Customer Reviews for Urban Renewal Destroyed Studded Short

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Urban Outfitters.

Urban Renewal Destroyed Studded Short

Urban Renewal Destroyed Studded Short
Average Customer Rating:
3.517 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(29 Reviews) 29
21 Based onout of 29(72%) reviewswould recommend to a friend.
Sort By: Customer Reviews for Urban Renewal Destroyed Studded Short
Review 1 for Urban Renewal Destroyed Studded Short
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reginageorgexx
Location: Bay Area, CA
Age: 18-24
Gender: Female

Ugh

(June 8, 2013)
"The shorts I got were soooo cute, they were just like the ones pictured. But the sizing....
I am 5'4" and weigh 125-130, so I got a medium (assuming they would fit like a 4-6) but they were SO BIG. I could pull the button like four inches away from me. Medium fits like a 6-8. I would have gotten them in a small but they're sold out :( Three stars because of the sizing, very hit or miss
"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Urban Renewal Destroyed Studded Short
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Fit
Runs large
Runs small
True to size
Runs large
MalloryBro
Location: San Diego, CA
Age: Under 18
Gender: Female

Great idea, bad execution.

(June 5, 2013)
"I was excited to see that these shorts were finally on sale so I purchased a small right away. When I got them in the mail, I was beyond disappointed. They were dark wash denim, they were awkward fitting (too tight around the crotch and loose around the waist) and they weren't even high waisted; they were below my belly button. Not to mention they run HUGE. I'm a size 2, 110 llbs. and they were still huge even after I shrank them in the wash. Overall a disappointment, would not recommend"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Urban Renewal Destroyed Studded Short
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
catsimon
Location: newburgh , IN
Age: 18-24
Gender: Female

Awesome shorts !

(May 28, 2013)
"This short is very lovely. The color is slightly different than the one in the picture, more to be a darker blue, but it still works for me. I usually in size 2 and the small one is fit me just good, but if you wanted to have a looser shorts, i would recommend size up. Hope this help !"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Urban Renewal Destroyed Studded Short
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Danas
Location: Silver Spring, MD
Age: 18-24
Gender: Female

OMG PERFECT

(April 6, 2013)
"At first I got these is S cause I thought XS would be too tight, but S turned out to big. So I returned it for an XS and it worked perfectlyat the waist, thigh and butt. Plus the studs looked amazing. Im 5,6'', weigh between 125-130."
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Urban Renewal Destroyed Studded Short
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
karate22jo
Location: Austin, TX
Age: 18-24
Gender: Female

Cute!.. but a little small

(September 28, 2012)
"I loved these shorts because they combined the vintage high waisted cut offs with studs that weren't way overdone. They fit a bit snug on me and I bought a small (I usually wear size 0-2) but I decided to keep them.
The more I wear them, the more comfortable they get.
"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Urban Renewal Destroyed Studded Short
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
ErinXoxo
Age: Under 18

Pretty, but didnt fit.

(September 26, 2012)
"I ordered these and got them about a month later, and they were too small; they looked really pretty, though! Based on reviews I thought i'd be an XS but I guess im more of an S. I returned them and since theyre pretty expensive I don't think i'll be re-ordering them... :("
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Urban Renewal Destroyed Studded Short
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
HeatherNiko
Location: Austin, TX
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female

dissapointed..

(September 26, 2012)
"I know that with urban renewal it's always hit or miss, and i read the reviews before i ordered these shorts.. but I just couldnt help myself, they were just SO perfect in the picture. I guess I was too hopeful. The shorts came in a very dark denim color. Which is completely opposite from what I was looking for. Also, from reading the reviews I decided to go with a size S (I am 103 lb, 5"4) and they were huge, I mean literally fell right off of me. Just so dissapointing. I really wish I could just get what is in the picture!!!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Urban Renewal Destroyed Studded Short
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
DuckGirl
Location: California
Age: Under 18
Gender: Female

So so-- probably not for short people...

(September 9, 2012)
"Firstly, with urban renewal, you should know what you're getting yourself into- every product is different! Don't get the shorts if you're expecting what is in the picture. Mine were a darker denim and a bit more shredded than the pair on the model. I'm 5'1" and ordered the small (though i'm usually XS), which fit fine. My only problem is that they're not as short as they look on the model which makes the high waist less obvious and makes me look shorter :-/ . Also, they are kind of loose around my thighs, and it is so hard to find shirts to wear them with! I think a tight/fitted shirt (tee or tank) works best. Just keep in mind that the fit will probably vary with each pair, so don't base your opinion off of just one review!"
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Urban Renewal Destroyed Studded Short
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Fit
Runs large
Runs small
True to size
Runs large
mcgi
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Age: 18-24
Gender: Female
Body Type: Slim

It's hugeeee

(July 24, 2012)
"I wear XS everything but since many of the high rise shorts this season are cheeky shorts, I was thinking maybe Size S would be better for covering my butt. These shorts are crazy big. Then I realized, these were actually Levi's shorts and it stated on the tags "size 29"... Uh... I returned it and wondered why didn't UO use the actual sizing on the website."
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Urban Renewal Destroyed Studded Short
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Fit
Runs large
Runs small
True to size
Runs large
jaymq
Location: lake george, ny
Age: 18-24
Gender: Female
Body Type: Athletic

TOO BIG

(July 21, 2012)
"I ordered a small thinking they would still be alittle big and they were HUGE. The shorts were super cute but there is not way I would even fit into an extra small. This is coming from a girl who is approximately 5'7 and weighs about 115lbs."
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Urban Renewal Destroyed Studded Short
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Fit
Runs a little large
Runs small
True to size
Runs large
mgl3
Age: 18-24
Gender: Female
Body Type: Athletic

Hit or miss

(July 10, 2012)
"I LOVE these shorts but NOT on. They are super awkward in the crotch. They don't have a zipper, rather 4 big buttons which are NEVER flattering on a woman. However, I don't have hips/ curves what so ever so it just bunched up in the crotch when I tried them on while walking and looked baggy( in a bad way). I bought them originally bc I saw a girl wearing them and loved them on her even though I did notice it did the awkward mom jean look front and back. Definitely depends on your body type!"
+2points
5of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Urban Renewal Destroyed Studded Short
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
nicole2313
Location: New Jersey
Age: 18-24
Gender: Female

In love

(July 1, 2012)
"I just bought these shorts in the store and it was one of the only pairs left. It doesnt have a size on it so im not sure what it is but it fits perfect. Between the color, distressed parts, high waisted, and studs they're the perfect shorts. Overall in love"
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Urban Renewal Destroyed Studded Short
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit
True to size
Runs small
True to size
Runs large
siaraknaughty
Location: wisconsin
Age: Under 18
Gender: Female
Body Type: Slim

starstruck

(June 21, 2012)
"i know your taking a risk by ordering urban renewal clothes...but its a risk im so glad i took. best jeans i own i am buying them in the light color right meow. JUST DO IT. so worth the price."
-2points
2of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Urban Renewal Destroyed Studded Short
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
graciee
Location: San Francisco, CA
Age: Under 18
Gender: Female

Simply Perfect Vintage Studded Shorts

(June 19, 2012)
"I was so excited to receive these shorts, and was not disappointed when I got them in the mail. They are amazing, perfect, classic cutoffs; a little shorter in the front to show off your legs and longer in the back to not cut off you butt! I ordered them in the light wash denim shade and think they are amazing. The fraying/shredded area in the front looks great and the studs add an edgy vibe. These are super high waisted but have concealed buttons (5 to be exact!), making them not look frumpy at all. My only complaint is these are priced a little high, I think 50 dollars would be a little more reasonable. For sizing I thought long and hard about before ordering. I have a size 24 waist but after reading reviews I was not sure whether to buy the XS or S. Also, since these are Urban Renewal it's hard to get consistency in sizing. I went to my local UO to investigate and found an XS black pair of these. They fit my waist fine but were a little tight and cut off too high on my butt. In the end I purchased these online in a small! They fit great maybe a size too big, but they're definitely not loose on me. (They could be tighter, but I'm happy.) I can't wait to start wearing these this summer!"
My Photos
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Urban Renewal Destroyed Studded Short
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
rach93

perfect

(June 15, 2012)
"these shorts are the perfect length and they fit just right, not too tight not to loose! you can dress it up any way you want"
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Urban Renewal Destroyed Studded Short
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
JaimeAA
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Age: 18-24
Gender: Female
Body Type: Average

FINALLY!! 3rd time is a charm for sizing...

(June 12, 2012)
"I ordered a Small, they came and they were huge, I exchanged them via mail for a an Extra Small, they came, and were impossibly tiny. I really love the look of them so I thought why not give it one more chance. I ordered a small again, this time noting on my exchange form that I wanted as close to a size 26 as possible. (I'm 5'3" 115 lbs and usually wear 25 or 26 in levis) I'm not sure if that was what did the trick but when they came today they are perfect!! Love them!"
My Photos
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+10points
11of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Urban Renewal Destroyed Studded Short
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fit
Runs a little large
Runs small
True to size
Runs large
Anonymous
Location: houston, tx
Age: Under 18
Gender: Female
Body Type: Slim

cute but weird sizing

(June 8, 2012)
"i first ordered it in an xs but when it came it was so tight so i ordered it in a small from reading the reviews and it was okay but the legs fit very loose. the xs wouldn't even button up though. but each ones made differently because the xs was dark wash and the small was very light wash. on my tag it was wide leg though so im thinking about reordering a small and hoping its not wide leg. but besides the weird sizing they're to die for. im 110 pounds and 5'7."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Urban Renewal Destroyed Studded Short
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Fit
Runs a little large
Runs small
True to size
Runs large
amber27
Location: Texas
Age: 18-24
Gender: Female
Body Type: Slim

So sad they aren't better :(

(June 7, 2012)
"I got these shorts in an XS and I absolutely LOVE the idea/look of them. They do run large on me I am 5'4 and 105 lbs. My biggest problem is the button fly comes undone EVERY single time I sit down...its like the holes are stretched out so every time I move the buttons slip out...I'm trying to figure out a way to sew them smaller. Also the area near the butt is so worn through that the fabric is sooooo thin I've already had to patch it. I am keeping them but I think they are a little more expensive than they are worth."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Urban Renewal Destroyed Studded Short
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Fit
Runs small
Runs small
True to size
Runs large
pirateslife
Location: United States
Age: 18-24
Gender: Female
Body Type: Average

Pretty disappointed...

(May 25, 2012)
"These shorts are so awesome, I've had my eye on the black ones for such a long time. Perfect vintage-rock shorts I can find...but I just received them in the mail and they look so much more of a gray than black. I'm so disappointed because the picture looks black! Or even at least dark gray! The lighting in my room is even dark, so they're probably worse in the daylight and will probably even fade! They do run a tad small, I'm 5'8" and weigh 150 lbs. Most of my weight goes anywhere BUT my legs and the large just fits, tightening up when I sit down. Love them, but I'm almost ready to exchange hoping to get back a darker pair ..... I recommend them, but they could be so much better. Especially since they're $79!! I wish there was a way to make them darker!!!"
My Photos
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Urban Renewal Destroyed Studded Short
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Fit
Runs small
Runs small
True to size
Runs large
EJGe

TINYYYYYY

(May 24, 2012)
"So I am a (small) size 4, and ordered these in a medium and they did not even come clost to buttoning up!!!! Unless I received a freakishly small pair, order them in L (at least) if you have any hips at all. So disappointing."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12next>>