Customer Reviews for Art School Readers

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Urban Outfitters.

Art School Readers

Art School Readers
Average Customer Rating:
3.692 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
11 Based onout of 13(85%) reviewswould recommend to a friend.
Sort By: Customer Reviews for Art School Readers
Review 1 for Art School Readers
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Heatherrooroo
Location: Carrollton,TX
Gender: Female

Nice but really didn't look like the picture

(November 22, 2012)
"They were much boxier in person. They also do not look like the same color as in the picture. The white ones I ordered looked very grey. They aren't bad if you like this style, just wasn't for me! I do like the details on the side of the frames:) Happy Holidays everyone!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Art School Readers
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
SeanFL
Location: Japan
Age: 25-34
Gender: Male

Cheap.

(November 1, 2012)
"Received these yesterday, looked good however within one day the cheap construction of these frames gave way, with the glasses only used at my desk.
One screw has fallen out already with also the silver detail on one of the arms has fallen out too.
Can't trust it.
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Art School Readers
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BloopBloop
Location: Chicago
Age: 25-34
Gender: Male

Great Change

(August 21, 2012)
"If you're looking for a quick change to your look, these frames are for you. The price is great, handle with some care and you won't need a more expensive commitment. The frames aren't overbearing and they provide some intellectual charm. I have both colors and think they're swell!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Art School Readers
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
JCMA
Location: Houston, TX
Gender: Male

Reviewing the Reader

(June 20, 2012)
"I own more than my fair share of eye-wear.
From bargain bin frames to expensive frames, my collection runs the gamut of casual, style, sport, and Rx.
With that much said. I've provided a visual aid for measurement so that you can assess how these unique frames will fit you.
I've chosen to compare them to Ray-Ban 2132 because they're similarly sized.
Also, the Art School Reader's predecessor frame, The Heath Reader is shown.
The Art School Reader and The Heath Reader are practically identical, so people looking to replace their older Heath Reader frames, this Art School frame should suffice.
The key differences between the Art School and Heaths are the hinges on the Art School frame are smaller and painted over, and the front profile of the new Art School frame descends towards the front cheek bones at a slightly stronger angle, I'd guestimate a difference of about 3 degrees, giving the Art School Reader a more aggressive feel.
For me, the finish of the Art School Reader was, as to be expected, pretty cheap. The paint and gloss aren't nearly as refined as what you get with some Ray-bans. When the grey paint scratches it's pretty noticeable. But the frames wrap around tightly, and there was no sliding off my face, which should make them wearable under any number of conditions and physical activities.
I have not worn these for extended periods of time, so based on my brief trial run I think they're worth considering if you need something stylish and inexpensive. Just remember you are getting what you pay for with these frames and the tight fit around the ears may become uncomfortable during prolonged periods of wear.
I'd really like it if they produced a matte black version without the silver accents, I'd pay twice the price if that style was made available. Some other color alternatives would be nice too. But a matte black would kill."
+2points
6of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Art School Readers
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
Location: Chicago mane
Age: 25-34
Gender: Male

Awesome

(June 13, 2012)
"I was looking for a new item to accessorize my look and I stumbled upon these bad boys. I can safely say after a couple of weeks of rocking these and the compliments I got from the ladies that these are a hit. They fit differently depending on the persons face structure but are comfortable. As everyone else has said they are big but that is the look I was going for."
My Photos
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Art School Readers
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Marcello
Age: 18-24
Gender: Male

My awesome frames ;)

(June 11, 2012)
"Let me tell ya the reason why to get these frames =) Because they are super stylish and could be worn anywhere & They have this nice shiny black coating that makes the glasses look more distinct & Yess the glasses appear smaller on screen but its a pretty nice big frame, But dont worry about that! You'll make it up in personality when people see how awesome you look."
My Photos
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Art School Readers
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
nolfy
Location: Columbus, OH
Age: 18-24
Gender: Male

Terrible

(June 4, 2012)
"What a waste of time. Ugly, poor quality, totally misrepresented. Overpriced. Avoid like the plague."
-9points
1of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Art School Readers
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
plutorox

Glasses.

(April 1, 2012)
"The picture makes the frames look a lot smaller than they really are, but they are cool glasses. I wanted to find some that were small to wear in everyday situations. They don't really suit me well enough, but I feel they could for one of my friends. I really like them though."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Art School Readers
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
SafRev
Location: vt
Age: 18-24
Gender: Male

Bigger than I expected

(March 16, 2012)
"I bought these a few months ago, and they were bigger than they seemed online. I was looking for something small and understated, but these are definitely meant to be oversized. I can see how the look would work for some people, but it didn't for me, and I ended up giving them to a friend. They look great on him, though he said can't wear them for extended periods without getting a headache. So: nice glasses, but you'll probably want to pass them up if you're looking for something thin, or if you have sensitive eyes."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Art School Readers
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
IzzeTX
Location: TX
Age: 25-34
Gender: Male

I like them

(February 5, 2012)
"Good color. I didnt notice the metal bars on the side of the frames, I'd prefer without them. Still, im happy with the glasses."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Art School Readers
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
NAmster93
Location: Franklin Square (Nassau County, Long Island), NY
Age: 18-24
Gender: Male

Really Cool

(January 28, 2012)
"I really like them. Some of my friends like them too. They are big but not extremely huge on the face. They give you that "Art Chic College Student" look. My one complaint is that the sides sometimes press in on my head. Otherwise they are really cool."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Art School Readers
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DrewJ
Location: Atlanta Georgia
Age: Under 18
Gender: Male

Worth It!

(January 19, 2012)
"Glasses really dont do my face any justice,but i saw these a while back online and i finally purchased them, the first time i stepped out in them i received a lot of compliments. these glasses fit my face, it makes me look like someone with class, overall it will complete any outfit you put together whether its casual, business, school uniform etc. ITS A MUST HAVE!!!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Art School Readers
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
CookieFace
Location: Portland, OR
Age: 18-24
Gender: Male

Stand-Out Artsy

(September 19, 2011)
"Wicked entertaining glasses. A must have for a unique wardrobe / repertoire. Perfect for any occasion. I would rate these a 5 if not for two small objections. 1) They are a tad more gray then the white I was expecting from the photo (though i'm growing to prefer them that way) and 2) They are a tad tight and can cause a headache (at least for me) if worn for too long. I prefer them for parties and dances, though just about anything works with readers like these."
+21points
22of 23voted this as helpful.