Customer Reviews for Unbranded Tapered Selvedge Jean

Unbranded Tapered Selvedge Jean

Unbranded Tapered Selvedge Jean
Average Customer Rating:
4.444 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(54 Reviews) 54
51 Based onout of 54(94%) reviewswould recommend to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
13 Questions | 32 Answers
Sort By: Customer Reviews for Unbranded Tapered Selvedge Jean
Review 1 for Unbranded Tapered Selvedge Jean
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hooliette
Location: Saint Louis, MO
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female

Tapered Fit = great for athletic build

(January 22, 2014)
"I agonized over whether or not to buy these for my husband for Christmas. This would be his first pair of raw denim and he is 6'0 with a very athletic build-- not a man who wears skinny jeans. (read: he has man thighs and a butt.) I went with the tapered fit (because I knew they'd be tight to start) in his usual size, 33. They were indeed tight the first few days, but he says they are breaking in very nicely! I'd agree with the reviews that say get your normal size. A few days of slight discomfort will be worth it to not end up with baggy pants. Bottom line-- they look really fantastic on him and he likes them a lot. I'd definitely buy them again."
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Unbranded Tapered Selvedge Jean
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
StingyDeNiro
Location: Silver Spring, MD
Age: 18-24
Gender: Male

Nice for Price

(June 23, 2013)
"Considering these are made by the same dudes as N&F, the Unbranded brand is a pretty nuanced take on selvage. The price point on the jeans is pretty modest considering the quality you're getting. The sizing is what I had a problem with. I'm a true 28, and the conventional wisdom for selvage is size down. The smallest size being 28, I went with that. I wore them for a few months, and they were still super tight to where I couldn't wear them anymore. But the fades were coming in nice, and people can just tell the quality in the denim, which I know from people commenting on them. I would definitely suggest them, just make sure you have a comfortable size to begin with, because in my case, they didn't stretch nearly enough. A definite quality buy for the price."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Unbranded Tapered Selvedge Jean
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Votivelime
Age: 18-24

Best. Jeans. Ever.

(March 31, 2013)
"These jeans are perfect. I would recommend sizing down a size."
-12points
0of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Unbranded Tapered Selvedge Jean
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
alldayallnight
Location: CA
Age: 18-24
Gender: Male

Pretty good for first pair of raws

(March 14, 2013)
"I'm 5'8 160 lbs, measured waist size is 30 and 22-23 inch thighs from lifting. I tried sizes 30, 31, and 32 and the 31 and 32 fit me pretty well. I read online that the thighs wouldn't stretch out much and I didn't want to take the chance with the 31 since they were pretty tight in the thighs so I returned the other 2 and stuck with the 32. 32 was half an inch too loose on the waist, but everything else fit perfect. Unbranded has detailed measurements on their site so I would recommend measuring yourself and see what size is best for you. Inseam was way too long so I had to get that hemmed, but other than that I am pretty satisfied with the purchase. Would buy again."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Unbranded Tapered Selvedge Jean
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fit
Runs a little small
Runs small
True to size
Runs large
Vertisol

Nice denim, but I would NOT recommend sizing down

(March 5, 2013)
"I'm 6'5" 185 lbs and fit, and usually wear a 33. I ordered a 33 and they are pretty darn tight. I expect they will stretch and fit really nice in a few weeks but that whole thing in the sizing section of their website about the 33 actually being 33.75 in in the waist is not true in my experience. That being said, the quality is good... hefty 15 oz denim in a really good fit. They are bleeding like crazy right now so I expect they're going to be a relatively quick fade."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Unbranded Tapered Selvedge Jean
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Joelxxii
Location: Madison, WI
Age: 18-24
Gender: Male

SMALL IN WAIST

(February 26, 2013)
"I am impressed with the jeans overalll for the price however, I wear a 32 waist in Levis 511s as well as Naked and Famous denim. I went true to size like most of the reviews saying they'd be tight at first but mine didn't even come close to buttoning. Im am 5'11" 170lbs, I quality of the denim seems nice all though the buttons seem to be a very flimsy tin. I ordered a 33 hopefully those will work out"
-5points
1of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Unbranded Tapered Selvedge Jean
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit
True to size
Runs small
True to size
Runs large
Benjamin1994
Location: Toronto, Canada
Age: 18-24
Gender: Male

Highly Recommended

(January 25, 2013)
"I have a bigger build, and weigh around 190lbs. I took the advice of some previous reviewers and ordered my true size (34). When the jeans arrived, I was very impressed with the quality, but found that they were extremely tight. After a few days, however, they loosened up and now fit perfectly. These are hands down the BEST jeans I have ever purchased."
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Unbranded Tapered Selvedge Jean
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Chubbz916
Location: Sacramento, CA
Age: Under 18
Gender: Male

Raw denim , at a very reasonable price.

(January 21, 2013)
"My older cousin actually recommended these to me. These jeans are just amazing. DO NOT SIZE DOWN OR UP because they fit true to size. They might fit a little snug at first but, after a few wears they'll break in to your specifications . Once they're broken in the fit is amazing. I also recommend wearing them any chance you get , even while sleeping. Get a pair, put in some work, and produce amazing fades.!"
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Unbranded Tapered Selvedge Jean
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jake1234567890
Location: nj
Age: 18-24
Gender: Male

Unbranded UB-201?

(January 18, 2013)
"It says its 12.5 oz and I ordered the 15oz one. Still happy with the color and fit. Can't wait for the faydz. But I think I got the wrong ones, maybe?"
-4points
1of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Unbranded Tapered Selvedge Jean
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
chrism6
Location: long beach, CA
Age: 18-24
Gender: Male

they're nice...

(January 10, 2013)
"first off, these pants are really tight at first. I actually bought these like a year ago but after seeing how everyone was raving about them, i tried them on. let me tell you, im 6'1 and weigh about 158 lbs and i sized up to a 33 even though my measured waist is a 30, and i couldnt button any of the buttons. But like one of the other reviewers said, i also have big thighs and a large "seat" so that is what made it difficult. however, i noticed that after wearing them a second time, the buttons actually buttoned and then, as i wore them around the house, they started to fit comfortably. Basically, these pants are really nice, nice color, and can go with tons of stuff, just size up if you have a big "seat"."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Unbranded Tapered Selvedge Jean
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
HotSauce158
Location: Jersey
Age: 25-34
Gender: Male

Best Raw Denim At This Price

(December 9, 2012)
"I'm 5'11, 200 pounds and the UB201 fits perfect. I bought these TTS and would recommend sizing down 1 or 2 sizes because they stretch quite a bit. The quality is amazing. The denim 14.5 oz so they are stiff and feel great once broken in. I'm almost at my one year, no wash mark, so ill definitely be taking these for another spin. Buy some!!!!"
My Photos
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Unbranded Tapered Selvedge Jean
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DVNE
Location: San Francisco, CA
Age: 25-34
Gender: Male

sz. 38 are available!

(October 3, 2012)
"I have owned the sz 36 one for a while and thought that they were a tad bit small for me in the calve area. I don't have pencil legs... I always knew that size 38's exist but on the website, they only show size 38 for the gray ones. I phoned in my order and sure enough I was able to order them.
Anyways, I have owned the tapered's and slim straights for a couple of years already. Do not wash or soak them for at least 8 months... They produce the best fades if you do a soak after 8 months."
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Unbranded Tapered Selvedge Jean
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
servo
Gender: Male

TTS, don't size down.

(October 1, 2012)
"I'm 5'11"/150lbs. I have a very thin build, but I'm not rail skinny. My biggest problem is that I have large thighs. I sized down to a 30 like I always do when I buy raw/selvedge. The waist fit perfect, but these things are painted on throughout the waist and thigh. Circulation has been cut off in full. I've been wearing them for 3 days and so far the seams along the thighs are busting. Decent price for 14oz denim, but best not to size down."
+1point
5of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Unbranded Tapered Selvedge Jean
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
yauch

Great value.

(August 15, 2012)
"Great great jeans. I sized down two, wish i had sized down three. I'd buy another pair in a NY minute."
-8points
0of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Unbranded Tapered Selvedge Jean
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ace3K
Location: Largo, MD
Age: 18-24
Gender: Male

Good purchase

(August 13, 2012)
"Very nice quality, GREAT fit. Im tall and slim. About 6'2 175 and the 33 fit me perfect. The one major setback is HEAVY bleeding. Must wash repeatedly before wear with light shoes"
-33points
1of 35voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Unbranded Tapered Selvedge Jean
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Francis
Location: Pensacola Florida
Age: 18-24
Gender: Male

Perfect for a muscular build.

(June 20, 2012)
"I clock in at around 5'10", 185lbs, and very quad heavy. I normally wear Levi's 514 size 32/30, which fit okay, but are a little baggy in the ankle (straight cut). I wanted a pair of raw denim jeans, so I originally purchased some Levi 501 STF, but they turned out to be far too baggy in every way except length, which ended up almost too short.
After reading some of the reviews here, I decided to grab a pair of the tapered cut. My true waist is actually closer to 34, but I got a pair of 33 hoping they'd stretch out. When they arrived, I found the 33s to be a perfect fit in the waist. They're a little skinny in the thigh, but that'll stretch out.
My only real gripe is that they're so long. Being kinda short for my waist size, I have to roll them 3 times, which results in a lot of fabric down by the boot. I'll probably end up getting them hemmed, so this isn't a dealbreaker, but having a length option would be nice.
All in all, the construction of these jeans, and the fit are superior to my 514's and I'd definitely recommend them to someone of a similar build looking for a slimmer jean.
As for sizing, I went an inch smaller than my measurement, but an inch larger than my Levi size. So order how you feel would be best, and just return them if they're the wrong size."
My Photos
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+23points
23of 23voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Unbranded Tapered Selvedge Jean
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Fit
Runs a little small
Runs small
True to size
Runs large
Raymonddddd
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Age: 18-24
Gender: Male

a bit on the skinny side

(May 29, 2012)
"my concern is that these are advertised as wider than skinnys. when i measured the leg opening it was about 7.3inch vs the advertised 7.75. im about 5'11 160lb and these fit pretty much like a skinny. . hopefully it will stretch out though"
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Unbranded Tapered Selvedge Jean
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Geebus
Location: VA
Age: 18-24
Gender: Male

STOP READING ALL THESE REVIEWS AND BUY A PAIR

(May 3, 2012)
"these are my first pair of raw selvedge denim and i love em!
like most of you i did meticulous research into the selvedge denim area and have been lusting after a pair for quite sometime,but i was very hesitant to purchase a pair due to the fact that i am slim & lanky so i am very particular when it comes to the fit of my gear,especially jeans.my biggest dilemma was trying to figure out what sz i should cop, some people said go down, some said go TTS so i was very confused as to which sz to actually go for, since i strongly dislike dealing with returns and all that jive i held off on buying for a little,
eventually i came across a YOUtube video showcasing the jeans and that sealed the deal!!! i had enough of the teasing and just wanted a pair so i went for my usual pants sz which is 32 although my true waist sz is probably a 31 but my personal preference is to have my jeans with some room for my legs to breath and they fit perfect. as for the inseam that was not an issue for me because i am about 6'1 if anything i wouldn't mind them being a lil longer. even though i know the jeans will stretch i didn't want to risk them being all tight and i was spot on with my decision, i've been rocking them for the past 3 weeks ever since i received them and plan to continue for another 6 months before my first wash.......
i hope this lil review has been able to help someone with their decision, feel free to contact me with any questions,peace be with you"
Video Review:
(click on the play button to start movie)
peep this if curious about the UB 201 fit
+8points
9of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Unbranded Tapered Selvedge Jean
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit
Runs a little large
Runs small
True to size
Runs large
RobG
Location: New York, NY
Age: Under 18
Gender: Male

These are god.

(April 12, 2012)
"I've been wearing these jeans for about 2 months now. I love them. They're cheap, good raw denim. I wear a 32 in normal jeans so I size down 2 (I bought a size 30).They're great for a first pair of Raws. I recommend them completely."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Unbranded Tapered Selvedge Jean
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit
True to size
Runs small
True to size
Runs large
Truebajan246
Location: Toronto, Canada
Age: 18-24
Gender: Male

Measure waist first and buy that size!

(April 4, 2012)
"Ok so my pair of jeans arrived today and like many buyers I was nervous about the sizing. I am 5ft 11, 160 lbs slim athletic build. Prior to ordering I measured my waist with measuring tape and got 32 inches.
I normally wear size 33/34 in levi 511 because I want a slim fit but not skin tight. I decided to order size 32 in these jeans because that was my true waist size and voila!! PERFECT FIT. The jeans as everyone said is rigid at first but when I buttoned it the jeans were EXACT.I could still place my thumb through to evaluate room but that was it.
I can not possibly see why people are saying go down 1 or even 2 sizes. This would be madness to me. I would not be able to button the jeans. I recommend measuring your waste and ordering that size.
The quality of the jeans is fantastic and value is there for your money. It looks exactly like it does on the model when I have it on, not too loose not too slim. Eventually the waste will loosen but the fit, color and style are crisp. Front pockets are a bit small so beware. Length is long but I'm not gonna hem them.
Hope this helps cus I read every single review her Before I bought. ORDER YOUR TRUE WAIST MEASUREMENT. Size down 2 at your own risk. DONT SIZE UP."
-2points
4of 10voted this as helpful.
123next>>