Customer Reviews for Staring at Stars Maxi Tank Top Dress

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Urban Outfitters.

Staring at Stars Maxi Tank Top Dress

Staring at Stars Maxi Tank Top Dress
Average Customer Rating:
4.645 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(31 Reviews) 31
31 Based onout of 31(100%) reviewswould recommend to a friend.
Sort By: Customer Reviews for Staring at Stars Maxi Tank Top Dress
Review 1 for Staring at Stars Maxi Tank Top Dress
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mystique

Minor alteration= <3 <3 <3

(March 9, 2013)
"I got the blue and white pattern, which is quite flattering in person. The material is suuuper comfy. I am 5'4" and the length is just right. I did have to have the straps shortened A LOT."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Staring at Stars Maxi Tank Top Dress
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lauren333
Location: Astoria, NY
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female

My favorite!

(January 29, 2013)
"I'm so in love with this dress! Perfect for short girls - I'm 5'1 and the only thing I had to alter on this dress was the too-long straps so my boobs didn't fall out. I do wear black shorts under it because it's sort of sheer on sunny days (the beigey-tribal print color), but I don't mind. The material is beautiful and I received compliments from both men and women every time I wore it. I didn't like the other prints very much so I only bought one, but I hope they make more for 2013 in various other prints, I will buy them all at full price so I can wear them all the time!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Staring at Stars Maxi Tank Top Dress
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
blueyedbrunette
Location: dc
Age: 18-24
Gender: Female

perfect dress for summer

(December 30, 2012)
"this runs a little big but i absolutely love it. i wish it was on sale when i bought it! it's super soft and stretchy with a great pattern. i got it in the black and white in size xs. it runs a little big, i'm normally a small."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Staring at Stars Maxi Tank Top Dress
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
briichee
Location: montreal, quebec
Age: 18-24
Gender: Female

Straps too long-but otherwise, cute!

(December 13, 2012)
"Tried it on and fell in love, despite the much too long of straps. I tie the straps in the back to make it not look so bad.
I'm fairly skinny-- 109 lbs at 5'4" so I thought the dress would look awful on me with my skinniness and wide shoulders, but I was happily surprised that it actually looked good on me.
I'm wearing jeggings on underneath cause I was too lazy to take em off."
My Photos
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Staring at Stars Maxi Tank Top Dress
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
margohh
Age: Under 18
Gender: Female

Great for Petites

(November 7, 2012)
"So I normally have a very hard time finding maxis that are the right length for me, (I'm 5 feet as of now) but this maxi was the perfect length, I ordered an XS in the "grey" and it fit me perfectly. The fabric is slinky but very flattering and I got tons of compliments. My only complaint about this dress was that it is WAY too low! I had to get it tailored so it wouldn't fall down all day. Overall, gorgeous dress!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Staring at Stars Maxi Tank Top Dress
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
kungfufi
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female

perfect for petite sized

(September 26, 2012)
"I am a 5" 110lb mother of two and it is usually really difficult to find maxi that I do not need to alter the hem, also with a short torso I find I usually wear stretchy materialed clothes. Imagine my surprise when I tried this on and know I will not need to alter it!
It is like others said it is very very form fitting and it hugs every curve of your body, but the material is so soft and light and extremely stretchy, it does not make you look like you are squeezed like a sausage. I actually find it is tight in a flattering kinda way. Now it does make me look like I am 4 months pregnant, but that is how my tummy looks like anyways and that part of me does not embarrass me much anyways (see picture)
Other mentioned about the neckline being too low, however on me it did not seem like a problem, maybe there is not much cleavage there, so it did not pose a problem for me, you cannot see my bra from the front, what I have a little problem with is the back, I wish it was just 1 inch higher so that it covers my bra, right now the back just sits below my bra which makes it slightly annoying."
My Photos
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Staring at Stars Maxi Tank Top Dress
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
fashn4wrd

Sexy but a bit cheap in quality

(September 26, 2012)
"I love this dress. Quite form fitting and always gets compliments whenever I wear it. My only gripe is that the color runs when you hand wash it so beware! I hope the black color that has bled onto the lighter areas comes off with the next wash! Also, it has started to pill after wearing just 5 times. I guess that's what you get for the price.
I'm 5'6 , 123 and the size small fits perfectly."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Staring at Stars Maxi Tank Top Dress
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Hill123
Location: San Diego, CA
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female

Love!

(September 4, 2012)
"Such a cute dress, great Maxi. Fits snug like other reviewers have said and it pretty much shows every little curve, so if you're self conscious maybe size up or wear spanx or something like that underneath. I'm 5'6" and about 125lbs and ordered a Small. Fits perfectly."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Staring at Stars Maxi Tank Top Dress
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fit
Runs a little small
Runs small
True to size
Runs large
france7531
Location: princeton, NJ
Age: Under 18
Gender: Female
Body Type: Slim

love this dress, but taller ladies beware!

(August 25, 2012)
"i'm 5'7'' around 123 lbs, 32 D, small waist and kind of a butt. bought the dress in my normal size, size S, and it was perfect- hugged my curves beautifully. if you don't mind showing every little bump on your body, order your normal size. if you're a little more conservative, size up. caution though: i normally like to have my maxi dresses touch the tops of my toes and this one couldnt even reach my ankles. sizing up didnt work, the medium was too baggy and still too short. but the navy/ orange pattern was so beautiful and looked so good on me i bought it anyway. i'll get a seamstress to add some more fabric on the end or something. strongly recommend this dress."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Staring at Stars Maxi Tank Top Dress
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fit
Runs a little large
Runs small
True to size
Runs large
malosa
Gender: Female

Cute but really low

(August 16, 2012)
"In the photo shown, the top shows that its low. but since the dress is a really stretchy material it was realllllllyyy low on me. im 5'1 with a small bust and i had to tailor the stapes. Over all though, the dress material is exactly what ive wanted and the print is so cute. I got the first color, (brown). so prettyy for summer <3"
My Photos
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Staring at Stars Maxi Tank Top Dress
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit
Runs a little small
Runs small
True to size
Runs large
Court18
Age: Under 18
Gender: Female
Body Type: Slim

The perfect maxi!

(July 27, 2012)
"This dress is a beaut. I ordered the black and white color and it's lovely. It works for so many occasions. I had ordered the small originally but had to return it for a medium because it does run a little tight. So maybe order a size up. But other than that I have had no problems."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Staring at Stars Maxi Tank Top Dress
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
marcelein
Location: santiago,chile
Age: 18-24
Gender: Female
Body Type: Slim

Color not expected.

(July 20, 2012)
"The fit is great, but as some reviewers say, you must be very skinny because the fabric sticks to your flaws.
The bad part of this dress, is that I bought the "red" one I saw on the photos, but to my surprise I received a blue and orange-gold dress.. still cute, but nothing like I had imagined :c
"
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Staring at Stars Maxi Tank Top Dress
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Karebear23
Location: Boston, MA
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
Body Type: Slim

Lovely breezy summer dress

(July 5, 2012)
"This is my first maxi ever. I always thought maxis weren't for me, I'm thin with moderate curves and maxi's always seemed either too long or had too much fabric in places. I slipped this dress on and it fit like a glove. Lovely scoop in the front and back. The fabric is soft and breezy, perfect for hot summer days, and the design is cool (I have the blue one). I love how it cinches slightly in the back to accentuate the lower back. Fabulous!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Staring at Stars Maxi Tank Top Dress
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
xxhk
Location: NY, NY
Age: 18-24
Gender: Female
Body Type: Slim

good for the summer

(July 5, 2012)
"i bought the black pattern. although in the picture it looks like black/white, in person it's more black/taupe. it is a nice pattern though and it's very comfy, perfect for the summer. however, as cute as this dress is, i don't think it's worth $54 because the material isn't anything out of the ordinary. i bought it when it was on sale for $39, and used a coupon code so i got it for around $30. it is somewhat low cut so your bra might show. if you don't feel comfortable without a bra, than i suggest wearing one that's a balconet style so it won't show. i bought a size small, so this dress still form fitting but isn't skin tight. i'm 5'5, 110 lbs for reference."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Staring at Stars Maxi Tank Top Dress
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Spodie1015
Location: Laurel, MD
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
Body Type: Average

Perfection!

(June 29, 2012)
"This dress is fantastic! Perfectly flattering from the soft well made material, to the fit, and to the design. I can imagine it complimenting any figure. I will be purchasing in all colors :)"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Staring at Stars Maxi Tank Top Dress
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Lysabeth
Location: Texas
Age: 55-65
Gender: Female
Body Type: Athletic

Over 5'6"

(June 23, 2012)
"This is a lovely dress, just a little tight for my 150lbs and it runs short for my height. I wish it fit me to my liking, thus sadly not a keeper."
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Staring at Stars Maxi Tank Top Dress
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CMJM
Location: burlington vt
Age: 25-34

Comfy and clingy

(June 21, 2012)
"Love this dress! it is so soft and comfortable. It is not the most forgiving cut or fabric, but I do love it. One reviewer said it has a built-in bra, but it doesn't really. It has a bit of a shelf-cami but there's no band around your ribs to keep the girls up. I'm a 32C and can get away with a braless look but not in this one--though it's easy to wear a bra with, and gives you great cleavage. I love this maxi. If you've got flaws to camouflage, this might not be your best bet, but maybe sizing up would help."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Staring at Stars Maxi Tank Top Dress
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
deniselife1
Location: Arizona
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
Body Type: Athletic

Love it!

(June 20, 2012)
"The jersey material of this dress is lovely and it fits perfect. I'm ordering it in the black. I got the blue/red one. Don't hesitate, get this dress! You will not be dissapointed. Great go to dress for any occasion. I'm 5'9 145lbs..got the large. Fits wonderfully!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Staring at Stars Maxi Tank Top Dress
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jlp0824
Location: FL
Age: Under 18
Gender: Female
Body Type: Curvy

perfection.

(June 15, 2012)
"the ONLY complaint I have is that the straps are a little long. other than that, gorgeous dress. doesn't drag on the floor, even barefoot! shows off my back. and umm I look like an hourglass with a butt. fits like a glove, just like everyone else has been saying!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Staring at Stars Maxi Tank Top Dress
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Aneta73
Location: Oak Brook, IL
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
Body Type: Slim

Great maxi dress

(June 3, 2012)
"This dress is amazing. I've been looking for maxi dress for while, and since I'm 5 ft 1, 100 lbs, it was not easy. This dress fits perfectly and hugs all curves like glove. The top is a it low cut and the straps are a little to long for me so I will take apart the straps trim a little and sew back together.
Anyway, great buy."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
12next>>