Customer Reviews for BDG Basic Leather Skimmer

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Urban Outfitters.

BDG Basic Leather Skimmer

BDG Basic Leather Skimmer
Average Customer Rating:
3.454 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(33 Reviews) 33
23 Based onout of 33(70%) reviewswould recommend to a friend.
Sort By: Customer Reviews for BDG Basic Leather Skimmer
Review 1 for BDG Basic Leather Skimmer
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
l3ambi
Location: San Diego,CA
Age: 18-24
Gender: Female

Gray, not black.

(December 13, 2012)
"I was very excited when these went on sale because they seemed perfect-an affordable black leather flat for everyday wear to last me a little while. However, when I opened my package from UO I was surprised. The shoes I received were a dark gray, a charcoal color, and not even close to the black I saw in the photos. I ordered two pairs (since I knew the quality wouldn't be stellar) and they were both the same gray color.
I've kept them since they're an okay pair of gray shoes. However, the leather scuffs easily sometimes, and whenever it does there's a light gray mark where it scuffs. Their comfort is average.
Bottom line: If you find something similar for the same price, go with the other pair.
"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for BDG Basic Leather Skimmer
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
chloeblobj
Location: Melbourne, Australia

run small

(October 23, 2012)
"I just got these shoes in the mail. They're alright quality for the price, however they definitely run small. I am a 8.5/9 and my feet can barely fit into a pair of these in size 9. I'll be returning them."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for BDG Basic Leather Skimmer
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
scribbledstars
Age: 18-24
Gender: Female

Overall - Okay!

(October 18, 2012)
"It took about 1 week of wearing and slight blisters :( to break in/stretch out - they do stretch - and be comfortable. But this is usually the case because my left foot is bigger than my right and I'm a 9, 9.5, or 10 depending on shoe brands... The color, at least the black (which is what I got), is MUCH more faded than pictured. But overall - a good classic black flat!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for BDG Basic Leather Skimmer
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
CarolineM
Location: St. Paul, MN
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female

Stretch a lot, but great basic flat.

(October 2, 2012)
"I bought these in brown in an 8 because I'm a true 8. They stretched A LOT and are really wide now on my feet, but still fit. They have scuffed, too, but they are still standing up. I'd definitely recommend them. Super cute with skirts AND skinny jeans."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for BDG Basic Leather Skimmer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MojoRisin
Location: Santa Cruz, CA
Age: 18-24
Gender: Female

I don't reccomend these for hiking but

(September 29, 2012)
"Okay this might sound strange but I had a unique first experience with these shoes. I just started college and was downtown that day buying stuff for my dorm when I picked these up. I wore them out that night around the campus, expecting some light fun, maybe watching a movie on someones laptop. The perfect shoes for that situation I think! But on our walk over a huge band of 300+ people with painted faces yelling about a bonfire in the middle of the woods.
And thus I was swept in a whirlwind of crazy hippies who lead us into the red woods outside of campus FOR 2 MILES. I was just thinking "I just bought these today, this sucks I'm completely trashing them!!!!" But what could i do!!
The next day I woke up and they were perfect. They had completely survived 4 miles of hiking (there + back)!!!! Astounding
But anyway ya these shoes rock get em. I got them in black"
+10points
12of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for BDG Basic Leather Skimmer
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fit
True to size
Runs small
True to size
Runs large
Julia34
Location: Rochester, NY
Age: Under 18
Gender: Female

Great staple shoe!

(August 29, 2012)
"For the longest time I have been looking for a great pair of black leather flats and when I saw these they were on sale for only 24 dollars so I figured why not if I didn't like them I could always send them back and they were the cheapest ones that I've seen so I don't have to worry about ruining expensive shoes. I'm only in 11th grade in high school so when wearing shoes in school they can get pretty beat up. I would say that they run true to size. Don't listen to the people who say they are way too small. I ordered an 8 and I'm normally an 8 or and 8.5 so I was nervous they would be too small. They are a little tight buti can already tell that the leather will stretch out a little and I'm always one to promote fashion over comfort. They're not a very black black however, they sort of look like there is a little bit of white dust or something on them making them just a little faded. But they are very nicely constructed and a great buy for the price! I would recommend buying them just because every girl should have a pair of plain black leather flats in their closet which sometimes can be hard to find for a reasonable price (especially when you don't have a job or anything...)."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for BDG Basic Leather Skimmer
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Fit
Runs small
Runs small
True to size
Runs large
GraceK
Location: Puerto Rico
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female

Cute shoes but go up a size!

(August 24, 2012)
"I'm very glad I ordered these in a size 10 even though I'm a size 9 because they do run very small! The 10s fit me well. Today was the first day I wore them and I can already feel the blisters forming...I guess I just need to break them in. They aren't horribly uncomfortable though. They look really cute on actually and they go with everything. I got them in the tan color...which I thought would be a tad darker but I don't mind them being lighter. Overall, I think they were a pretty good purchase as I'll probably end up wearing them a lot and they were on sale. Just take my advice and go up a size!"
My Photos
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for BDG Basic Leather Skimmer
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Fit
Runs a little large
Runs small
True to size
Runs large
marenaballerina1
Location: Denver, CO
Age: 18-24
Gender: Female

Beauty is pain.

(August 15, 2012)
"I ordered these in a size 7 because they were out of 6 1/2, they came in the mail and fit fine. EXCEPT, four hours later, I could barely walk. I was in SO much pain that I looked like an 80 year old pregnant woman with Chinese foot binds. The shoes were rubbing against the sides of my feet and I actually lost feeling on the sides of my big toes for a couple of days. I still wear them because they are more comfortable now but, just a warning, they are not comfortable at all the first time!"
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for BDG Basic Leather Skimmer
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Alanax3
Age: 18-24
Gender: Female

Great

(July 25, 2012)
"Exactly what I thought it would be. Wish it was a bit darker but it's still very cute!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for BDG Basic Leather Skimmer
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Fit
Runs a little small
Runs small
True to size
Runs large
sydneygoldenn50
Location: LA
Age: 18-24
Gender: Female

just no

(July 12, 2012)
"horrible quality. too small. uncomfortable. I am returning this item asap."
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for BDG Basic Leather Skimmer
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Fit
True to size
Runs small
True to size
Runs large
makula
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female

not the best quality

(July 12, 2012)
"The minute I got the left shoe out of the box, the inner lining has peeled off, so disappointing. I figured it can be fixed with glue, so it's not a big deal. I got these flats in tan and it is true to colour as pictured. But the leather is not the best quality, where I can see them getting scuff marks easily. They fit true to size."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for BDG Basic Leather Skimmer
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fit
Runs a little large
Runs small
True to size
Runs large
legend

love them!

(July 10, 2012)
"i was a bit nervous after reading reviews. most everyone said they were quite small but i found them to be rather large. i'm 7-7 1/2 and ordered these in 7. should they have made a 6 1/2 i probably would've gotten those. despite what's been said, i would recommend sizing down a half size or perhaps just sticking with your actual size. they're borderline large but not too much i will be keeping them. they are super cute by the way!"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for BDG Basic Leather Skimmer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ninaxx
Location: anaheim hills, ca
Age: 18-24
Gender: Female

new go-to flats!

(June 26, 2012)
"these flats are adorable. whether you wear them with jeans or a dress, they just complete the outfit. i got them in black because i was lacking in a basic but still cute black flat (shame on me, i know) and these have been perfect. they fit very well. i'm typically an 8 and in these a 7.5 is comfy, cozy so you may consider sizing down by half. definitely recommended to anyone on the borderline though!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for BDG Basic Leather Skimmer
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
amber27
Location: Texas
Age: 18-24
Gender: Female

Horrible quality!

(June 25, 2012)
"Theses shoes were true to size for me, fit perfect. They were cute and looked exactly as pictured. (I ordered the brown)
But the quality is HORRIBLE. I wear flats to work everyday so I wore these to work for about a month and this is what they look like. Completely worn and faded...not normal for just one month of wear.
If you plan on wearing them frequently, I would not recommend them at all."
My Photos
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+25points
25of 25voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for BDG Basic Leather Skimmer
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fit
Runs a little small
Runs small
True to size
Runs large
bxxcb
Location: New York
Age: 18-24
Gender: Female

Cute, convenient

(June 20, 2012)
"They're nice shoes, decent quality.. and also comfortable.
I wear a 7.5, but I ordered an 8 and they fit perfectly.
"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for BDG Basic Leather Skimmer
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Fit
Runs a little small
Runs small
True to size
Runs large
Louie399
Gender: Female

Runs small

(June 12, 2012)
"I'm normally a six but had to return these as they were too small."
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for BDG Basic Leather Skimmer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit
Runs a little small
Runs small
True to size
Runs large
ChloeS
Location: Philadelhpia, PA
Age: 18-24
Gender: Female

A perfect "basics"

(May 13, 2012)
"This is my second time ordering these shoes. I'm simply in love with them. The first time I ordered 8.5 and they hurt for a little while before I could really break them in. But since they were a little small they didn't so the cracks in the toes (which I prefer). This time I ordered a size 9 since they were out of 8.5 and I liked them just as much! Since they aren't as tight they do show the cracks (but I can deal with it) and they haven't stretched as much. I would say in general they run a half size small. these are my FAVORITE pair of shoes and I plan to buy a few more in the future to stock up ! they show a bit of wear and tear after a while (scratches show easily on the leather) but they've stayed in tack and I wear them everywhere."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for BDG Basic Leather Skimmer
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
kaylita
Location: philadelphia
Age: 18-24
Gender: Female

Nice looking but a little uncomfortable

(May 5, 2012)
"These shoes are aesthetically pleasing but they do run a bit small. They are an awkward size because even though they are a little tight, even half a size bigger would be too big. Maybe it's because they're new? My feet hurt after wearing them so make sure if you buy these you don't plan on walking too much for the first couple of wears. Anyway, they aren't made that well but if you take care of them they will last a while. Overall I really like the way they look, they just need to be broken in."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for BDG Basic Leather Skimmer
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
caldc
Location: Austin, Texas
Age: 18-24
Gender: Female

Do NOT buy these flats

(April 10, 2012)
"These flats are cheaply made and scuffed to where they cannot be cleaned after wearing them for ten minutes during a casual walk to class. Although they are not expensive, they are simply not worth the money. My first bad purchase from Urban Outfitters :("
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for BDG Basic Leather Skimmer
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Fit
Runs a little small
Runs small
True to size
Runs large
ShadyLady8
Location: San Francisco
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female

Cute shoes, too small

(April 9, 2012)
"I'm a size 8. That's all there is to it. Rarely fluctuates. But the second I tried these shoes on, they squeezed my feet. And since they're not real leather, they will not stretch out very much. I'll take them back to the store to try on 8.5's (if they run in half sizes). Otherwise, I will continue my quest in search of simple, comfortable, tan flats."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12next>>