Customer Reviews for Urban Renewal Afghan Short

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Urban Outfitters.

Urban Renewal Afghan Short

Urban Renewal Afghan Short
Average Customer Rating:
2.762 out of 5
2.8
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
11 Based onout of 21(52%) reviewswould recommend to a friend.
Sort By: Customer Reviews for Urban Renewal Afghan Short
Review 1 for Urban Renewal Afghan Short
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
yearsyoung

DO NOT ORDER THESE SHORTS

(November 25, 2012)
"WORST PURCHASE EVER.
THE SHORTS ARE SMELLY, HEAVY, UGLY AND NOT AS PICTURED.
"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Urban Renewal Afghan Short
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MimiDuroy
Age: Under 18
Gender: Female

LOVE

(November 23, 2012)
"They are amazing! Very cute, and I can pull them up to be high-waisted, or down to be more like pj pants. I wear them around the house but they would be super cute to go out with. My pair were three tones of blue in a wavy pattern. The only thing is that I ordered a small and received a medium but they fit perfectly, anyways. I don't think that they run large but that maybe there was a mix-up with the tags. Either way, they are super comfy and not scratchy like I anticipated. this is a must have."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Urban Renewal Afghan Short
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Crystal135

BUY THESE.

(November 8, 2012)
"I got these shorts in the mail today and they are sooo cute! I got the light pair. I ordered a small and it fits pretty good... The only things about this short I don't like is 1. The elastic isn't covered.. 2. It makes you look wider. I ordered two pairs and I like both of the prints! If you r thinking about buying these shorts you should becuz u won't regret it."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Urban Renewal Afghan Short
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
unusualworld
Age: Under 18
Gender: Female

Unique and a Steal on Sale

(October 4, 2012)
"Well, I have been admiring these since I first saw them in the catalogue months ago, and I finally got them. Mine are orange and green, so very one of a kind! Perhaps I should have got a larger size. I am five feet tall, but even though I am of French descent, I have a bum that is comparable to that of perhaps Nicki Minaj. But if you have a regular bum, don't fret."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Urban Renewal Afghan Short
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
StephanieOmeke
Location: Stillwater, OK
Age: 18-24
Gender: Female

hand made vintage!

(August 22, 2012)
"Thought these shorts were groovy since I first saw them! I read all the reviews before officially deciding to order these shorts in brights. I think they rock! I am 5'8, 128lbs (with, you guessed it, not many curves, unfortunately) and they fit well. Since they are topped with elastic and not a tight material I think they are true to size, go up or down for what you think you may need but they are close to true. They are not to short or to long but you are working with a lot of fabric because these shorts ARE CROCHETED. Hand made from vintage crocheted pieces. Which also means you should probably wear boy short undies or another pair of shorts under them depending on which one of a kind pair you receive. Which I found to not be a big deal. I think at this sell price these shorts are a steal. Beware of the colors you may recieve, seems that has been the most complained about thing from other reviewers. I personally think the idea of these shorts is so wonderful that it doesn't matter the colors, they are cool. I had got many complements the one day I wore them so far. I love unique!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Urban Renewal Afghan Short
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
ampannell

ahh.. not for me.

(August 22, 2012)
"the print was soooo cuteeee, but the shorts were just.. not made for my body i guess. kinda weird looking in general, should have known by the pictures. happy that some people loved them though! to each their own :)"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Urban Renewal Afghan Short
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit
Runs a little large
Runs small
True to size
Runs large
laylakimchi

NICE!

(August 14, 2012)
"In the description of the item, it says that your pair will vary from what is pictured. Obviously most people didn't read this and so they got a "completely different pair" of shorts than they ordered. Anyway, I ordered the brights and they fit super comfy. LOVE THEM! They run a bit large so go for a size smaller than you're used to. Because they're knit, you'll need to take care of them or they'll stretch/shrink. Follow the care for instructions exactly. :)"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Urban Renewal Afghan Short
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Fit
True to size
Runs small
True to size
Runs large
hyperpearlgirl
Location: LA, CA
Age: 18-24
Gender: Female
Body Type: Curvy

Funny cut, you get what you pay for (on sale)

(August 12, 2012)
"Uh, so the pattern I got has two large zigzag stripes that point down in line with the crotch. I personally think this is hilarious and will probably wear these over tights when it's colder.
The elastic band isn't lined at all so I would never wear these on their own (not even as PJs), and the weave is wide enough that you could see undies if not wearing tights.
This probably isn't the best buy for a warmer climate, but I think these are amusing. Not terrible for $10.
180 lbs 5'6'' and large fits fine, though a little tight. That's sort of normal with UO stuff for me."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Urban Renewal Afghan Short
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
schursk
Location: New York, NY
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
Body Type: Slim

Online purchase, not as all like shorts in picture

(August 2, 2012)
"This is the second time I have ordered something online and it is totally different than the item pictured. I would definitely not recomend buying online. The fabric looks different (much cheaper and mostly likely will fray and pull). As well the pattern is hideous, the main color listed described a blue, the ones I received don't even have blue in them. Definitely will not keep and very disappointed U.O. does stuff like this."
-3points
2of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Urban Renewal Afghan Short
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JJJill
Location: Baton Rouge, LA
Age: 18-24
Gender: Female
Body Type: Slim

In-store purchase

(June 29, 2012)
"I just bought a pair of these shorts in blue and pink in the store. I tried them on first and they fit sooo cute and were super comfy. Since each pair is so unique, its probably safe to say your a lot better off going to a store and finding the right pair for you. Love these shorts!"
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Urban Renewal Afghan Short
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Fit
Runs a little large
Runs small
True to size
Runs large
triciannm

Didn't even get the right shorts

(June 23, 2012)
"I ordered the black ones, which were probably so much cuter than the ones I got. I received brown ones with orange triangles on them and they fit terrible and look terrible. I think the black would have been cuter but if they fit the same as these ones it's not even worth it."
-4points
1of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Urban Renewal Afghan Short
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Fit
Runs a little large
Runs small
True to size
Runs large
UrbanGal11
Location: Austin, TX
Age: 18-24
Gender: Female
Body Type: Slim

Don't do it!

(June 12, 2012)
"I ordered 2 pairs (brights and darks) like everyone suggested and got 2 super ugly pairs. I ordered a small (which I always get at UO) and they were very large and the material was thick and super itchy. You can also see through the knitting. Maybe there are a few cute pairs out there, but both of mine were hideous. If you order any, be prepared to return them."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Urban Renewal Afghan Short
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
leah9
Location: kensington, md
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Body Type: Slim

granny's afgan

(June 7, 2012)
"these shorts were awful. the fabric was pilled and looked like it had been washed a hundered times. they weren't lined so you could see my underwear (or lack of) through the shorts. the elastic around the waist was not sewn in evenly. there were sections where the elastic was not sewn at all. they are sitting in a bag in my closet waiting to be returned to the store."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Urban Renewal Afghan Short
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
hareytuptup
Location: sf bay, ca
Age: 18-24
Gender: Female
Body Type: Curvy

qt bb shortz

(June 6, 2012)
"These are adorable. I got the lights and not knowing exactly how they were going to look only made me more excited to get them. My pattern was really cute!! However, they are so hole-y and see through that I cant wear them without tights, which is what I was afraid of. It's no big deal at all, just don't anticipate to receive shorts that can be worn alone, because these need to be worn over tights or leggings."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Urban Renewal Afghan Short
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Tashattack
Location: Michigan
Age: 18-24
Gender: Female
Body Type: Average

granny squares

(May 29, 2012)
"Before I purchased mine I read through all the reviews. I ended up purchasing the dark and was extremely lucky and received the granny square shorts, which are very similar to the one in the picture! I was extremely happy when I opened the box. The only thing I was extremely disappointed with was the shorts are completely see through... but I decided to keep them especially because they are so unique."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Urban Renewal Afghan Short
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
kell16vb
Location: Anchorage, AK
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
Body Type: Athletic

Wont get the short in the picture!!!!

(May 3, 2012)
"Apparently, these shorts are one of a kind and are not necessarily the granny square pattern shorts you see in the picture. When you order the "darks" it could be any dark color and any pattern. I ordered these and received the ugliest brown and orange striped shorts I have ever seen. I giggled when I opened the package, it's like a Cleveland Browns fan threw-up all over them. These are going back without even taking them out of the plastic. Very disappointed because the granny squares are so cute. Boo!!!"
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Urban Renewal Afghan Short
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
emilybelle
Location: Little Rock, AR
Age: 18-24
Gender: Female
Body Type: Athletic

3 cheers for luck

(April 16, 2012)
"I got really lucky and got a relatively cute "brights" pattern, lots of pastel squares in pinks, blues, yellows, and white and black. I am 5'9", 150 lbs, 41" hips and I ordered the large. On me, they are not cute and loose like on the model, but more fitted (and more high-waisted than pictured). They are still cute and comfy, however! You can see some of the glue on the elastic, but otherwise they seem to be good quality. They get more laughs then compliments but folks like 'em, and more importantly, I like (& recommend) them!"
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Urban Renewal Afghan Short
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit
Runs a little small
Runs small
True to size
Runs large
Liviz
Location: jersey
Age: Under 18
Gender: Female

IN LOVE !

(April 8, 2012)
"I went into the store and picked out my shorts and actually ended up getting 2 pairs !!! i got a striped pair with friges on the bottom and a cream pair covered in flowers. i recomend you go into the store bc it is urban renewal so you dont know what your gonna get. i usually am a size small. im 5'7.5 and 120lbs. all of the sizes were honestly the same.. i got a small in the striped pair and a large in the flowered pair and theyre the same size. Theyre totally cute though ! there is an elastic at the top of the shorts so they can totally give to fit everybody. beware though a lot of the shorts are sheer or have holes in them (theyre supposed to) so you may need something to wear underneath them. Overall theyre an amazing perchase !"
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Urban Renewal Afghan Short
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
annieml
Location: chicago
Age: 18-24
Gender: Female
Body Type: Slim

CAREFUL! You won't get the shorts in the picture

(March 28, 2012)
"Same as the other reviewer. The shorts sent were not the shorts in the picture. They were knit, black and orange 3 inch strips - VERY UGLY."
My Photos
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+25points
29of 33voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Urban Renewal Afghan Short
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
cmminp
Location: cleves, oh
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Body Type: Average

NOT AS SHOWN!!!!!

(March 14, 2012)
"I was very excited about these shorts in black with the cool crochet squares. What I received in the mail are not the same shorts at all! Very disappointed. The shorts I recieved are completely different. They are beige and brown and no squares at all. They are ugly. Very sad. LOVE the squares, hate what I received. The fabric is also cool. Made in the USA which was a PLUS! Not a fair purchase. Must return and should get a full refund including shipping. Boo"
0points
12of 24voted this as helpful.
12next>>