

(March 11, 2013)
"I love this dress! I wasn't sure about buying it because I am planning on using it for a formal occasion, but I think I can dress it up well enough. I bought the black one (I tried the light blue one on, equally awesome) in a size small. I'm 5'3, about 112 pounds, slightly pear shaped. The bottom of the dress is a little snug around my thighs, but it still looks good. Because of that, I can't put my hands in the pockets comfortably, but that isn't a big deal for me. The back of the dress really is the sexy factor. I can't wait to wear it out.
It is a tad short - perhaps it is better for petite women than taller women.
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Sparkle & Fade Surplice Sleeveless Dress
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Marataro
Location: Toronto, Canada
Age: 18-24
Gender: Female

Great dress but got the wrong size :(

(March 3, 2013)
"I'm 5'0, 115 pounds and wear a 34 A bra size. I looove this dress! It is absolutely beautiful! The blue-multi colour is amazing though slightly different than in the picture. Quality is very good, the fabric feels really nice and doesn't look cheap. ^_^ Unfortunately I got an XS instead of S. :( The top fits snuggly but the problem happened at my butt! Couldn't get the hemline down! So girls with bigger bottoms- be a little careful with this one! I have to say this runs a teeny bit small, might wanna size up with this one! The dress is so pretty I'm sad that I'll have to be returning it."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Sparkle & Fade Surplice Sleeveless Dress
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit
True to size
Runs small
True to size
Runs large
Lilicandifornia
Location: Toronto, CAN
Age: 18-24
Gender: Female
Body Type: Slim

GORGEOUS DRESS!! ABSOLUTELY IN LOVE!

(February 13, 2013)
"i love love LOVE this dress. i first saw this dress online because my friend wanted it. there is a very similar dress to this at Aritzia for $165 (polyester, ridiculous price). she wanted this one because it's basically the same dress.
i tried this dress on at the UO near me, and it was love at first sight. I gotten it in the teal (which in my opinion is better than the light blue), and it fits me perfectly. cuts right at my waist, the top is very roomy, fits me perfectly, something i struggle with dresses because of my size. I'm just short of 5'4", 32DD/34D, and 116lbs.
my friend got this dress in the black, she's about 5'3", 130lbs, got it in the Small. i got XS. on both of us the dress cuts at mid-thigh length. this dress you can do casual with some flats or formal with a blazer and heels or blazer and flats. so versatile!
only thing i would say for this dress is, and i don't know how else to say it. . .you just can't be flat chested. the top is fairly roomy, even with my proportions i found it fit me perfectly.
overall i'm super happy with my purchase, this dress is definitely worth every penny."
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Sparkle & Fade Surplice Sleeveless Dress
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fit
Runs a little small
Runs small
True to size
Runs large
PaigeV
Location: New Haven, CT
Age: 18-24
Gender: Female
Body Type: Slim

Great Little Black Dress

(February 3, 2013)
"This is a great simple little black dress. I'm 5ft tall, 32D and 26in waist. The material is really soft. The deep slit on this dress looks great. I don't feel like my boobs are going to pop out.... without a bra. It fits great except in my butt... I might go back and try the small just to see if it's worth exchanging. It's a pretty short dress but looks sexy! My recommendation is that you try it on first."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Sparkle & Fade Surplice Sleeveless Dress
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit
True to size
Runs small
True to size
Runs large
Lauren333
Location: Astoria, NY
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
Body Type: Slim

Great for Petites

(January 29, 2013)
"I am 5'1 and 100 lbs, and bought the XS. I have a 23" waist but my hips are 33", the cut of the dress accentuated the small amount of curve I do have and didn't look like a trash bag on me. The material is soft and silky and the color (blue multi) is beautiful! I have received quite a few compliments on it from other women. I do think it is a bit short though, I managed at 5'1 but I'm not sure if it would be good for taller girls."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Sparkle & Fade Surplice Sleeveless Dress
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit
True to size
Runs small
True to size
Runs large
flsunshine
Age: 18-24
Gender: Female
Body Type: Slim

Recommend

(January 26, 2013)
"Great, soft, silky material, and the color (teal) is pretty dead on in the photo. Hits just a couple inches above the knee and is a loose fit with the waistband hitting my true waist (I'm 5'7", 110lb) so it's pretty modest but still very attractive. The pockets are perfect, don't ever notice them unless something bulky is in it. Can be dressed up or down...I wear it with a belt and sandals."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Sparkle & Fade Surplice Sleeveless Dress
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Asunder
Gender: Female
Body Type: Average

No.

(January 7, 2013)
"I'm 5'5, weigh 125/130 , 36C, I ordered a medium. In the light green
The dress fits horribly, there's no form to it. Doesn't fit at all like the picture.
The length was fine, it hits right above the knee. but it truly does fit just like a trash bag. I think even if I got a small it would've been bad.
The fabric and the color are absolutely gorgeous though. I bought this on a whim hoping it would work but I should of listened to the other bad reviews."
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Sparkle & Fade Surplice Sleeveless Dress
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
amandatoryy
Location: florida
Age: 18-24
Gender: Female

meh

(December 16, 2012)
"I bough this in a Large kind of knowing it would be a bit big, but it looked like a fabric trash bag on me. Really unflattering fabric, but the blue color is very nice. I am 5'6 and 125, I usually wear a M but it would have been too short, I don't think it would have mattered. Sent her back :("
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Sparkle & Fade Surplice Sleeveless Dress
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Fit
True to size
Runs small
True to size
Runs large
principessa
Location: Philly
Age: 18-24
Gender: Female
Body Type: Slim

Better on shorter girls

(October 17, 2012)
"This dress is super sweet, great cut and the material is nice and silky. Unfortunately I don't think it was made for tall girls. I'm almost 5'10" and tried this on in store in 2 sizes but neither was really long enough, the waistband didn't hit my waist where it should have, and where the pockets fell was not at a flattering point on my hips. I would definitely recommend this if you're shorter, I think the proportions are perfect for smaller girls. Really cute dress!"
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Sparkle & Fade Surplice Sleeveless Dress
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit
Runs small
Runs small
True to size
Runs large
meepusmoopus
Location: San Diego, CA
Age: 25-34
Body Type: Average

Sexy, flattering dress - IF you size up

(September 18, 2012)
"This is the most flattering dress I've worn in a while. The green is a touch darker and dustier in person, which I like. I'm usually a size 8, between a medium and a large at UO. Medium was way too tight so I went with a large. Definitely runs small so if you're between sizes, size up. It's also super low cut, but nothing a lacey bandeau or a safety pin can't fix. Love it."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Sparkle & Fade Surplice Sleeveless Dress
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anna247
Location: Washington, D.C.
Gender: Female

Killer Dress

(September 10, 2012)
"I was skeptical when I bought this dress. However, I really found myself loving it. It is really hard to find dresses that work well on me because I am tall and curvy, but this one did. Love it."
My Photos
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Sparkle & Fade Surplice Sleeveless Dress
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AmandaSue
Location: Seattle, WA
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
Body Type: Curvy

So pretty

(July 4, 2012)
"I bought this dress online and I absolutely love it. However, I have to exchange it. I am 5'6.5" 130 lbs and a 34C. I bought a small but need to exchange it for a medium I think. It fit really well, not too small but the waist hit me at a funny spot. Instead of being at my natural waistline it was a couple of inches higher. I do have a long torso so it could just be me and I hope by going up it will not be too big but we will see. The color is a bit darker but very pretty and the deep v didn't bother me. Can be dressy or casual. Can't wait for my exchange to come!!!!"
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Sparkle & Fade Surplice Sleeveless Dress
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JuliaD
Location: Philadelphia, Pa.
Age: Under 18
Gender: Female
Body Type: Athletic

Sexier than pictured

(June 27, 2012)
"The color is a teeny darker than it looks in the picture and you may not realize this, but it is SO low-cut. It's a really deep V when you wear it.
However none of that is bad; this dress is amazing. I can wear it dressy or casual. I LOVE IT and it is incredibly flattering.
"
+8points
9of 10voted this as helpful.