Customer Reviews for Reclaimed Wood Chalkboard

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Urban Outfitters.

Reclaimed Wood Chalkboard

Reclaimed Wood Chalkboard Online Only!
Average Customer Rating:
4.05 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
17 Based onout of 20(85%) reviewswould recommend to a friend.
Sort By: Customer Reviews for Reclaimed Wood Chalkboard
Review 1 for Reclaimed Wood Chalkboard
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Violetsuicide
Location: Orange County, CA
Age: 18-24
Gender: Female

Just how I pictured it

(March 5, 2013)
"I was very satisfied with this item, however it does leave chalk residue on the board. The chalk residue comes off with water so I'm not to bothered by it. The over all quality of the item seems okay. It seems very sturdy but the board it a bit flimsy but I don't really care. I would very much recommend this product to anyone that's not too picky and observant with the quality. Looks so cute on my wall!:3"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Reclaimed Wood Chalkboard
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
Location: odessa, texas
Age: 18-24
Gender: Female

i love it!

(January 23, 2013)
"this is the cutest thing ever. it really makes my room look so nice although the black board is not a black board its like painted wood but other than that its a beautiful piece. c:"
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Reclaimed Wood Chalkboard
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
coffeebean11
Location: newport beach
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female

horrible quality

(November 2, 2012)
"This was on backorder for almost a month. When I finally received it the wood was so rough around some of the glued edges it looked so bad. You wouldnt get any splinters because they were glued seams and it is has some clear coat. I know it is reclaimed wood but for some reason mine, the workmanship is really bad."
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Reclaimed Wood Chalkboard
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ghiapet
Location: Tempe, Arizona
Age: 18-24
Gender: Female

if its functionality is > than the chalkboard.

(October 19, 2012)
"make your own chalkboard paint, or buy some chalkboard spraypaint and go over it again .. it might work out better than the chalkboard coating it has now.."
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Reclaimed Wood Chalkboard
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Cassieeb

Cute but not great

(October 16, 2012)
"I love the look of it, & it's very functional - but the chalk residue absolutely will not come off. So now there's a white fogginess all over the blackboard, no matter how much I try to clean it (hint: don't try too hard or you'll scrub some of the black off!). I would never get rid of it, & I would recommend it - but it should DEFINITELY have come with a warning not to use it as an actual chalkboard."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Reclaimed Wood Chalkboard
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bdkuhn
Age: 18-24
Gender: Female

Love

(September 14, 2012)
"Absolutely love it! Super cute. We put a small green vase with (fake) yellow flowers in it on the shelf, and it looks adorable. Looks absolutely adorable by our front door. Definitely doesn't feel cheap like some other people have said.
Also, the perfect spot for tallies for an ongoing MarioKart war between the husband and I. ;)"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Reclaimed Wood Chalkboard
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
flixfunkfloat
Age: 18-24
Gender: Male

Perfect.

(August 10, 2012)
"Was just the size I expected it to be. I was a little concerned after reading reviews that mentioned it seemed too small. It doesn't feel cheap as some reviewers wrote. The frame seems sturdy enough and the look is gorgeous. Ordered it on Sunday and it was here on Wednesday. Really good shipping and good product."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Reclaimed Wood Chalkboard
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
dsiedsma85
Location: Newington, CT
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female

Excellent!

(July 10, 2012)
"I bought this to go in my kitchen, and it's exactly as described. It looks great, was easy to hang and shipped super quick. I get compliments on it when people see it for the first time, and so far it's been very useful in keeping our keys, my husband's wallet and spare change."
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Reclaimed Wood Chalkboard
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
slb21
Location: Maine
Age: 18-24
Gender: Female

cute

(June 24, 2012)
"i had been looking around for something like this, and of course urban never fails me. i hung this on the wall with frame hooks.. i use it to hang jackets, keep mail, keep keys, dog bags, etc. it's very sturdy even though it's kind of delicate looking. as a couple people have said, no, the chalkboard isn't 'real', so it's kindof hard to write on and remove chalk, but it doesn't bother me too much. my only complaint is that i wish it was a little bigger. also it does not come with chalk-- you have to buy this separately which is a little annoying. overall a good buy and just what i was looking for."
My Photos
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+9points
10of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Reclaimed Wood Chalkboard
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
Location: Maryland

Completed the kitchen.

(June 8, 2012)
"This piece became a wonderful addition to my kitchen. My roommate and I use it to leave each other notes, give each other mail, and hang our keys from the hooks. While cooking I'll place my phone in the cubby so it's out of the way, but still near me :p"
+9points
10of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Reclaimed Wood Chalkboard
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
collegegirl123
Location: dallas, texas
Age: 18-24
Gender: Female

So Cute

(March 15, 2012)
"Although there were some problems, such as some damage from it being delivered to my house and it was smaller then i was expecting, it is SO cute and such a unique peice that will look great in my dorm room and i am absolutely thrilled to have it. My dad says its an easy fix so the damages really arent a big deal!"
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Reclaimed Wood Chalkboard
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
dsun
Age: 18-24
Gender: Female

Simple, yet cute

(February 3, 2012)
"I received this as a birthday present from my sister. It is a lovely addition to my room and gives my wall personality. I like the details, especially the three labels near the bottom. Rather than leaving them blank, I added fortune cookie tellers which gives it a personal touch. This gift is by far one of my favorites.
Oh! It is very lightweight and delicate. Be careful please."
+14points
14of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Reclaimed Wood Chalkboard
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
melaroes
Location: San Diego
Age: 18-24
Gender: Female

Great purchase!

(December 24, 2011)
"This product is really light and is not very sturdy, but it looks great on any wall! The fact that the months are in french makes it even better. Just don't put anything too heavy on it."
My Photos
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+12points
13of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Reclaimed Wood Chalkboard
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
jademariie
Location: california

Super adorable, but

(November 22, 2011)
"I received this broken :(
So the quality isn't good, but it's adorable so I exchanged it and now that it's hung on my wall I shouldn't have to worry about it breaking!
It's a great decoration in my room.
"
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Reclaimed Wood Chalkboard
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
kittyliz
Location: indianapolis
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female

what i expected

(November 14, 2011)
"as usual, UO was very prompt in shipping my order out... love that. i read other reviews that stated that the quality wasn't suberb, so i was not surprised that the package was very lightweight. it may not be the sturdiest, but it is very cute & functional. not sure if other reviewers have mentioned this, but the months are in french, which i think is pretty cool. overall cute, unique item. i am pleased."
+9points
10of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Reclaimed Wood Chalkboard
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sc420

Like this alot

(November 3, 2011)
"Got it today and i love this. The months are in a different language but you can still see what they mean."
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Reclaimed Wood Chalkboard
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
traceypants
Location: Nashville, TN
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female

FYI

(November 2, 2011)
"I am happy with this and very excited to start using it, but I think everyone considering buying this should know that the "chalkboard" is not a real slate chalkboard, it is a thin piece of particle board (or maybe even thick cardboard) painted with blackboard paint. If this doesn't turn you off, then go for it."
+30points
30of 30voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Reclaimed Wood Chalkboard
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
windupbird
Location: new york, ny
Age: 25-34
Gender: Male

well-designed, good price

(May 29, 2011)
"it's a lot lighter than i thought it would be, it looks great and it's very functional. i was afraid that it wouldn't look as good in real life because of the price, but I feel like the pictures on the site are pretty accurate."
+21points
22of 23voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Reclaimed Wood Chalkboard
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ames85
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female

Cheaply made

(May 26, 2011)
"Although the product is quite cute, it is very cheaply made. It was falling apart when I recieved it (maybe from shipping) and was very flimsy/thin. I live in Australia so too hard to return, but don't think it was worth the price."
+24points
26of 28voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Reclaimed Wood Chalkboard
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
kellygirlrn

bad quality/workmanship

(May 17, 2011)
"Bought this but returned quickly because pretty much everything about it felt cheap. The backboard was thin and flimsy and the calendar was stamped unevenly."
+52points
56of 60voted this as helpful.