Customer Reviews for Sparkle & Fade Sheer Maxi Skirt

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Urban Outfitters.

Sparkle & Fade Sheer Maxi Skirt

Sparkle & Fade Sheer Maxi Skirt Online Only!
Average Customer Rating:
4.25 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(28 Reviews) 28
24 Based onout of 28(86%) reviewswould recommend to a friend.
Sort By: Customer Reviews for Sparkle & Fade Sheer Maxi Skirt
Review 1 for Sparkle & Fade Sheer Maxi Skirt
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Lavandula
Location: Ottawa, CANADA
Age: Under 18
Gender: Female
Body Type: Slim

Not so bad, but not exceptional

(April 20, 2011)
"I bought this skirt on sale for $20 and in a medium because my size was not available (XS or S). I simply need modify the elastic band to fit my waist.
When I got the skirt it was what I expected except for the fabric. It looks like the item photo, but doesn't feel like what is looks like. Its not at all a crepe-ish material. It stretches and flows nicely when I walk, though.
Not worth its original price, but worth the sale. I'm still consider exchanging it though, because it looks a bit cheap.
*the fabric is a woven nylon that reminded me of an army fabric because of the little tiny holes between each weave -> that's what makes it see-through
"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Sparkle & Fade Sheer Maxi Skirt
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
venetia
Location: Singapore
Age: 18-24
Gender: Female

great sheer maxi

(April 12, 2011)
"you definitely have to wear something underneath and i hate the elastic band cause it twists every time i try to adjust my skirt. other than that it's good."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Sparkle & Fade Sheer Maxi Skirt
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fit
True to size
Runs small
True to size
Runs large
Eladri
Location: Philadelphia
Age: 18-24
Gender: Female
Body Type: Average

Goth Princess!

(April 7, 2011)
"I really like this skirt. It definitely has some goth, old school stevie nicks vibes going on. For some reason my skirt is not as sheer as the skirt pictured on the model. Which I kinda like. It's sheer but not too sheer. I love that I can wear patterned leggings or tights and you can see it under the skirt. I wear tights that have sparkle spiders on them and it looks awesome. They look great with a pair of boots or any type of flat. The elastic band doesnt annoy me when its on but rather when I take off the skirt. It gets folded up. That does not effect the overall skirt though. I'm happy with this purchase!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Sparkle & Fade Sheer Maxi Skirt
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
MelB
Location: San Diego, CA
Gender: Female

Not so much

(April 1, 2011)
"I was really excited for this skirt but it's a bit on the cheap side. There is no undergarment that comes with it as shown on the model. Bummer deal..."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Sparkle & Fade Sheer Maxi Skirt
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
willowjean
Location: los angeles, ca
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
Body Type: Athletic

not the exact length

(March 30, 2011)
"the description said 37' which would be prefect for someone 5'7, but it was shorter than that- id say 32'. i still like it though, its not chiffon more like mesh. the elastic band does have a tendency to flip over, and has the potential of being uncomfortable."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Sparkle & Fade Sheer Maxi Skirt
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit
True to size
Runs small
True to size
Runs large
kateC
Location: Australia
Age: 18-24
Gender: Female
Body Type: Slim

Best sheer skirt i've ever had

(March 30, 2011)
"many review said that it's not so sheer, but u can see ur legs pretty clearly under normal light, and it's good enough for me. i ordered a size XS black one, I usually wear size S but it fit me well. and the legth make the skirt looks really fashionable. (it's a bit longer on me than on the model. i'm 170cm tall) . and i have no problem with the elastic band... totally a nice skirt, with reasonable price! recommand!!"
My Photos
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Sparkle & Fade Sheer Maxi Skirt
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fit
Runs a little large
Runs small
True to size
Runs large
sandradee
Age: Under 18
Gender: Female
Body Type: Slim

eggplantyumm

(March 29, 2011)
"i got the eggplant color, and it is just so beautiful. perfect for spring or fall. the sheerness is subtle, but i like it like that. you still have to wear shorts or something under because it is definitely seen. i'm 5'5 95 lbs, and i got the xs. for me, i wish there was an xxs, but that's cause im so tiny. it does fit though. and the stretchiness is perfect. i definitley suggest this! it is not shabby quality either. light and perfect"
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Sparkle & Fade Sheer Maxi Skirt
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Bstell
Location: Victoria, Australia
Age: 18-24
Gender: Female
Body Type: Average

Different then expected!

(March 29, 2011)
"Colour is great, however material totally different than to what I expected. It appears to be a sheer material when in fact it's more cotton. It is also a tiny bit see through, but that was expected.
Great purchase for $20 though. Pretty pleased.
I'm 5"5 with curves and purchased the Medium and it fits great.
"
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Sparkle & Fade Sheer Maxi Skirt
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lison
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 18-24
Gender: Female
Body Type: Athletic

GREAT PURCHASE

(March 21, 2011)
"I purchased it in a small and it fits comfortably on my waist. I have a size 4-6 upper body and a size 6-8 lower body. In terms of sheerness, it isn't as sheer as in the photo but still sheer enough to see your legs/what you're wearing underneath. I have the same problem as everyone else with the elastic band (it twists) but to fix it, simple hold the sides of the band and stretch it out a few times. It usually fixes itself out : )"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Sparkle & Fade Sheer Maxi Skirt
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fit
True to size
Runs small
True to size
Runs large
Stalificus808
Location: Honolulu, HI
Body Type: Slim

Cute skirt but not as sheer!

(March 20, 2011)
"I do not have a problem with the elastic waistband having a mind of its own but the only downside to this skirt is that it is no way close to sheer as the picture! Although it is somewhat opaque it doesn't showcase the purpose of this skirt, which is a dramatic see through look! On the bright side, the fit is perfect. I'm 5'4" 100lbs and the XS is perfect. Until I find the right sheer maxi skirt, this purchase is perfect for a more subtle version of what it should really be!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Sparkle & Fade Sheer Maxi Skirt
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Senglay
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Age: Under 18
Gender: Female
Body Type: Slim

Cute

(March 15, 2011)
"This skirt is not toooo sheer, but you'll probably need to wear something under. The material is stretchable and not restrictive at all. The material feels pretty cheap though. At the sale price... it's almost worth it!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Sparkle & Fade Sheer Maxi Skirt
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mytallfriend

Cheap alternative!

(March 4, 2011)
"I'm 5"8 and the length is perfect. The mesh material is comfy, having problems with the elastic band but it's all good. Such a versatile piece, definitely recommend this!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Sparkle & Fade Sheer Maxi Skirt
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Lindeeey
Location: OC,CA
Age: 18-24
Gender: Female
Body Type: Average

Adorable

(March 4, 2011)
"Love this! I bought the eggplant color in a small and the fit is great, I have small hips and this went straight down just as a maxi skirt should. It also allows great leg room and fluidity when you are moving around (: Just ordered the black as well, looks great with a mini skirt underneath and some combat boots!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Sparkle & Fade Sheer Maxi Skirt
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit
Runs a little large
Runs small
True to size
Runs large
gigi28570
Location: Crystal Coast,N.C.
Age: 55-65
Gender: Female
Body Type: Curvy

Favorite Summer piece

(February 28, 2011)
"I got this skirt for my daughter and she loved it! She said it's going to be her "favorite Summer piece"! It runs a bit large so go a size down when ordering."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Sparkle & Fade Sheer Maxi Skirt
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
mddycrrll
Location: sydney, australia

Good, but not great skirt.

(December 19, 2010)
"I was searching for a sheer maxi skirt for a while and this seemed perfect. It wasn't 100% how i expected.. the colour was described as 'purple' but the photo showed it as a burgundy red. When it arrived it was a dark purple and very different from the garment photo so I don't really know what was going on there.
The fabric is really a stretch mesh which is good but I guess I was expecting it to be more like chiffon.
The main issue I continue to have is that the waistband has a strip of elastic through it that is not secured so it ends up twisting around and folding over on itself. It just makes this skirt feel really cheap and poorly made.
Other than the above, it's an okay skirt and I wear both the purple and the black one quite often."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Sparkle & Fade Sheer Maxi Skirt
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit
True to size
Runs small
True to size
Runs large
sjb16
Location: Los Angeles
Age: 18-24
Gender: Female
Body Type: Slim

Love it

(December 18, 2010)
"It is definitely a great piece just to have on hand! It is very versatile. I thought the picture is a very good representation of the item i received. I got both colors and love them both, especially the wine color :) It is as sheer as it looks in the picture. No complaints! Great purchase!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Sparkle & Fade Sheer Maxi Skirt
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Janet
Location: MI
Age: 18-24
Gender: Female
Body Type: Slim

Nice but difficult waistband

(December 1, 2010)
"Love the way it looks, especially the way it's styled on the model. The length and the fabric are fine, but I've been having difficulty with the elastic waistband -- don't know if it's a general problem or just the one I received. The band keeps folding in on itself, so I have to straighten it out each time before I wear the skirt. Minor issue, but still an issue."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Sparkle & Fade Sheer Maxi Skirt
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
nbnb
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Age: 18-24
Gender: Female
Body Type: Slim

great layering piece

(November 30, 2010)
"I love this skirt, length is perfect, and looks amazing over leather shorts. Great piece to have for fall/winter."
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Sparkle & Fade Sheer Maxi Skirt
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
aubreyymichelle
Location: Los Angeles
Age: 18-24
Gender: Female

pretty cute

(November 29, 2010)
"I agree with a few other reviewers that this skirt is not as sheer as I had hoped, though I still love the 90's grudge feel it has to it. I wear mine with a vintage jewled crop tank and booties. the skirt's silhouette is very flattering. the skirt fits true to size and even though it's less sheer than I thought, it doesn't take away from the cuteness of the skirt. it's still to die for.
I haven't tried it yet, but the sparkle & fade mesh mix skirt mirrors what I had in mind. (:"
 
My Product Recommendations
Sparkle & Fade Mesh Mix Skirt
4.4 out of 5(5)
 
 
 
 
 
My Photos
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Sparkle & Fade Sheer Maxi Skirt
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Fit
True to size
Runs small
True to size
Runs large
anaaa
Location: brazil
Age: 18-24
Gender: Female
Body Type: Slim

disappointed

(November 16, 2010)
"Ok, so I guess I'm the only one returning it.
I expected soooo much more of this skirt, based on the reviews.
It is really not THAT see through, as many other said.
So, if you want a real see through piece (like me), look for another one.
"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
12next>>