Customer Reviews for 50's Birdcage Duvet Cover

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Urban Outfitters.

50's Birdcage Duvet Cover

50's Birdcage Duvet Cover Online Only! Available in Twin Size!
Average Customer Rating:
3.686 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(35 Reviews) 35
26 Based onout of 35(74%) reviewswould recommend to a friend.
Sort By: Customer Reviews for 50's Birdcage Duvet Cover
Review 1 for 50's Birdcage Duvet Cover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
vadalabener
Location: Detroit, MI
Age: 18-24
Gender: Female

Perfect for a 'Tweet' Sleep!

(March 2, 2011)
"I personally love this so much. I have gotten so many compliments on it. I had a duvet insert I had gotten from my step mom and it made it super fluffy. The nice thing is you can pretty much put a regular comforter in it as well which is exactly what I did. I had a Nightmare Before Christmas bed set before I had gotten this one and I literally just stuffed that comforter inside this duvet. It looks and works great!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for 50's Birdcage Duvet Cover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
k4242

Perfect!

(January 17, 2011)
"I wanted to get a duvet cover the boyfriend and I could both agree on - this one was perfect. I haven't washed it yet (but will do so on cold, inside out, as that seems to be the trick to making the colors stay), and though it IS a thin fabric and may create some problems with colored comforters, my white comforter fits/looks just fine. Smells/feels comfy. Very pleased with our purchase!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for 50's Birdcage Duvet Cover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bradles
Location: Bar Harbor, Maine

Great Duvet!

(December 16, 2010)
"I was nervous to buy this because it has a lot of bad reviews, but I love it! Many people say that it's too thin and that you can see the blanket through the duvet, but that's not true. My blanket is green plaid and you can't even tell with this duvet!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for 50's Birdcage Duvet Cover
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
principace
Location: Seattle, WA
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female

Poor Quality - But Super Cute

(December 14, 2010)
"Very cute design, I've gotten a lot of complements on it, but material is thin and pretty poor quality. Luckily my duvet does not have a lot of contrasting color, or else you would see through the cover to the design. The buttons for closure are also on the wrong end in respect to the pattern: They're on the top (aren't they supposed to bottom?). Bottom line: The bird cage pattern is awesome. Don't buy it unless it is on sale (like I did) and don't have high hopes for quality."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for 50's Birdcage Duvet Cover
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
dace
Location: california
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female

poor quality

(December 10, 2010)
"This duvee cover is not worth the money. The material is not soft and its very sheer, so you'd need a white comforter to make it look decent. I also had read a review before I bought it that the buttons are at the top of the pattern & I hoped that the company had corrected their mistake. They didn't so I will have to do a little sewing so the buttons aren't in my face. It's a shame that its poorly made because the pattern is so cute."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for 50's Birdcage Duvet Cover
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
croz
Location: Indiana
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female

Not quite as I expected

(November 24, 2010)
"I purchased this online for my daughters dorm. We loved the print. The duvet cover fabric is not very soft- kind of rough. I am washing it to see how it feels after that. The background color is beige, not white like it looks in the photo. That is not an issue for us-but if you want a white background don't get it. I am really glad I got it on a sale and would have been very disappointed if I had paid full price."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for 50's Birdcage Duvet Cover
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
msgrace

cute print/ poor quality

(November 11, 2010)
"I love this print but the material is not good quality at all - still glad I purchased but the fabric is almost transparent - not normal sheet material - I put a white duvet cover underneath it because it was pretty flimsy on its own. Looks cute though : )"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for 50's Birdcage Duvet Cover
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
CharlieS
Location: Boston, MA
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female

Disappointing

(November 4, 2010)
"I really love the pattern on this duvet cover, but I was disappointed when it arrived. It had a pull, and was upside down - to have the birds facing the right way, the buttons are at the pillow end of the bed. Unfortunately, my sister-in-law was landing two hours after I received it, and I didn't have time to go out and buy a new set, or I would have returned it. Clearly a quality checking problem."
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for 50's Birdcage Duvet Cover
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Jayebird
Location: Manasquan, NJ

It works kind of...

(October 19, 2010)
Pros: kitchy, like having a new blanket, bright colors
Cons: thin, cheap button closure, less bang for more buck
"I gave this duvet cover 2 stars because the material IS thin, and if you put it over a comforter with a pattern on it (like I did), you CAN notice the comforter showing through the duvet, but only if you're looking for it. The buttons to close the blanket ARE cheap-looking. I had to use small safety pins to secure it closed (my cat was trying to hide IN THE DUVET!). I bought this on sale, and I'm not super-excited for it, but I'm content with my purchase. I only recommend it if you're too poor to buy a new comforter (like me)."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for 50's Birdcage Duvet Cover
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Burrito

Cool, but not cool

(August 25, 2010)
Pros: 
Cons: 
"It's a really cute duvet cover, but I guess I didn't exactly know what a duvet cover was and I was expecting something different."
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for 50's Birdcage Duvet Cover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
UMDiva

So far, SOO good

(August 19, 2010)
Pros: 
Cons: 
"A lot of people here have been complaining about it's texture, it's smell, it's color, and it's transparency, but I guess they may have gotten bad versions because mine is perfect, at least so far. The colors on mine are true to the picture. There's no chemical smell on mine. Mine is also not see-through. I put a plaid blue comforter inside and I cant even see it a little. The texture is to be expected for something that is 200 thread count. I find it comfy.
I plan to use this in my dorm room and i couldn't be happier. I will wait to see how it holds up when I wash it though.
GOOD THING I didn't read the reviews when I bought this or I would have lost out on a good thing.
"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for 50's Birdcage Duvet Cover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jjjjimmy

Adorable

(August 16, 2010)
"Wasn't expecting the texture of the material, but it looks great with the white comforter I have, and I love the bright colors!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for 50's Birdcage Duvet Cover
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
hughes164

50's Birdcage Duvet Cover

(August 12, 2010)
"Overall it is super cute in person and I am not going to be returning it because I really do like it but before buying there are a few things you should be aware of.
The material is very thin, you must have a white comforter.
The buttons to close the duvet cover are at the bottom of the design so can be visible.
The twin is an awkward size that made buying a comforter impossible, I had to get a slightly smaller one.
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for 50's Birdcage Duvet Cover
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Cheeseanyone

The Dog Gone Most Decent Purchase Ever

(August 6, 2010)
Pros: super cute, super soft, super awesome
"This duvet cover is soft and keeps me warm at night. The birdcage design is adorable and really brightens up my drab dorm room. I get compliments on my new duvet ALL THE TIME! Overall, I am rather pleased with this purchase and recommend it to any other person who loves birds, duvets, and compliments!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for 50's Birdcage Duvet Cover
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
fruity
Location: CA

Extremely Cute!

(August 4, 2010)
"I just got this duvet (+ shams) in the mail today! Unlike most, mine didn't smell funny at all. The colors looks quite like they do online, though the turquoise is much darker. Even so, it hardly seems to make a difference and is still a really great buy. The duvet is VERY thin though. If you had a person stand behind it while you held it up, you could probably easily see the outline of their body, and probably the colors in their outfit too. The shams are VERY large. My normal pillow I use for sleeping didn't quite fill them up. The colors in the bedspread are very versatile, and even look amazing against my purple walls."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for 50's Birdcage Duvet Cover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
vivo

Fantastic Cover

(July 30, 2010)
Pros: 
"I just received this duvet and placed it on my bed. It's adorable. The cover isn't starch white like the picture displays, but in bright light, you can't tell the difference. The colors are richer and more vibrant than displayed. I've purchased a duvet from UO before and they get much softer as you wash them.
I love the pattern!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for 50's Birdcage Duvet Cover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
beemrotic

Great Duvet

(July 22, 2010)
"I do not know what everyone else is referring to, as my duvet did not come with a smell at all. The fabric is a little thin as a duvet, but the material is not itchy whatsoever. I slept under it and it seems very comfortable. Also, as I had a white blanket to put in the duvet, it came out as a bright white. Don't worry about the size, as it was almost large when I ordered queen and my thick comforter is very, very large. (A 'takes 16 hours in the dryer, large.) I chose to go with a light brown comforter sheet (to accent the dark brown of the bird cages) and it looks great."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for 50's Birdcage Duvet Cover
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
TaraFox

adorable, but fabric/colors differ from picture

(July 15, 2010)
Pros: so cute!
Cons: very thin fabric, has more brown to it than expected
"I loved this duvet cover when I saw it online, so I bought it, thinking it would go with my black and white theme for my dorm. I ordered it, and when it arrived, I found that the fabric was VERY thin and that i could see the color of my comforter underneath it (since my comforter is not white, it made the whole thing appear sort of an off-white/gray/beige-y color that I don't like. Also, there is much more brown on it than I thought from the picture. I may still keep it, as it is SO cute."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for 50's Birdcage Duvet Cover
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
katielu

Ehhhhh.......

(June 18, 2010)
"I really like the design of this product. That being said, the fabric used for the duvet cover is a little flimsy and I expect it to fray with little usage. I really don't think its worth the price."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for 50's Birdcage Duvet Cover
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Functionality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
JumpinJules
Location: La Crosse, WI

super cute but much thinner fabric than expected

(May 27, 2010)
Pros: awesome retro/1950's throw back design
Cons: fabric is very thin
"as soon as I saw this on the website I had to get it! I love the design, but the fabric is much thinner than I had expected. Also, the duvet's background color is more of an off-white than a crisp bright white. I got the matching shams and the fabric is so thin that you can see the light blue stripes of my pillow through the sham. I still am happy with my purchase, but I wish the fabric were heavier and the background color was crisp white like in the photo. I got a peel and stick black silhouette headboard to match the retro design, and it looks great! I pared the duvet/shams with bright yellow sheets."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12next>>