Customer Reviews for Holga 35mm Camera

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Urban Outfitters.

Holga 35mm Camera

Holga 35mm Camera Urban Exclusive
Average Customer Rating:
3.818 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
9 Based onout of 11(82%) reviewswould recommend to a friend.
Sort By: Customer Reviews for Holga 35mm Camera
Review 1 for Holga 35mm Camera
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous
Location: New Zealand
Age: 18-24
Gender: Female

Cute cheap camera :)

(February 12, 2013)
"I was given the white version of this camera as a gift and it takes the most lovely photos. I used the Lomography 35mm Color Negative Film for my first few attempts and am now ready to start experimenting with other types of film. In full light you get the most lovely saturated photos, and when it's cloudy they turn out nicely too, as long as you remember to change the aperture setting to "cloudy" as opposed to "sunny". However, I have taken a few photos in the evening, when it wasn't even that dark, and they did not turn out. The double exposures this camera takes have the potential to come out really well, but often in bright conditions they just end up being very over-exposed, and often I have taken accidental multiple exposures as a result of forgetting to wind the film on after taking a photo. It has taken me a while to get used to putting the film in and unwinding it and taking it out (I kept having to watch the UO instructional video to work out how to do it) but now that I've got the hang of it it's super easy! Overall, a very good camera for what you pay for, and you get exactly what you would expect. Would definitely recommend.
Note - it is very easy to forget to take the lens cap off before taking a photo."
 
My Product Recommendations
 
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Holga 35mm Camera
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Moonstruck
Age: 18-24
Gender: Female

In love!

(December 5, 2012)
"I love this camera. Of course this type of camera is considered a toy camera and isn't a fancy gadget but it takes beautiful pictures (even better if you actually know how to use it!). It's lightweight so it doesn't feel like you're lugging this huge thing around with you. It's a fun way to play with photography!"
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Holga 35mm Camera
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
UrbanOutGirl
Location: San Diego, CA
Age: 18-24
Gender: Female

Lomography cameras>this holga model

(November 30, 2012)
"I have two of these exact cameras, one in mint (so cute) and one in orange. I am a cheap film camera fanatic, and I can truly say I find lomography cameras much better (I think they even sell them at urban). Though I have taken some great photos with these holgas, the quality of the camera itself is just not good, and these cameras should not cost what they do. The biggest problem I have with these cameras is having the button to open the film door and the winding rod to get jammed. Though there are perks in "cheap film photography," other brands do it better. If this camera was twenty dollars it would be worth it, so when there is one on sale, go ahead and try it."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Holga 35mm Camera
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
gc2012
Location: New York
Age: 18-24
Gender: Female

Breaks, Photos don't come out

(October 29, 2012)
"First off, I was SO excited to own this. I had gotten it as a gift. I tried my first role -- went to get them developed and the lady said that some of the film didn't even show and some are not that well. I took more photos and they told me the same exact thing and only like... 7 photos came of them.
Soon after, the winder would not wind. I exchanged for a new one -- not listening to my mom (who used to own plenty cameras) because she had told me that this was cheap. I took photos on that and THE SAME THING HAPPENED. I gave up a year on this camera. I... literally two seconds ago... saw it sitting there and saw I had a bunch of film packs left over. I thought 'why not?' and reloaded it. I just now tried to change the focus... and the focus part is STUCK and will not move. This camera is ridiculous. Breaks on it's own and barely takes photos. If it does--they all come out insanely blurry and the film's colors are dull and unlike anything advertised. I don't know how this has good reviews. I've had nothing but the worst experience with this camera. I'm glad it was a gift so I didn't have to spend any money on it besides buying some film packs and getting them developed.
"
-2points
5of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Holga 35mm Camera
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
SaraKU14
Location: Lawrence, KS
Age: 18-24
Gender: Female

cute and clear

(September 16, 2012)
"This little camera takes great photos that have an awesome finished. It is easy to learn and great for beginners. I'm just starting to get into film and it has made the transition a breeze. You have to do a test roll to get used to the focus but it works great. Definitely recommended!!"
My Photos
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Holga 35mm Camera
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ryanryan
Location: Chantilly, VA
Age: 18-24
Gender: Male

omg

(June 13, 2012)
"I can't even express my love towards this camera in words... it's just simply amazing. Everything about it is so wonderful. The quality, ease of use, weight, durability, the list could go on forever and ever. This is definitely my favorite film camera and I plan on buying more Holgas soon. <3 <3 <3"
+6points
8of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Holga 35mm Camera
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
katekunst
Location: Seattle, WA
Age: 18-24
Gender: Female

Great Way to Get Back into Film Photography

(May 7, 2012)
"After my nice dslr was stolen, I bought a Holga just so I could have something to shoot with. But it really has become a staple for me when I'm working on a project. The light leaks and the vignetting make it great to work from. I like not having to "make" those details when I'm printing the negatives."
My Photos
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+32points
32of 32voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Holga 35mm Camera
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
JanFair

Mehh

(May 6, 2012)
"I liked this camera because it was really light but I dropped it from no higher than 2 feet up on a plane isle and it broke. The winder stopped working. Nice pictures though."
-13points
3of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Holga 35mm Camera
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
anniepoo282

Great Results

(March 10, 2012)
"I have had a great experience with this camera! I did not know much about film when I first started using it and some film was exposed, but I think it still looks cool exposed!! The Holga is very easy to use and produces great results. So glad I made this purchase."
+8points
9of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Holga 35mm Camera
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
karentg
Location: San Francisco, CA

<3

(December 1, 2011)
"I love this camera. It cost a little more to develop film but it's so worth it if taken correctly. You would need a little more patience with this camera though."
My Photos
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Holga 35mm Camera
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
NaeBabyy
Location: Toronto,Ca
Age: Under 18
Gender: Female

Cool !

(July 24, 2011)
"This Camera Is Really Cool , I Got The Blue,Green,White One Just Because It Was $48.00 ! Lol. . . .It Takes Nice Pictures , But Could Act Crazy At Times !"
-6points
10of 26voted this as helpful.