Customer Reviews for Urban Renewal Overdyed Cutoff Short - Black

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Urban Outfitters.

Urban Renewal Overdyed Cutoff Short - Black

Urban Renewal Overdyed Cutoff Short - Black
Average Customer Rating:
3.219 out of 5
3.2
 out of 
5
(32 Reviews) 32
20 Based onout of 32(62%) reviewswould recommend to a friend.
Sort By: Customer Reviews for Urban Renewal Overdyed Cutoff Short - Black
Review 1 for Urban Renewal Overdyed Cutoff Short - Black
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fit
Runs small
Runs small
True to size
Runs large
Lizziey
Location: Australia
Age: 18-24
Gender: Female
Body Type: Slim

Bit Small

(September 17, 2013)
"I am usually an extra small but these were quite tight when I put them on. They are button up but the buttons are hidden."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Urban Renewal Overdyed Cutoff Short - Black
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
clwhye
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Age: 18-24
Gender: Female

Cute, but sizing was an issue

(August 27, 2013)
"Love the style of these! I normally wear a 26/27 so I ordered a Small. They were way too big. Tag inside says 31, and I had to give them away."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Urban Renewal Overdyed Cutoff Short - Black
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
kceld88
Location: Atlanta, GA
Age: 18-24
Gender: Female

Great shorts

(August 23, 2013)
"I would recommend trying these on in store since sizing with Urban Renewal is always a gamble, but I got really lucky with these. I normally wear a size 25 in BDG jeans and I ordered these in an XS. They fit perfectly! I also love how they're not too short or too long with the right amount of distressing. My only complaint is that the color does fade a little with every wash."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Urban Renewal Overdyed Cutoff Short - Black
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Lysss01
Age: 18-24
Gender: Female

Average Shorts

(August 1, 2013)
"I've been looking FOREVER for a pair of distressed black shorts and finally found these! I'm 5'4 130 pounds and usually wear a medium but they were HUGE in the crotch and looked really awkward. A small fits pretty well but I tried on 5 pairs to find the right ones! Definitely don't order online."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Urban Renewal Overdyed Cutoff Short - Black
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Anonymous

too big

(July 16, 2013)
"i am normally a size 25, so i ordered a x-small... but the waist was waaay to big and ended up altering them."
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Urban Renewal Overdyed Cutoff Short - Black
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Fit
Runs large
Runs small
True to size
Runs large
Sammantha
Location: Philadelphia, PA

Not as pictured.

(June 17, 2013)
"I was excited to receive these, but was so disappointed when they arrived. They weren't even close to my actual size. They're also not the same color that you see (not as dark) They were a grungy pair of cut up Levi's that looked like my mom's from the 80's, and not in a cute, vintage way. It's like they raided all the old mom jeans from Goodwill, sliced them up a little, and went, "here ya go, hipsters, that'll be 50 bucks!""
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Urban Renewal Overdyed Cutoff Short - Black
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Van319
Location: New Jersey
Age: 18-24
Gender: Female

Not what I was expecting

(May 8, 2013)
"(5'7 142 pounds) I ordered a size medium and it fit around my hip area, but it was way too big everywhere else. Like I thought it would be tight around the thighs but no hugeeee! And way too big around the crotch area, It was a mess. The only good thing I have to say about it is that it felt like it was good quality. I'm returning it and getting a gift card instead."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Urban Renewal Overdyed Cutoff Short - Black
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous
Location: NY/NJ
Age: 18-24
Gender: Female

Great shorts.. tough to size online

(April 29, 2013)
"I love these shorts so much! They are perfectly distressed. However, ordering them online was a bit tricky because of the sizing. I'm usually a 27 or a 28 and I ordered a small."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Urban Renewal Overdyed Cutoff Short - Black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit
Runs a little large
Runs small
True to size
Runs large
nstaten
Age: 18-24
Gender: Female
Body Type: Average

Love Them

(April 16, 2013)
"Like other reviews I was skeptical with ordering mine online but I LOVE them. Maybe I just got lucky with a good pair that fits me perfectly. I'm 5'10 140 pounds and I bought the medium"
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Urban Renewal Overdyed Cutoff Short - Black
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fit
Runs large
Runs small
True to size
Runs large
Bloo
Location: Ontario
Age: 18-24
Gender: Female
Body Type: Slim

Cute pair of shorts!

(April 11, 2013)
"These shorts were adorable and pretty much go with everything. The only thing that I would complain about is the fact that it definitely does tend to run larger than the actual size. So if you're unsure how it'll fit you, I'd recommend that you go one size down."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Urban Renewal Overdyed Cutoff Short - Black
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Chiarastorm
Location: Fremantle, Western Australia
Age: 18-24
Gender: Female

mmm...

(October 16, 2012)
"i was skeptical after reading the previous reviews on size and quality etc.. i think the urban renewal range really is a hit or miss game. these shorts were (by bad luck) a miss. too big and not as described- several buttons instead of the implied zip up front.oh well, bad luck for me. returned and refunded for more urban outfitter spending! if you are willing to play the game, by all means go for it. but this clothing range is what it is- and it IS a hit or miss. you'll either hate or love it."
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Urban Renewal Overdyed Cutoff Short - Black
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Misha93
Location: San Diego
Age: 18-24
Gender: Female

Risky

(October 4, 2012)
"The sizes are very difficult to determine, they run very big!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Urban Renewal Overdyed Cutoff Short - Black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AmyM906
Location: Atlanta, GA
Age: 18-24
Gender: Female

great purchase

(September 9, 2012)
"i bought these a week ago or so and i have already worn them a few times. i am 5'4, 122 pounds and i got the small. they're a bit snug around the waste but they fit great over all. i am obsessed with them for sure. so cute."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Urban Renewal Overdyed Cutoff Short - Black
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
xjellox
Location: Austin, TX
Age: Under 18
Gender: Female

Worth It!

(September 8, 2012)
"So I ordered the black pair and white pair in extra smalls and I also ordered two on the normal denim ones in smalls since extra smalls have been out of stock. Overall I got four pairs and only one was a success haha.
I am 5'2" and 115 lbs and the black pair fit perfectly. The white pair was way too small and the denim ones were way to big. If you plan on buying this type of shorts I recommend ordering several pairs since they all come out differently, or trying them on in the store (but i could never find ones that fit right in the store and i've been to about 4).
If you find the right pair you will love them! I promise!"
My Photos
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Urban Renewal Overdyed Cutoff Short - Black
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Fit
Runs large
Runs small
True to size
Runs large
elisedivin
Location: New Orleans, Louisiana
Age: Under 18
Gender: Female
Body Type: Slim

Eh :/

(September 1, 2012)
"I am normally a small, so I ordered a small...These were HUGE! Obviously they aren't going to look exactly like what the model is wearing, but they didn't even look close. I could easily make shorts that look better than these. I am so disappointed and I am returning my purchase immediately. I am considering trying again to get a smaller size and to see if I receive a more decent pair.. Good luck with your purchase xx"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Urban Renewal Overdyed Cutoff Short - Black
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fit
Runs a little large
Runs small
True to size
Runs large
SlimmDanii
Location: New Jersey
Age: Under 18
Gender: Female
Body Type: Athletic

Love these shorts but they run big!

(September 1, 2012)
"I had bought these shorts in a medium and they were super cute when they arrived, but way to big! I shipped them back and ordered a small and they fit perfectly! I love the roughed up ripped look and it looks super stylish! I really recommend them!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Urban Renewal Overdyed Cutoff Short - Black
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Fit
Runs small
Runs small
True to size
Runs large
CindyLou88
Location: Halifax, Ns
Age: 18-24
Gender: Female
Body Type: Slim

cute but small.

(August 30, 2012)
"In all my jeans and shorts I wear size 25, so I ordered the xsmall because most reviews said they ran big. They are super small!! I measured them against my other shorts and they were not a true 25.
I think its hard to get an accurate size, considering they are (urban) renewal. I think its a 50/50 shot to get a great fit.
But I must say, they are extremely cute."
My Photos
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Urban Renewal Overdyed Cutoff Short - Black
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Fit
Runs large
Runs small
True to size
Runs large
Deanbean
Location: New York
Age: Under 18
Gender: Female
Body Type: Slim

Pretty cute, not what expected

(August 26, 2012)
"There were a lot of pieces just randomly hanging off the shorts so I cut those off and they wound up looking 10 x cuter. I also ordered a small, because I'm typically a size 2, 4 fits too. But they were kinda big on me, not flattering in the back area. If you pair it with a more flowy shirt it doesn't look bad at all. I just wish they accurately sized these shorts, they're worth the money."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Urban Renewal Overdyed Cutoff Short - Black
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Fit
Runs large
Runs small
True to size
Runs large
KimberlyMargaret

Oversized

(August 26, 2012)
"The shorts themselves were very cute and a very saturated black which was great. The only problem is the small is huge! It seems like getting a pair that fits properly online is impossible. I am returning these and am very disappointed."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Urban Renewal Overdyed Cutoff Short - Black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

BUY IN STORE

(August 22, 2012)
"i love these im 5'7 andtypically a 6 or an 8 but i fit a smallperfectly but theyre pretty bigon the waist mine are destroyed perfectly and my favorite lovee them soooo much :D"
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
12next>>