Customer Reviews for PX 680 Color Shade First Flush Instant Film By Impossible Project

PX 680 Color Shade First Flush Instant Film By Impossible Project

PX 680 Color Shade First Flush Instant Film By Impossible Project
Average Customer Rating:
2.889 out of 5
2.9
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
10 Based onout of 18(56%) reviewswould recommend to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
8 Questions | 27 Answers
Sort By: Customer Reviews for PX 680 Color Shade First Flush Instant Film By Impossible Project
Review 1 for PX 680 Color Shade First Flush Instant Film By Impossible Project
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
betsyismyname

okay purchase

(November 20, 2012)
"i used this film for my polaroid and four of the eight worked perfectly. the other pictures were half developed or had weird spots on them. the black and white film works much better in my opinion."
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for PX 680 Color Shade First Flush Instant Film By Impossible Project
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
mamabirdlars
Location: Norfolk, VA
Age: 18-24
Gender: Female

ew.

(November 19, 2012)
"I've had many, many beautiful Polaroid shots come out, so I know i'm not the problem. This film is horrible. All of the corners of the pictures look like they're bleeding ink into the image that you can't see anyway because the film is so bad. I've tried every type of lighting and followed the exact directions of using the film. I actually think i'm going to e-mail the manufacturer. Also, too expensize. Meh."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for PX 680 Color Shade First Flush Instant Film By Impossible Project
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Peachy2
Location: Boulder, CO
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female

Depressed

(November 11, 2012)
"I have been taking polaroids for years and have accumulated hundreds of memories with them and was really sad when they stopped making the film so of course i was excited to see Urban had film and so i bought some even though the price seemed outrageous for only 8 exposures.
The first 4 photos i took turned out real well, though they were yellowy and orangey and I had expected this but then the camera wouldn't take anymore pictures...
I paid $28 for 4 pictures.
I would not recommend this film.
Polaroids do not run on batteries, they run off of the film so if the film is this expired, sometimes, like what happened with mine, the film can't supply enough energy and it just quits.
I'm so disappointed!
Anyway, the picture included is one of the four pictures i got to take and it turned out pretty good which is why i gave this 2 stars instead of 1."
My Photos
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for PX 680 Color Shade First Flush Instant Film By Impossible Project
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
KaylaON

Waste of $$

(September 19, 2012)
"Both my roommate and I bought this film for our polaroid cameras. Only one picture came out ok. We tried different lighting and rooms, and it looks like navy ink or something has run over it. I'm sticking to ebay from now on."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for PX 680 Color Shade First Flush Instant Film By Impossible Project
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
billh
Location: raleigh, nc

enjoyed using it

(June 5, 2012)
"you have to be careful with it, like any film from The Impossible Project (TIP).
but most irksome to me is that UO wants to charge $5 above what you can get it directly from TIP. it makes no sense."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for PX 680 Color Shade First Flush Instant Film By Impossible Project
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
karentg
Location: San Francisco, CA
Age: 18-24
Gender: Female

Photos are fine, the price is not

(May 17, 2012)
"So on regards of recommending this film, I would, especially if it's your last resort. Because if there are better polaroid films out there, I would recommend buying those before you buy this one.
A lot of people complain about the lighting but I didn't have any problems with it. My pictures actually come out bright enough but still leaves that vintage looking feeling.
Overall, this film is extremely overpriced and with only, I believe, 8 photos? The only reason why I wouldn't recommend this product is because it's so expensive and doesn't come with many exposures. But other than that, I don't have any problems with my pictures.
"
My Photos
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for PX 680 Color Shade First Flush Instant Film By Impossible Project
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sqsme
Gender: Female

Too Unreliable and OVERPRICED

(March 27, 2012)
"Your photos will come out DARK. It says to cover it as soon as it comes out, but don't unless you are in bright sunlight. (Even fluorescent lights can come out too dark.)
It says something in the directions about if its too hot or cold, the pictures will be too dark or light respectively. This is true. And I'm not talking it has to be 100 degrees, I mean if you let your photos develop in 75 degree weather on a surface that retains heat you won't be able to see ANYTHING.
Also I would NEVER buy 10 exposures for over $20. I got this as a gift, and I think its ridiculous to pay $2 for a photo, that has crummy quality. This is why instant film is dying out!
For reference I have a Polaroid Impulse. Many of my problems with picture quality are probably due to the camera not the film."
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for PX 680 Color Shade First Flush Instant Film By Impossible Project
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
MrsPlank
Location: OH
Gender: Female

Make Sure You Have Lots Of Light

(February 14, 2012)
"It's really really hard to capture the colors with this film if you aren't in the right lighting.
It's a little bit over priced and it came with 10 pictures.
I had my own Polaroid that was a 640 series.
It was really fun to take these with my boyfriend though!
"
My Photos
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for PX 680 Color Shade First Flush Instant Film By Impossible Project
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
kades

Dont know if I'd get these again...

(February 10, 2012)
"Ehhhh can't decide if i'd try these again. So far only one has come out all the others have turned pink and didnt develop. Been told Im doing everything right maybe its the camera...but reading the other reviews it doesnt sound like im the only one have these problems. Hopng these turn out worth it. I was really excited..."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for PX 680 Color Shade First Flush Instant Film By Impossible Project
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
EmAHart
Location: Fayetteville, AR
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female

On the Fence

(February 9, 2012)
"I absolutely love polaroid film! I've had a polaroid for about 8 years, and haven't been able to use it for at least 4! So you can understand my excitement when I found these. A few things that are much much differenet that all the polaroid pictures I currently have from the same camera *newfilm*; dark undertones, grainy look (this can definatley be benifical if you are going for that look), overall color isn't near as bright, the film takes much longer to develop in front of your eyes, doesn't work in SUN?!!! I was initially hesitant about spending sooo much on soo little film, but bit the bullet. When I took my camera to Devils Den for a photo opp on an outdoors adventure, I was very upset when those two never fully developed :( I'm guessing it was due to the sunlight. However, I plan on finding the perfect dim scenery to capture the last few pictures!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for PX 680 Color Shade First Flush Instant Film By Impossible Project
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Alz00
Location: SLC

Wonderfull

(January 8, 2012)
"So sad you have to pay so much for eight photos, But I feel like it's worth while. The pictures I took close up look a lot better then the pictures I took of the atmosphere.. It also takes for ever to develop, and at first I thought there was something wrong with the film. Also, The pictures that I have taken so far have a weird inch wide shading mess up on the right side of the photo. Like it's shaded darker then the wrest of the picture. Over all, I'm really happy with it. It was a present to me."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for PX 680 Color Shade First Flush Instant Film By Impossible Project
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sarawrrr

Slightly confused.

(January 5, 2012)
"I cant really tell what my problem is... I shield my picture and I keep it covered but my pictures are hardly developed to look like something, and if they do develop they arent nearly as colorful as people are making them seem. I might as well buy the silver shade its that bad. I think its my camera so I bought a new one still in the box at a thrift store and the film pack didnt even register... is it my camera or the film? I still kinda love the way it looks old/weathered and the stories behind my pictures (when i use my older camera).
IN GENERAL, i will keep using this film and learning more about it to become more comfortable with it. People just dont appreciate this stuff anymore and its very heart-breaking.
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for PX 680 Color Shade First Flush Instant Film By Impossible Project
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ArtCandy
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female

in love with polaroid

(December 29, 2011)
"I am so glad I purchased one of the refurbished polaroid cameras by impossible project through urban outfitters while they were available. I've been using this colour film so far and it's been a learning process. It took me a whole pack of film to realise that you need to HOLD the button down until it takes a picture, not just press it quickly and let go. Next I'll try the silver shade. There are lots of camera shops around that you can buy film and accessories for the Polaroid (like the dry age kit) as well as have someone knowledgable have a look at your camera and film results. There are lots of tips and tutorials online at theimpossibleproject.com and elsewhere, just search! You need to consider the temperature of the film while it develops and keep your picture COVERED for the first 3-4 minutes while it develops! If you want to try this film and missed out on the Polaroid cameras at Urban Outfitters, you can buy them online, in camera shops and at impossible project. Happy Photographing!"
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for PX 680 Color Shade First Flush Instant Film By Impossible Project
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Presque
Location: Los Angeles,California
Age: 18-24
Gender: Female

Grainy photographs

(December 11, 2011)
"I'm an avid user of Polaroids, so when they went out of business I was devastated. I was so excited that the impossible project save the Polaroid. However, the new photos are super sensitive to light so you need to follow the instructions on the box but I had many difficulties getting the image I wanted. Most of my photos came out grainy and was not please with the results. Also, my main problem with this new formula is that one of the main joys of having Polaroids is watching it develop in front of you. The new formula doesn't allow for that but if it wasn't for this company Polaroids would have ceased to exist. So, I'm on the fence about these Polaroids just be well informed before purchasing."
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for PX 680 Color Shade First Flush Instant Film By Impossible Project
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MRJAY
Location: California
Age: 25-34
Gender: Male

Problems.

(November 13, 2011)
"I had a lot of problems with shading these films the very first time I bought their films and the very first time they started producing them. You need to keep in mind that this isn't the original Polaroid formula/chemicals, they had to re-do everything from scratch, so each shot is sensitive to light for the first 4-6 minutes of ejection. The last Polaroid factory in the world is owned by the Impossible Project. We're lucky to still have something we can put in our Polaroid cameras. Make sure you take the time to do research and read up on these films before you buy them, or you'll have disappointing results. I've gotten the hang of these films, and have gotten some really good photos."
My Photos
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for PX 680 Color Shade First Flush Instant Film By Impossible Project
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Jacquline
Location: Saint Augustine, FL
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female

Before you buy...

(November 2, 2011)
"I had the same problem as the last reviews. The film either came out grainy or slightly discolored. I was really excited to have film for my polaroid again but for $28 I'm not so sure it's worth it. Plus, you only get 8 photos per pack of film. At least with polaroid you got 10. Still, I'm glad someone's trying to bring back polaroid film."
My Photos
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+9points
11of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for PX 680 Color Shade First Flush Instant Film By Impossible Project
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
xharlex

Had a similiar experience

(November 1, 2011)
"I was having the same problem with my photos turning white however I went on their website and realized that you are actually supposed to shield the image from light and turn it upside down immediately for at least 4 minutes before exposing it to any light. I think it's annoying that they don't include this information on the packaging, I wasted several sheets of film before I went to their website. I am still not very impressed with the outcome of the images but they do look better than before."
+13points
15of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for PX 680 Color Shade First Flush Instant Film By Impossible Project
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
misagirl
Location: CALIFORNIA
Age: 18-24
Gender: Female

Bad experience

(October 26, 2011)
"I only say I wouldnt recommend the film because I think you need the camera with it. I have a perfectly good working 600 film polaroid camera that ive had for a long time and this film didn't work in it. I exposed it properly and didn't shake the image or touch the front or back of it. It came out blue and then it came out all white with a slight image. It's fun to do, but it was a bad experience for me and theres no way I can afford the camera."
+5points
11of 17voted this as helpful.