Customer Reviews for Vasia by Ulla Johnson Silky Lace Inset Dress

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Urban Outfitters.

Vasia by Ulla Johnson Silky Lace Inset Dress

Vasia by Ulla Johnson Silky Lace Inset Dress
Average Customer Rating:
3.56 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(25 Reviews) 25
19 Based onout of 25(76%) reviewswould recommend to a friend.
Sort By: Customer Reviews for Vasia by Ulla Johnson Silky Lace Inset Dress
Review 1 for Vasia by Ulla Johnson Silky Lace Inset Dress
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mbraus
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
Body Type: Curvy

GORGEOUS!

(June 13, 2011)
"The colour is a great bright olive that would be flattering on pretty much everyone! The cut is also incredibly flattering. It is roomy around the top but sits reasonably tight on me below the draw string. I tend to take a size larger in bottoms than tops so this makes sense. I'm 185cm and reasonably busty with a high waist, so the draw string sits neither at my waist or hips but around my tummy. I would have thought this would make me look frumpy but it doesn't at all. The drape is sleek and flattering over my bottom and thighs (which is unusual). The length is spot on and makes my legs look great! Compared to the image of the model I'd say that on a curvier girl who is reasonably proportionate the draw string will sit a little lower (depending on the size purchased) the skirt will be a little tighter and the length a little shorter (depending on your hight). The only things I'd want to alert people too are that lace on the neckline sits reasonably low so it could be difficult to pair a bra with and that the fabric picks up a lot of static. I find that it actually clings in all the right places! But worth keeping in mind. The fabric is also mildly see through. You can see the outline of the thighs through the skirt etc. So I'll probably be pairing it with a slip."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Vasia by Ulla Johnson Silky Lace Inset Dress
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fit
Runs a little large
Runs small
True to size
Runs large
jerica
Location: Canada

Gorgeous

(June 3, 2011)
"I bought this dress despite the not so great reviews because it is perfect for my boyfriend's graduation ceremony. When I got it, I expected it to be massive, but it wasn't! You do have to play around with the drawstring to get the right fit, but once you do, it looks amazing! All I'm going to do is get the sleeves taken in a tad. Also, the colour is beautiful! It's more rich than the picture shown. If you are on the fence, buy it, play around with it, and if it doesn't work, just return it!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Vasia by Ulla Johnson Silky Lace Inset Dress
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit
Runs a little large
Runs small
True to size
Runs large
Lennox
Location: Australia
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
Body Type: Athletic

Gorgeous

(May 25, 2011)
"This is very sweet. Quite a relaxed fit, plenty of room to move, and can be pulled in with the waist tie. Quite short when pulled in, I wore with black tights and flat boots."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Vasia by Ulla Johnson Silky Lace Inset Dress
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fit
Runs a little large
Runs small
True to size
Runs large
belly4
Location: New York, NY
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Body Type: Slim

Love this dress.

(May 23, 2011)
"This runs a little bigger, but it cinches at the waist and so is not overwhelming. Very pretty lace detail and a great color."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Vasia by Ulla Johnson Silky Lace Inset Dress
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Fit
Runs large
Runs small
True to size
Runs large
Shilps
Age: 18-24
Gender: Female
Body Type: Average

not for the short

(May 17, 2011)
"I had to get this altered to look good on me. This would look great on TALL people. If you are below 5'5 just don't bother."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Vasia by Ulla Johnson Silky Lace Inset Dress
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Fit
Runs a little large
Runs small
True to size
Runs large
kimsavestheday
Gender: Female

Careful if you're petite!

(May 16, 2011)
"First, I want to say that the dress is as gorgeous and flattering as everyone says it is. The lace part is a little less cute when you put a black tank top underneath (as I had to do), because that kind of ruins the shape of the design.
HOWEVER, I'm returning this dress. I was hoping it would do double-duty as a mini dress and a tunic - per everyone else's reviews - but it was wayyy too long. I'm 4'11", for reference. So on a taller person, this is a perfect dress, but if you're tiny, it comes down to mid-knee, which is a little conservative-looking for my taste.
Hope this helps!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Vasia by Ulla Johnson Silky Lace Inset Dress
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fit
Runs a little large
Runs small
True to size
Runs large
sarahkmay
Age: 18-24
Gender: Female
Body Type: Slim

Great dress

(May 4, 2011)
"This dress would be much cuter a little smaller but it still looks fabulous. I ordered a small and it's still too big. I'm 5'3 about 100 pounds"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Vasia by Ulla Johnson Silky Lace Inset Dress
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Yoie
Location: Melbourne Australia
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
Body Type: Average

Most comfortable elegant dress

(May 3, 2011)
"Perfect for any occasion
Will get a lot of wear
Already have had so many postive comments when I wore out for the first time the other day
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Vasia by Ulla Johnson Silky Lace Inset Dress
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Fit
Runs large
Runs small
True to size
Runs large
AriDari

Sad...really sad

(April 30, 2011)
"It's such a pity. This dress looks absolutely gorgeous, but it's frumpy and ill fitting in person. It's like a super huge nightgown. I got a small and the dress was very very baggy and unflattering. If you've got a figure, this most definitely won't show it off.
It's probably not in stores anymore, but if you're adamant on getting this dress, try to get your hands on one and trying it on.
The material of the dress seems light and well made, the color is rich and very beautiful, and if only it was fitted better then it is, it would be a gorgeous piece! Alas, this is not meant to be. Not worth the money. I'm returning this with a heavy heart.
"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Vasia by Ulla Johnson Silky Lace Inset Dress
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fit
Runs a little large
Runs small
True to size
Runs large
dwong
Location: san francisco, CA
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
Body Type: Curvy

Great Color!

(April 7, 2011)
"This dress looks exactly like the picture. The size is a little big. I am glad I got the small, even though I am 34D and usually have to get a medium. The color is rich and the fabric is soft. The only potential issue is the lace cuts low and if I want to wear to work I have to wear an under shirt, but not a big enough issue to stop someone from buying this very cute and comfortable dress."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Vasia by Ulla Johnson Silky Lace Inset Dress
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MistyD
Location: Bakersfield, Ca
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
Body Type: Average

Great dress/tunic

(April 6, 2011)
"I love this piece of clothing. I ordered it for a wedding shower and it was a hit. The lace detailing is beautiful and the fabric does not wrinkle up. However, it was a tad short for me. I am 5'10 so I paired it with some sheer black leggings and it worked perfect!!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Vasia by Ulla Johnson Silky Lace Inset Dress
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit
Runs a little large
Runs small
True to size
Runs large
hkb785
Location: Chicago, IL
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
Body Type: Slim

Perfect Tunic or Dress

(March 28, 2011)
"This dress/tunic is great. Can be dressed up or worn with leggings. Very good quality and beautiful detail on the neckline. I bought an XS (5'5 115) and it fits great. The drawstring allows you to move the waist wherever you want to (especially great when you wear it with leggings). Wish I had caught it on sale! But, it was worth the price even when I purchased it for regular price!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Vasia by Ulla Johnson Silky Lace Inset Dress
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Fit
Runs a little small
Runs small
True to size
Runs large
Mirines
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Age: 18-24
Gender: Female
Body Type: Curvy

Disappointed..

(February 26, 2011)
"I was so excited for this dress. I loved the colour, the style, and I'm in love with lace, therefore I was really in love with this dress. However, unfortunately the fit was really strange. The top half fit amazing. It was perfect, and as I was putting the dress on I was getting very excited. But then I pulled it over my hips... and my heart sank. It was tight aroudn the hips. I was so disappointed. I do have a sizable bum, which is unfortunate because I am in love with the top half of the dress. I almost kept it and use it as a shirt, but then I remembered that I bought the dress for a specific reason. I would recommend this dress to someone who is not curvy, because the bottom does not accommodate for curvier bodies. The fabric did look cheap up close, but I would have worn it anyway because it is still a beautiful dress."
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Vasia by Ulla Johnson Silky Lace Inset Dress
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Fit
Runs large
Runs small
True to size
Runs large
fengber
Age: 18-24
Gender: Female
Body Type: Slim

Not what I expected

(February 3, 2011)
"I received it a couple days ago and I must say it wasn't at all what I expected. The fabric looks cheap, the color is not the same it's a bit more dark, and the sleeves are really awful. Not worth the money."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Vasia by Ulla Johnson Silky Lace Inset Dress
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fit
Runs large
Runs small
True to size
Runs large
shaiyogorath
Location: New Brunswick, Canada
Age: Under 18
Gender: Female
Body Type: Average

lovely, but extremely large.

(January 28, 2011)
"I really love this dress. I am 5'7, 138 lbs and ordered a large because that is my usual size, but it was REALLY big. I still love it though, but i suggest it be ordered a size smaller. It is really hard to find a bra that works with it, so I just wear a black bandeau underneath and it isn't really noticeable :)"
My Photos
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+9points
11of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Vasia by Ulla Johnson Silky Lace Inset Dress
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fit
Runs large
Runs small
True to size
Runs large
emmamcl
Location: Dublin
Age: 18-24
Gender: Female
Body Type: Slim

Beautiful but big!

(January 26, 2011)
"This dress came today, I ordered a small but its still quite big,,,however it is so beautiful the colour and easy to wear I'm planning on taking it to be altered! :)"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Vasia by Ulla Johnson Silky Lace Inset Dress
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
chloacorn
Age: 18-24
Body Type: Curvy

Vasia Love.

(January 26, 2011)
"This dress is lovely...most of the reviews said it ran big...however I ordered my normal size and it fits right. Also if you wear a black lace bra you shouldn't have any trouble with the open-ness of the front. it's a really pretty dress and you can dress it up or down. and the draw-string waist allows you to accentuate your waist and curves! it's also a really lovely green!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Vasia by Ulla Johnson Silky Lace Inset Dress
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Fit
Runs a little large
Runs small
True to size
Runs large
gutless
Location: Olympia, WA
Age: 18-24
Gender: Female
Body Type: Curvy

Wanted to love it...

(January 25, 2011)
"This dress is so gorgeous in pictures and the color is amazing- the #1 thing that made me want to purchase it. It's so difficult to find dresses in this (or really any) shade of green. I received it in the mail today along with a few other things and IMMEDIATELY tried it on. As soon as I got it situated, I was disappointed.
-The sleeves are almost too billowy. Not very flattering, IMO.
- I knew the dress was polyester when I ordered it but I had held some hope that it wouldn't be too bad. It is very cheap looking when you get up close and super thin- the safety pin that was holding the tag to the dress left a decent sized hole near the seaming.
- The overall shape of the dress is awkward. I suppose it could work for someone who is stick straight but I'm definitely more hourglass shaped. The top was 2x too big, the waist fell too low, and the bottom half of the dress was too small.
- The waist didn't cinch enough to make it flattering.
I'm really bummed because the dress was fairly expensive but in person it looks cheap. Definitely not worth the price. If the dress were half the price I would consider keeping it and cutting the sides of the skirt or something to make it work."
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Vasia by Ulla Johnson Silky Lace Inset Dress
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
jmpl1974

love this dress

(January 18, 2011)
"i love this dress- i am 5'8" and can wear a size M as a dress or top; however good luck finding a bra that you won't see through the lace part- lots of taping and awkward exposures...."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Vasia by Ulla Johnson Silky Lace Inset Dress
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Fit
Runs large
Runs small
True to size
Runs large
judiiiiii

EEhhh.

(January 16, 2011)
"I tried this dress on at the store, and even when sizing down it was still way too big, and too long for my taste. The sinch at the waist should make it more figure flattering, but it didn't do much for me at all. Plus the lace in the front makes it difficult to wear a bra with. The color was lovely though..."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
12next>>