Customer Reviews for Crosley AV Room Portable USB Turntable

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Urban Outfitters.

Crosley AV Room Portable USB Turntable

Crosley AV Room Portable USB Turntable Urban Exclusive Back in Stock!
Average Customer Rating:
3.913 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(23 Reviews) 23
18 Based onout of 23(78%) reviewswould recommend to a friend.
Sort By: Customer Reviews for Crosley AV Room Portable USB Turntable
Review 1 for Crosley AV Room Portable USB Turntable
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Elis2309

Impressed

(June 24, 2010)
"The sound on this turntable is impressive-- all my muscian friends agree. The simple, clean styling is also excellent and it looks, in person, more expensive than it really is. A great purchase, arrived quickly in perfect condition. I would recommend this to anyone wanting to start a vinyl collection or to anyone who is looking for a turntable without a lot of fussy electronic equipment to mess with."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Crosley AV Room Portable USB Turntable
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Gfashion
Location: Korea...

Father's Day

(June 23, 2010)
Pros: loooks great sounds wonderful
Cons: fabric very soft and could scuff easy
"Great buy for the price. Only one issue is that the fabric used is really soft so easily scuffed so keep in a stationary place if you want it to look amazing. So you must buy the stand. LOL"
My Photos
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Crosley AV Room Portable USB Turntable
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Functionality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
lilmissalyssa

LOVE LOVE IT!

(May 22, 2010)
"this is one of the best purchases i've ever made. First off it's really not to expensive. i got it a week or so ago and it works great, i've had no sound problems and everyone that comes in my room says they love it."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Crosley AV Room Portable USB Turntable
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Functionality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
instereo
Location: Nashville, TN

Honest Review

(February 14, 2010)
"The sound is the first noticeably great thing about this player. It's got a great look, and if you want to take the cover off, it comes right off, otherwise just prop it up against a wall or something to keep it up while playing. If you've had a USB turntable before this one, you don't have to do anything but plug in the USB and open your preexisting Audacity and works great and sounds better than the ION record player that I had previously (Nothing against ION). I would recommend this over an ION based on looks and sound alone.
The only issues I have with this player (and knew about them before I bought it by reading other reviews), is that there is no headphone jack, and there is a weight issue with the tone arm.
You are going to have to tape a penny or a nickel over the head shell. Since there is no counter weight adjustment on this player, you have no control over how much pressure you would need to play a record properly. So with no penny or nickel taped to the head shell, you're going to experience your 45's skipping, you will also experience a skip from the beginning of your 33's where the record begins.
However, if you're at all interested in character, you won't mind jimmy rigging it a bit to get it to work. And it's a minor adjustment. If you can't afford a penny or a nickel, then you shouldn't be purchasing this record player. Again, the sound is really good, and the look is timeless, so for that alone, you should buy this player before they have no more.
Hopefully the company will perfect the problem with the tone arm in the future, but until then, this is as good as it gets, unless you know how to build your own, in which case, you are cooler than me."
My Photos
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Crosley AV Room Portable USB Turntable
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Functionality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Revolver

Not Bad

(February 13, 2010)
"I have been really happy with my record player. I'm listening to some Hendrix now and it sounds so good. Like some other reviewers, when I first listened to some records I noticed that they skipped a lot. But I did take the advice of putting the penny on the arm. It does help. But overall its pretty badass. Very retro/vintage look which is my style. So can't complain."
My Photos
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Crosley AV Room Portable USB Turntable
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Functionality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
boom
Location: Michigan

Love this player

(February 9, 2010)
"My friend had this record player, so I had been admiring it long before I purchased my own. The sound quality is great for a portable player, and unless you're looking for stereo system sound (and doesn't that defeat the purpose of a record player anyway?) you should be extremely happy with this Crosley. It's really cute, sounds good, and portable. So far it's been working like a charm, I love it!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Crosley AV Room Portable USB Turntable
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Functionality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
hdgray
Location: TN

hdgray

(January 28, 2010)
"I did a great deal of research on turntables before making my final decision. None appealed to me more than this Crosley Turntable. I absolutely could not be happier with the turntable. It plays so much better than I expected. I haven't tried to record any vinyl via the USB but I didn't exactly buy the turntable for that reason, and don't care much for doing it - mainly because most LP albums come with digital downloads. I loove this product so much. I would do it again in a heart beat."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Crosley AV Room Portable USB Turntable
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Functionality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
supposedly

Amazing, with a small adjustment

(January 14, 2010)
"I had been looking at this for a long time before I finally decided to buy it. It was more expensive than similar turntables in stores, but only UO had this color, which is a very nice retro-looking teal. The order shipped within three days.
I was excited that I was able to play records upon opening it, after screwing in the screw on the top a bit more to balance the table. This can get surprisingly loud for such a compact little thing. Some of my 78 records skipped, so I followed the advice of other reviewers and put a penny on top of the arm, about an inch from the end of it. This worked perfectly and I have not had any problems since. It works nicely with 45's as well, and I am very pleased with my purchase."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Crosley AV Room Portable USB Turntable
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Functionality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Rachelplh
Location: Cleveland, TN

Like it.

(January 10, 2010)
"I got it as a Christmas gift, and so far I haven't had any problems with it causing my records to skip. My biggest problem with it is that the top of it must be propped up or completely taken off when played. No doubt that would be a big inconvenience to some, especially when entertaining."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Crosley AV Room Portable USB Turntable
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Functionality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ZeldaZonk
Location: San Fransissy, CA

Looks great, needs adjustment

(January 4, 2010)
"I have an Ion USB turntable and used to have the crosley portable stack-o-matic turntable w/o USB. When my old crosley stopped working, I thought this one would be the perfect replacement since it's available in my favorite color and much more portable than the stack-o-matic was.
Well, I'm happy I didn't get rid of the Ion because this thing really isn't that great for recording vinyl. Had planned on doing a lot of recording this past weekend while drawing and lazing, but I noticed right away the whole skipping issue. There is an easy solution for that: tape a penny (or a nickel, depending on the condition of your records) to the arm close to the needle cartridge (but NOT ON THE CARTRIDGE because that will ruin it). Skipping no longer. However, when I listened to the recordings they sounded REALLY scratchy and the audacity "noise removal" function makes it sound even worse-like a robot stuck in a tin box.
I'm going to look into a compatible higher-quality needle, but I don't know if I'll actually be able to find that.
Honestly, the turntable is pricey to begin with, and had I known that I'd be sinking more money into it I would've just gotten a better USB turntable that isn't portable. Live and learn I suppose.
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Crosley AV Room Portable USB Turntable
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Functionality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
MusicBuff

Crosley Turntable

(January 4, 2010)
"Arm and turntable broken upon delivery. Unfortunate for a late Christmas gift when promised delivery onsite by Urban Outfitters. Unusable for playing any albums."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Crosley AV Room Portable USB Turntable
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Functionality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
blah1223

Disappointed

(December 30, 2009)
"Great looking record player but not very functional. When we got the player we hooked it up right away and began to play all of our new records. Every record we played skipped... initally we thought it was some of the records but after all our brand new records were skipping we became skeptical. After returning this player and purchasing a new one we now know it was the player that wasn't working, all of our records work just fine on our new player. As I said it is a great looking turntable but functions poorly."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Crosley AV Room Portable USB Turntable
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Functionality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recordloover

Works amazing, Looks Fabulous!

(December 7, 2009)
"I bought this a few months ago and it works great. I don't know what anyone is talking about it not working and being in bad condition. The sound is surprisingly great, and can get very loud. Great buy!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Crosley AV Room Portable USB Turntable
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Functionality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Tomsde

Spin Them Again

(December 3, 2009)
"I have a good turntable for archieving vinyl, but I wanted a self contained unit that I could just play records ons without having to have a whole wrack system. I'd had a Crosley Entertainment Center before, but it was large and really didn't fit in with my furniture. I was never satisfied with it's sound quality as it just had some EQ presents and always sounded tinny.
What I love:
1) Light weight and portable, you can bring this unit anywhere with you.
2) Sound quality is good; as good as portable units from the 60's and 70s. I like the tone control knob as opposed to unalterable EQ settings.
3) Semi-automatic turntable with cueing lever--Excellent. My previous Crosley had neither of these features and they are great to have.
4) Will play 33, 45, and 78 records--I reccomend buying an optional 78 needle if you are going to play 78s though--there are several 3rd party vendors that offer these.
5) Love the teal color, I was willing to pay more for the unit to get this special color.
What I Think Could Be Better
1) AC power adapter should be built into the unit with a comparment to store the power chord.
2) Lacks output jack for headphones.
3) No way to adjust tone arm weight--if you have a bad warp in your record you probably won't be able to play it on the record player.
"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Crosley AV Room Portable USB Turntable
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Functionality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
lovesmesumcake
Location: New York, NY

Doesn't work, don't buy

(October 18, 2009)
Pros: looks great
Cons: terrible sound quality, doesn't work, overpriced for what you get, heavy
"You can read the review I have of the brown model Crosley for more information about why I hate this brand.
I originally had the brown one, but Urban Outfitters replaced it with this model when I returned it (the brown one did not work). This one was even worse—not only did the sound quality still suck, but the tone arm was broken so whenever I released it from the catch it would spring out and scrape against the record, damaging both the needle and the record.
Throw in the fact that the unit is very bare-bones (you only get a volume and a tone knob, while the Ion model that Urban Outfitters also sells comes with these plus gain and pitch controls). The package doesn't come with a lot either—you get Audacity packaged with the turntable (which you can download online for free) and a USB cable.
Don't buy this unless you're in the market for an expensive, sexy doorstop. I promptly returned this in exchange for the Ion model which I've owned happily for a very long time now. It's cheaper and works SO MUCH better. Save yourself the hassle!"
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Crosley AV Room Portable USB Turntable
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Functionality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LeanneMichelle

sweet!

(October 15, 2009)
"I just got this for my birthday and I luurve it. My Beatles records sound amazing and the speakers are great! Don't hesitate to snach up this awsome player. The only thing is the top doesn't stay up like in the pictures. It just kind of fell off. No big deal though- it's still the best present ever!!"
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Crosley AV Room Portable USB Turntable
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Functionality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
67Rae
Location: Detroit, MI

Best & Hottest Turntable EVER!

(September 24, 2009)
"This is a great buy for music lovers. The functionality of it is wonderful. Even though it dos'nt have outlets for speakers it kick out great raw sound! And it also is retro hottness style! I Love it and would recommend it for anyone. Buy it NOW people!"
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Crosley AV Room Portable USB Turntable
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Functionality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
hugasponge
Location: Provo, UT

Great buy!

(September 22, 2009)
"So far I am very impressed with this product. The sound is great. The volume goes up pretty loud and everything works great. I think it's a great buy for the price! I have no complaints with it and I'm very pleased!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Crosley AV Room Portable USB Turntable
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Functionality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
kmill

cute..

(September 10, 2009)
"bought this as a present for someone.
worked well with 10" playing 33.5/ 45 rpm
but 12" playing 45 rpm was too slow, distorting the sound.
with vinyl, the heaver the album, the higher the sound quality.
we tried exchanging it for a new one, which was about the same.
it's really a cute idea, considering it's portability/ retro design.
however, if you're an audiophile, then it's under par.
"
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Crosley AV Room Portable USB Turntable
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Functionality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
ellenmarie

love it except

(August 2, 2009)
"I really like this turntable, and it played my lps very well, but then i tried some 45s. For some reason it plays them a touch too slow, so that the sound wavers and is slightly deeper. I'm not sure why it is just when i switch the speed to 45 rpm. Besides this problem, it is very good. If anyone has any idea how to fix this please let me know."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12next>>