Customer Reviews for Silky Printed Dress

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Urban Outfitters.

Silky Printed Dress

Silky Printed Dress
Average Customer Rating:
3.5 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
11 Based onout of 16(69%) reviewswould recommend to a friend.
Sort By: Customer Reviews for Silky Printed Dress
Review 1 for Silky Printed Dress
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
KimmiA
Location: Greenwich, CT
Age: 18-24
Gender: Female

This dress is so pretty

(October 22, 2012)
"So in love with this dress! Looks perfect. I got this in a medium in the muli colored rainbow pattern and its just so pretty. I have gotten so many complements and it fits perfect."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Silky Printed Dress
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rece
Location: NY
Age: 18-24
Gender: Female

Adorable and versatile

(September 24, 2012)
"When I first got this in the mail I was worried that the top would be see-through because it is not lined like the bottom is but it's no problem if you wear a skin-toned bra. The material feels rough to the touch but is comfortable to wear. I'm 5'2 128 pounds and the small fit perfectly. The pattern and color is absolutely gorgeous. It looks great plain or with a belt. I wore this to a food and wine festival and got complimented by multiple strangers, and unfortunately saw someone else wearing the same exact dress. But she looked great in it too so I guess it's rightfully a popular dress!"
My Photos
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Silky Printed Dress
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
lovewins
Age: 18-24
Gender: Female

pretty patterns, but fit weird

(September 23, 2012)
"I ordered this online but had to return it. I ordered my usual size, but the fit was all wrong."
-7points
0of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Silky Printed Dress
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hallie1997
Age: Under 18
Gender: Female

Love!!!

(September 9, 2012)
"I just got this dress and it is adorable! It's school appropriate(finger tip llength- I have very long arms) and I can't stop wearing it! I'm 5'1 and 100lbs"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Silky Printed Dress
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ForeverUO
Location: atlanta, GA
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female

bought 2

(September 2, 2012)
"i bought both the black & white and rose in XS (5'0, 34C,110lbs). it fit perfectly. i didn't see the issue from the previous view stating the dress rose when she lifted her arm. i love it!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Silky Printed Dress
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
bangie

Lovely

(August 31, 2012)
"I got this in an xs, in the purple-ish color, it fit just as it looks. The only thing i don't like is how the top half is see-through but thats easily fixed with a tank top underneath. I wear it out and to work all the time."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Silky Printed Dress
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
indiebird

graphic?

(November 28, 2011)
"not sure why but i didn't expect this dress to look so pixelated, almost like a graphic tee. very cute but the elastic waist is a bit bothersome.. great with a sweater over!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Silky Printed Dress
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Fit
Runs small
Runs small
True to size
Runs large
tkbbygirl
Location: South florida
Age: 18-24
Gender: Female

Not so great :/

(November 23, 2011)
"Ok, so i've been eyeing this dress for a long time. Finally it went on sale, I've read the reviews but decided to take a chance on it hoping it would work out. The waistline is not crooked on mine, and the color is more of a purple (which I love). The dress is only lined below the waist and it's really tight. I'm normally a medium in urban outfitters clothes and I couldn't even get this dress over my chest. Disappointed, I'm going to exchange for a large and hopefully it fits because the waistline was fine and the color and print was gorgeous!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Silky Printed Dress
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Fit
Runs a little large
Runs small
True to size
Runs large
nikklaurenn
Location: NC
Body Type: Average

Its alright?

(November 20, 2011)
"I've had my eye on this dress for a really long time then finally I decided to buy it. I'm kind of disapointed the material isn't what i expected. Also it is lined but only below the waist? Over all it made me look bigger then I was, not very flattering. I did like the print though."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Silky Printed Dress
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
texaschickk
Location: Houston, TX

the bad reviews are right...

(November 15, 2011)
"Despite the bad reviews, I took a chance, and bought the dress online. Unfortunately, the reviews are right. The dress isn't very flattering, even with a belt. The sleeves fit weird, and the elastic in the waist is sewn crooked. The dress is beautiful, but it just doesn't flow correctly.
I got an xs and I'm 4'11 and ~100lbs."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Silky Printed Dress
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JoyO
Location: Vancouver, BC
Age: 18-24
Gender: Female
Body Type: Athletic

A beautiful and cute dress!

(November 8, 2011)
"I fell in love with the vibrant color and print of this dress. It fits well and looks great with tights. For reference I am a size small, athletic build and 5'4."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Silky Printed Dress
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
iLuvUrban123
Gender: Female
Body Type: Slim

cute

(October 1, 2011)
"I tried this on in the store the other day in an xs (i am 5'5) and it was so cute! Except it was a little bit small on my arms. But the small looked way to big on me. I do not agree with the other views saying that the product is really cheaply made. But I think it is a little overpriced.You can wear it for a lot of different ways. Fancy if you wear heels, and casual if you wear it with moccasins or flats. I love this dress but it does fit a little funny."
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Silky Printed Dress
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ksr716
Location: Boston, MA
Age: Under 18
Gender: Female
Body Type: Slim

Made Terribly

(September 3, 2011)
"Like the other reviews said, I really like the pattern of the dress, but it just was not made right. The top of the dress falls WAY too over the bottom, and the band is not sewn right. I definitely would NOT reccomend buying this dress."
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Silky Printed Dress
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit
True to size
Runs small
True to size
Runs large
LU88
Age: Under 18
Gender: Female
Body Type: Curvy

so cute

(August 24, 2011)
"i love this dress so much. i love the color and the print and the top is very flattering. the top of the dress is pretty sheer but with a nude colored bra it doesn't look sheer at all. over all i love this dress and im glad to have gotten it"
+1point
4of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Silky Printed Dress
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
SusiePA
Location: Philadelphia, PA

Nearly perfect...

(August 22, 2011)
"This dress is definitely beautiful. The print is attractive, the colors perfect for fall, and the silky material feels expensive and stays relatively wrinkle free. It's also really flattering...I think it probably works best on a curvier body, with the cinched waist accentuating the bust.
I do partially agree with the previous reviewer in that the dress doesn't seem to be that well made. While I disagree on the waist band, as I think the way the dress is pieced together is perfectly fine (and intentional...they all look the same), the stitching on the dress seemed to be coming out before I even got the dress home. But I don't think that will prevent me from wearing/loving it.
Perhaps this might be a more worthwhile purchase when the dress goes on sale. It's definitely gorgeous and worth owning, but I'm not sure that the quality matches the price exactly."
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Silky Printed Dress
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Fit
Runs a little small
Runs small
True to size
Runs large
SammieJo
Location: New York, NY
Age: Under 18
Gender: Female
Body Type: Average

Cute print, not made well

(August 12, 2011)
"I love the print and overall design of this dress! When I saw it online, I looked at the measurements and was concerned it would be a booty-dress on me (I'm 5'7''), but it hit perfectly at a few inches above my knee.
There is no zipper or clasp, so my broad shoulders had some trouble squeezing through the Medium, but with a little bit of wiggling, it fit just like it did on the model! It's definitely worth the extra wiggling. Since the waist is stretchy, it wasn't too hard getting in.
I really like the material of the dress. It's very thin, but the bottom is lined, and you can't really see through the top of the dress unless you really look.
Now for the negatives: It looks like there was a technical issue sewing the dress. In the photo I uploaded, you can see that the white band on the pattern sort of... "goes into" the waist. I don't know how to explain it, but the fabric wasn't lined up correctly while sewing (I know this because I have a family of seamstresses). I thought it was just mine, but you can see on the model that the pattern doesn't line up correctly. It's not a huge deal, and I'm probably the only one who'll notice, so it's not a deal-breaker.
Another issue is that if you slouch even a little bit, the top part of the dress sort of "folds over" and hides the waist band, giving you no shape. So you either have to wear a belt, have amazing posture, or constantly adjust it.
Overall, this dress is definitely a keeper, but if quality is an issue or you have very broad shoulders, you might want to think twice.
For reference: I'm 5'7'', 120-125lbs, and got the Medium."
My Photos
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+54points
54of 54voted this as helpful.